We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, noisy, unfriendly hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Silvestro
Ranked #599 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2010

The hotel is in a great location. But found the staff tied and unfriendly. I am sure they get sick of a stream of tourists but no excuse. The rooms are small, the bathroom adequate, but beds not comfortable and insufficient blankets for time of year. The hotel is so so noisy, my room was over looking a side street, and I found it noisy - Rome never sleeps. My friends room was on a light well, and was all so noisy from the stair well, and the laundry deliveries at 4am and cleaners starting shortly after.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FarmerM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2010

I had to move to this hotel for 2 nights, as I had extended my trip and my previous hotel was fully booked. I would highly recommend, lovely clean place, good breakfast and excellent location just off Via del Corso, 10 minute walk to Pantheon, Trevi and Spanish Steps. I also liked that as I checked in early, my room was not ready, so I went out, when I returned they had taken my luggage up to my room, a very nice gesture.

My single room was small, but no problem, near the back so very quiet. The bathroom had all modern amenities, breakfast was great with lovely pastries and good capucinno,

Staff were also very kind, the morning i left the guy on reception waited with me for the taxi, to make sure the right taxi picked me up, so that I would not be "intercepted" by a different firm, which I thought was very kind.

Would definitely stay here again on my many visits to Rome, perfect

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 4 November 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Small room - yes... But staff was friendly and helpfull, clean and nice room, good location and good breakfast. Take the cheap 5.50 Euro train from the airport and get off at Tuscolana. Continue with bus 85 to San Silvestro or Metro to Spanish steps.
Another idea. The lines to get in to the famous places, can look very long, dont believe the people selling guided tours about hours of waiting, it only took 15 minutes... save your money for the fantastic food.
Last great idea. Eat at "Life", a winebar/restaurant 2 blocks from the hotel at Via della Vite 28. Very good food and perfect service.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
Thank danskpige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2008

I LOVED this hotel! Yes, the rooms are small, but who goes to Rome to spend lots of time in their hotel rooms?!?!

There was a man at the front desk, Marko, who was, by far, the nicest person at a hotel I've ever met. I had to leave early to catch a bus to Sorrento, and he offered to help me gather food for breakfast, even though the cafe wasn't open yet. He also helped me immensely trying to figure out the confusing bus schedule. I have never encountered someone as friendly as he was.

The hotel is so central that you absolutely must stay here when you visit Rome. It's just off San Silvestro square. From here, you can easily get a bus to Termini or Tiburtina stations, and from there, your options are countless. You're just minutes, by foot, from the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain. If you don't have much luggage, you can easily catch a bus to San Silvestro square from Termini or Tiburtina (it's the last stop on the 71 bus). You'll save yourself lots of money vs. taking a taxi! The hotel is literally steps from the bus stop. I'd recommend arriving during the day so you can get your bearings straight.

I would absolutely stay here again thanks to Marko's service!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderluster24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Residenza Montecitorio
Residenza Montecitorio
#577 of 1,269 in Rome
300 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#281 of 1,269 in Rome
281 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Forte
Hotel Forte
#307 of 1,269 in Rome
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#113 of 1,269 in Rome
863 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#653 of 1,269 in Rome
581 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Parlamento
Hotel Parlamento
#227 of 1,269 in Rome
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Silvestro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Silvestro

Address: Via del Gambero 3, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#209 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: ₹ 6,903 - ₹ 12,830 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Silvestro 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Hotel San Silvestro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Silvestro Hotel
San Silvestro Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing