We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Silvestro
Ranked #519 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not stay here”
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We found this hotel on the lastminute .com website. The list of room facilities included tea and coffe making facilitieswhich was something we wanted, however this turned out not to be true and we were told if we came down to reception they would get us a tea or coffe. not quite the same thing. When we complained to the manager he said if we were not happy we could leave! the room was small but adequate but the room for the breakfast buffet was tiny and had room for onle 12 people at a time. Yes there was a lift but it only went to the 2nd floor and we were on the 3rd floor, the lounge consisted of a room between each floor with a few chairs and all the rooms leading off it.Yes it was handy for the Trevi fountain but if you were going to use the hop on off bus the nearest stops were quite a walk away.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moorsiders21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    89
    41
    13
    11
See reviews for
59
55
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2010

The hotel is in a great location. But found the staff tied and unfriendly. I am sure they get sick of a stream of tourists but no excuse. The rooms are small, the bathroom adequate, but beds not comfortable and insufficient blankets for time of year. The hotel is so so noisy, my room was over looking a side street, and I found it noisy - Rome never sleeps. My friends room was on a light well, and was all so noisy from the stair well, and the laundry deliveries at 4am and cleaners starting shortly after.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FarmerM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

I had to move to this hotel for 2 nights, as I had extended my trip and my previous hotel was fully booked. I would highly recommend, lovely clean place, good breakfast and excellent location just off Via del Corso, 10 minute walk to Pantheon, Trevi and Spanish Steps. I also liked that as I checked in early, my room was not ready, so I went out, when I returned they had taken my luggage up to my room, a very nice gesture.

My single room was small, but no problem, near the back so very quiet. The bathroom had all modern amenities, breakfast was great with lovely pastries and good capucinno,

Staff were also very kind, the morning i left the guy on reception waited with me for the taxi, to make sure the right taxi picked me up, so that I would not be "intercepted" by a different firm, which I thought was very kind.

Would definitely stay here again on my many visits to Rome, perfect

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Small room - yes... But staff was friendly and helpfull, clean and nice room, good location and good breakfast. Take the cheap 5.50 Euro train from the airport and get off at Tuscolana. Continue with bus 85 to San Silvestro or Metro to Spanish steps.
Another idea. The lines to get in to the famous places, can look very long, dont believe the people selling guided tours about hours of waiting, it only took 15 minutes... save your money for the fantastic food.
Last great idea. Eat at "Life", a winebar/restaurant 2 blocks from the hotel at Via della Vite 28. Very good food and perfect service.

Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank danskpige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Residenza Montecitorio
Residenza Montecitorio
#613 of 1,256 in Rome
287 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#110 of 1,256 in Rome
827 reviews
Hotel Concordia
#708 of 1,256 in Rome
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Parlamento
Hotel Parlamento
#202 of 1,256 in Rome
751 reviews
Trevi
Tritone Hotel
Tritone Hotel
#332 of 1,256 in Rome
600 reviews
Campo Marzio
Suite Condotti 29 A.C. Hotels S.r.l.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Silvestro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Silvestro

Property: Hotel San Silvestro
Address: Via del Gambero 3, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#209 Family Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,805 - ₹ 11,610
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Silvestro 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hotel San Silvestro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Silvestro Hotel
San Silvestro Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing