We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel San Silvestro
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$ 348
US$ 289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Barocco Hotel(Rome)
US$ 343
US$ 317
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 238
US$ 221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
US$ 382
US$ 306
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 193
US$ 182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$ 195
US$ 175
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Giolli Nazionale(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$ 190
US$ 129
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 216
US$ 189
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$ 384
US$ 272
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
60
99
45
14
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
99
45
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrevi fountaingreat locationpiazza di spagnaby american standardssingle roomloved this hotelother guestssmall roomstreet noisestayed for nightscroissantsrobertomarcocolosseum
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2011

After an awful experience at another hotel we relocated during our trip. We walked in and they got us right into a room and were VERY friendly. There English is actually very good and they were so nice about everything, they even made reservations for us at popular restaurants and made sure we had english speaking waiters.

The rooms are small, but its a killer location and kind of what you would expect for the price. But I highly recommend this to anyone. It is not a 4 or 5 star hotel by american standards, but it was comfortable and we were very happy there for 3 days.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cjfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

This hotel is basic,as the other reviews say, the rooms are small but are perfectly adequate for a weekend away. I went with a friend and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is very clean and the breakfast is as one would expect for a tourist hotel. They do make an excellent cappucino - and offer room service if required. The location is perfect, so close to everything.,

It isn't a hotel, necessarily that you would go to for a romantic weekend away, but, we had a great time and would definitely recommend to others and stay there again.

The only thing that I would think could add to the hotel would be some sort of bar area - and free wifi! (it;s available for a charge)

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carondarwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We were so excited to go to Rome in my beloved Italy. When we arrived at Rome Airport we managed to get a cab to the city center where we booked our hotel. It indeed it situated in the heart of Rome so I was quite happy about the location.
When we entered the room we were surprised; it was incredibly small.
If you want to stay in the very center of Rome, go to this hotel, but if you want to stay in the very center of Rome and in a good hotel, don't go there...

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
3  Thank RoyalTAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

The best thing about this hotel is it's location. You are exactly in the middle and walking distance of all the attractions in Rome. There is a large bus depot right outside the hotel for easy commuting...but, the hotel itself is ugly. It's dated and old. Perhaps it seemed this terrible to us because we had just come off of staying in the most wonderful hotels in Tuscany and Sorrento for the same about of money or less. After the shock of this hotel wore off, we realized that we should make the best of it and we weren't gonna be in the room that much anyway. The ease of walking to the Trevi fountain and the Spanish steps made up for the other short comings of this hotel. The breakfast was also disappointing (mainly because of our experiences with the other hotels). The breakfast consists of coffee, tea, bread, triangle cheese spreads, butter and jam. Nothing fresh or exciting. We searched the neighborhood for a better hotel for the same money but didn't find anything or we would have moved very quickly! Also, be prepared that in Rome, there is no such thing as free internet. To sum this up, don't expect much and you won't be disappointed. I would recommend this hotel only because of it's location.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ceendy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We found this hotel on the lastminute .com website. The list of room facilities included tea and coffe making facilitieswhich was something we wanted, however this turned out not to be true and we were told if we came down to reception they would get us a tea or coffe. not quite the same thing. When we complained to the manager he said if we were not happy we could leave! the room was small but adequate but the room for the breakfast buffet was tiny and had room for onle 12 people at a time. Yes there was a lift but it only went to the 2nd floor and we were on the 3rd floor, the lounge consisted of a room between each floor with a few chairs and all the rooms leading off it.Yes it was handy for the Trevi fountain but if you were going to use the hop on off bus the nearest stops were quite a walk away.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moorsiders21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews