We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Dreadful rooms, dreadful service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergo Santa Chiara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albergo Santa Chiara
Ranked #126 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dreadful rooms, dreadful service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

This is the first review I have ever written and I have stayed in over 250 hotels. This is the worst. As you can often expect in Italy, customer service is not high on the list of priorities, but this hotel takes it to a new low. The room is drab and was in need of modernisation in the 1970's. The hotel overall has poor facilities and is quite simply depressing. Avoid this hotel and if its the best value you can find in Rome, pick another city

Room Tip: Rooms in other hotels would be the best choice you can make
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MRPMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    307
    71
    23
    6
See reviews for
170
242
60
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights two weeks ago. I was very pleased with this hotel. The location behind the Pantheon was ideal for walking to any of the popular sites. We walked to the Vatican, Coliseum, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps etc. The room and bathroom were very clean and the staff was very helpful with any questions we had about directions, transfers to the airport and restaurants. The hotel is 5 minutes away from the Piazza Navonna and has a lot of good restaurants in the neighborhood. Breakfast in the hotel had eggs,juices, cereals, croissants, fruit, cheese, cookies and meats. The chocolate croissants and cappuccino were great. We had a second floor room with a view of the church and we didn't have any problem with the noise from the street. I looked at many hotels before selecting this one and I am so happy with our decision. We will definitely stay at the Albergo Santa Chiara when we return to Rome.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

This was our second week-long stay at Albergo Santa Chiara. Its location right behind the Pantheon could not be better for us as so many key sites are within walking distance; so much of the "soaking in the ambience" activity (Novana, Via Del Corso, Campo dei Fiori, the Ghetto, Trastavere, Spanish Steps, et al) are accessible; and the hotel itself is a good business class tourist friendly place. Yes, pricey but given its location, understandably so. We will stay again on our next visit. Note that some rooms facing the street can get a lot of street noise (the view may make it worth tolerating some noise) so you may want to have a courtyard room (we've had each).

Room Tip: If you seek quiet, choose an interior courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSIsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
141 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

My family of six (aged 75, 46, 45 x 2, 16 and 14) stayed here as part of an Andante tour. As we were in Rome for the archaeology the location was very good as we were in walking distance of most of the important monuments. On occasions we did use the buses which are numerous a few minutes walk away and cheap at 1 Euro for 75 minutes. (buy your ticket in advance) Taxis are not cheap nor easy to come by in the area of the hotel so be prepared to walk.

We were accomodated in 3 adjacent rooms, two were good sized, the third adequate. All were spotlessly clean, with very comfortable beds and sparkling white bed linen. There was a lack of drawers and hanging space was limited in the smaller room. Our rooms faced an inner court and were very quiet, except for the local seagulls who seem to be active 24/7!

I find the criticism of breakfast strange: there was, indeed, tinned fruit, but also a variety of fresh
fruit as well as cereals, yoghurt and fruit juices. Scrambled and boiled eggs were hot and there was a variety of cold meats and cheese, rolls, bread and croisants. Coffee came from a machine but there was a good selection of decent tea bags. The breakfast room was always busy and a bit claustrophobic but the staff were attentive and kept everything replenished.

There is a small bar and sitting area downstairs.

The staff were pleasant and plentiful. Because we were on a tour we did not need their services to any great extent but other reviewers obviously found them helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Archaeologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern viginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

You can sleep in until 0830 and still arrive at the Pantheon when it opens at 0900
and have this wonderful, unique site totally to your self, A few hours later, and for the rest
of the day, it will be totally packed and lose much of its charm.

The Santa Chiara also is so central that you can walk to almost everything of interest.
( Save taxi fare = smart)

We had a great corner room on the 3rd floor with windows on both sides and
another big one in the large, nice bathroom. Street noise was not a problem and
service was very good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yuriNorthernViginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#57 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Mimosa
Hotel Mimosa
#292 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#27 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Grand Hotel de la Minerve
Colonna
Albergo Cesari
Albergo Cesari
#86 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#37 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Santa Chiara? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Santa Chiara

Property: Albergo Santa Chiara
Address: Via di Santa Chiara 21, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#111 Business Hotel in Rome
#138 Family Hotel in Rome
#185 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,470 - ₹ 20,576
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Santa Chiara 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Who we are The history of the Albergo Santa Chiara begins in 1939. At the first it was a "wine-shop" then changed into a small inn, enlarged in the following years, the 10 rooms of the first days have become now 96, distributed in 3 adjoining buildings. In one of them is located the Saint Catherine from Siena's Chapel. The old lobby, on the contrary, has become a theatre. You can't miss a short chat at one of the table of our open-air bar, quiet and private, that overlooks the Minerva Square. The most affectionate guests love the wide and classic styled rooms, younger prefers the modern and high-tech ones. The hotel service is impeccable, the rooms are very clean and the beds are extremely comfortable. You will find this is a friendly, relaxed hotel that will make you feel right at home. The hotel has been in the same family ownership for nearly a century. The ground floor hall has seen the proclamation of the Popular Party by Don Sturzo, the rooms have counted the steps of Noble prizes such as Amartya Sen, Franco Modigliani and clergy men later be became Popes, politicians then elected Republican President, philosophers, artists, writers from Fogazzaro to Sartre to Banana Yoshimoto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Albergo Santa Chiara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Santa Chiara Rome
Albergo Santa Chiara Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing