We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great little hotel”
Review of Hotel Gerber

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Gerber
Ranked #394 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2012

A lovely little hotel. Staff were very helpful and courteous, the breakfast was good and the rooms were very nice, clean and very adequate. The hotel is situated within easy walking distance of main attractions.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boogle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 103 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

I was surprised to see any negative reviews. The Hotel Gerber is a top notch hotel with a great staff and location. We stayed there 8 nights from Dec. 26 to Jan. 2rd.

Check in was smooth and painless, and they had our room ready for us. We were on the top floor, with a balcony and access to a terrace with a table and 4 chairs.

To begin your day, a breakfast consisting of a couple different kinds of bread, croissants, fresh fruit, three different types of juice, ham, sausage, cheese, cereal, and other assorted items on the breakfast table. The person running the breakfast, seeing to our every need, was Romeo. He is a friendly, well spoken person who loves to serve. We looked forward to seeing him every morning.

Our room was cleaned daily and never felt dirty. There was ample space for the 4 of us, and beds were very comfortable. We were so busy, though, we never did check out the TV to any extent. It was turned on for 5 minutes one day. The staff always greeted us and acknowledged us, we felt like valued customers to them.

Location is great - a short 1.5 block walk to the metro got us to whereever we wanted to go. We would typically walk to where we were going, then take the metro back. Exploring Rome on foot is something I would recommend to anyone able to do this. It as a short 15-20 miute walk to St. Peter's, the Vatican, and other places of interested. Our longest walk consisted of an hour walk to the Colosseum, with detours to the Spanish steps and Trevi Fountain.

New Years eve we were suprised to see two small bottls of champagne in our room, with 4 wine glasses. It was very nice to be treated like this.

Our checkout, even though it was 3:00 AM, was smooth and effecient. They called a taxi to take us to the airport, and it picked us up in less than 5 minutes.

Peter runs a great, friendly hotel that has a wonderful staff, outstanding location, and everything you could ask for in a hotel. They will treat you right!

Room Tip: Make sure you have access to a terrace or balcony - it add space to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Diane582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Hotel Gerber is small and family owned/run. All the staff were very helpful and welcoming - even the window cleaner greeted us in perfect English. They don't, however, help with cases up the 5 or 6 steps from the lobby to the stairs and lift. Also, the lift is tiny so a couple with large cases must take the lift one at a time. The stairs are narrow and uneven, so not suitable for everyone. Rooms and bathrooms are clean and modern and the buffet breakfast was substantial. We stayed here twice and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietro00, Direttore at Hotel Gerber, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

Dear Sir,
we thank you for the review and to know that you have appreciated our hospitality and we hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

It is a very good Hotel, the Manager Mr. Peter really taking care of the customers. He also very good, humble and polite. I always choose this hotel because they are very good and help full and the price also very reasonable.
It is good place and located in the heart of City nearest to all Historical place Rome, Italy.
BEST TO LIVE.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnsonArokiasamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I've stayed for 1 night in late October. The subway is around the corner (please note that due to construction of a new subway line, the line that serves the hotel will close at 9pm till April 2012, except on Saturdays). Quiet neighborhood. The Vatican is within a walking distance. Tons of tv channels. Clean. Many ammenities (mini-bar, wake-up call, etc). My room was a single without bathroom. The photos I had seen had nothing to do with reality. The room was tiny (bed in a corner), dark, sort of depressing and there was an unpleasant smell of air freshener. Bathroom outside the room could be a bit cleaner. The shower was very small. I could hear people talking on the next room. This hotel can be a good deal by Rome standards but for 60€ per night I've had better deals in most parts of Europe.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hugo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
The B Place
The B Place
#569 of 1,271 in Rome
101 reviews
Prati
Hotel Farnese
Hotel Farnese
#156 of 1,271 in Rome
908 reviews
Prati
Hotel Relais dei Papi
Hotel Relais dei Papi
#209 of 1,271 in Rome
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Nautilus Hotel
Nautilus Hotel
#522 of 1,271 in Rome
112 reviews
Prati
Hotel Prati
Hotel Prati
#519 of 1,271 in Rome
237 reviews
Prati
Hotel Diplomatic
Hotel Diplomatic
#212 of 1,271 in Rome
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gerber? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gerber

Address: Via Degli Scipioni 241, 00192 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#231 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: ₹ 5,770 - ₹ 12,223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gerber 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gerber is located in the heart of the Eternal City. This three star Hotel is the perfect reference for unforgettable holidays. Hotel Gerber offers first quality service with all comforts. The elegant lobby, the spacious breakfast room, the silent courtyard and the panoramic terrace grant a pleasant and relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Gerber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gerber Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing