We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great little city hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Silvestro
Ranked #512 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great little city hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

The San Silvestro was perfect for my 5 day solo adventure in Roma. The location is also perfect - right in the heart of historical Rome, shops, cafes and restaurants close by. My room was small but lovely and clean and breakfast was available in my room if I wished. The staff were kind and helpful. I could not have wished for a better place - it was a safe haven each night after exploring the delights of this fab city. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivien c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    87
    40
    12
    11
See reviews for
58
55
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

After an awful experience at another hotel we relocated during our trip. We walked in and they got us right into a room and were VERY friendly. There English is actually very good and they were so nice about everything, they even made reservations for us at popular restaurants and made sure we had english speaking waiters.

The rooms are small, but its a killer location and kind of what you would expect for the price. But I highly recommend this to anyone. It is not a 4 or 5 star hotel by american standards, but it was comfortable and we were very happy there for 3 days.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

This hotel is basic,as the other reviews say, the rooms are small but are perfectly adequate for a weekend away. I went with a friend and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is very clean and the breakfast is as one would expect for a tourist hotel. They do make an excellent cappucino - and offer room service if required. The location is perfect, so close to everything.,

It isn't a hotel, necessarily that you would go to for a romantic weekend away, but, we had a great time and would definitely recommend to others and stay there again.

The only thing that I would think could add to the hotel would be some sort of bar area - and free wifi! (it;s available for a charge)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carondarwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

We were so excited to go to Rome in my beloved Italy. When we arrived at Rome Airport we managed to get a cab to the city center where we booked our hotel. It indeed it situated in the heart of Rome so I was quite happy about the location.
When we entered the room we were surprised; it was incredibly small.
If you want to stay in the very center of Rome, go to this hotel, but if you want to stay in the very center of Rome and in a good hotel, don't go there...

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank RoyalTAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

The best thing about this hotel is it's location. You are exactly in the middle and walking distance of all the attractions in Rome. There is a large bus depot right outside the hotel for easy commuting...but, the hotel itself is ugly. It's dated and old. Perhaps it seemed this terrible to us because we had just come off of staying in the most wonderful hotels in Tuscany and Sorrento for the same about of money or less. After the shock of this hotel wore off, we realized that we should make the best of it and we weren't gonna be in the room that much anyway. The ease of walking to the Trevi fountain and the Spanish steps made up for the other short comings of this hotel. The breakfast was also disappointing (mainly because of our experiences with the other hotels). The breakfast consists of coffee, tea, bread, triangle cheese spreads, butter and jam. Nothing fresh or exciting. We searched the neighborhood for a better hotel for the same money but didn't find anything or we would have moved very quickly! Also, be prepared that in Rome, there is no such thing as free internet. To sum this up, don't expect much and you won't be disappointed. I would recommend this hotel only because of it's location.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ceendy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Residenza Montecitorio
Residenza Montecitorio
#631 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#117 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Parlamento
Hotel Parlamento
#180 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Suite Condotti 29 A.C. Hotels S.r.l.
Campo Marzio
Hotel Fontanella Borghese
Hotel Fontanella Borghese
#384 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Elite Hotel
#404 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Silvestro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Silvestro

Property: Hotel San Silvestro
Address: Via del Gambero 3, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#209 Family Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,735 - ₹ 12,630
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Silvestro 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel San Silvestro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Silvestro Hotel
San Silvestro Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing