We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms need renovating....desperately! Location....good!”
Review of Grand Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Plaza
Ranked #712 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 27 May 2012

To be fair I have to start by saying that this hotel in it's day was, I'm sure, thee place to stay. The decor in the downstairs dining and bar areas are magnificent with the grandeur of days long ago. The reception are is lacking, however, and I found it to be dull, dark, dreary and unpleasant. The staff there was efficient but not pleasant in any sense of the word. We booked a triple superior for my husband, daughter (9), and myself which consisted of a king size size bed and a pull out couch which was fine. The room was large with two full length windows that had no view what so ever but we didn't care, we were busy site seeing anyways! The beds were horrific...as hard as nails and the pillows were similaryly uncomfortable being I think, stuffed with geese rather than their feathers! The bathroom consisted of a bath tub with a shower hose, toilet, bidet, and his and her sinks. There was a large mirror on the wall above the bath tub and below that a small shelf area that was mildewy and chipping paint. The foyer area was small but consisted of two large closets with a safe and and extremely expensive mini bar. Internet was iffy, sometimes working, sometimes not! The breakfast buffet was nice but nothing to write home about....European style with lots of breads and cheese, scrabbles eggs, cereal, juice and coffee.

Now that I have critiqued that hotel itself let me say that the location of this hotel is good. There are several wonderful restaurants located in the area and the Spanish Steps and metro are just 5-6 blocks away. Public transportation in Rome is so readily available, however, that we found that location didn't really matter. After exploring the city, seeing all of the different areas and hotels that are available, we feel that this tired grand hotel needs to retire completely or invest in a major upgrade.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melzyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 566 of 1,448 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2012

Although the location is perfect ( opposing to an old church, in between top brands including hello kitty shop which saved my day by occupying the girlfirend for a whole day) not many restaurants around, you have to look around a bit. The bugs in my bed and all around the room were a bad surprise, house keeping service was not very efficient about it. Average staff(the guys at the lobby bar was ok ). The breakfast was a disaster according to the european standards,not many options; few croissants,ham and yoghurt were the only things at the buffet, didnt taste good at all and better buy a cake outside. Really historical rooms and architecture is medieval,the room i stayed in had a nice terrace but the seats and sofas stank and they were really dirty!!! The spainish stairways are visible from the terrace..wouldnt stay here again, sorry.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDomeHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We spent three nights here and had no complaints. The room was very comfortable and charming. We found it clean, quiet and well-maintained. We especially enjoyed the outside patio. We found the staff to be cold and not very welcoming but, overall, we enjoyed our time there and wouldn't hesitate staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gcpettipas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

The positives: The cleaning staff were very efficient and the room was nice and clean. The location is superb, as it is close to the Spanish Steps and several other attractions were within walking distance and there is a nice grouping of cafes etc and great shopping around the hotel. The grand foyer is truly a work of art as is the staircase, both of which are often used for movies.

When my husband asked to be upgraded as it was our 20th anniversary, the lady at the front desk went to the effort of showing him several different choices. Although the first room was tiny, the room we finally chose was enormous, with a very large bathroom.

Although others have criticized the breakfast, I actually thought it was OK, when compared to other locations. Although they did have pump urns, if you asked for a latte or cappucino, they would bring you one.

The negatives: The hotel is clearly suffering financial distress. There were nails sticking up out of the floor where maintenance had tried to repair the parquet that was lifting throughout the room. Peeling paint etc. They blamed "austerity measures" for the lack of wireless throughout the hotel (could only connect in the lobby), there was NO airconditioning and it was over 30 degrees on 3 of the days were stayed. The lemon terrace was closed, waiting for "good weather", not sure what blue skies and 30 degrees is, but it classifies as good weather in my book. The shower would be hilarious except for the fact that it was so frustrating. An enormous bathroom, with these TINY shower cabins, that a woman cannot wash her hair in and my husband just plain could not fit into (and he is not that big).

Worst: The service. Apart from one helpful person, the rest of our stay we learned just not to bother to ask for anything. There is only one porter and he is just overwhelmed. The front desk staff, clearly haven't had much, if any, training. Just to check in took ages because it was a new system, and it kept crashing. Given that the only way to print anything is to have your own USB drive and hand it to the front desk and they plug it straight into their CPU, don't virus scan or anything, I am not surprised they have virus trouble. Trying to find a waiter at breakfast was very difficult. They were in the room but seemed to be always busy setting tables, never took our room number and to get a cappucino I had to walk right up to the waiter to get his attention and ask for one.

This hotel could be great, if the time and money were spent on repairs, maintenance and staff training.

Room Tip: Try to choose rooms not facing Via Del Corso as they are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saigonbaglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

This hotel has so much potential but needs some work to get it there. Also, it appears to be understaffed as calls for services and assistance take a long time to be answered and promised services are not provided (e.g. tissues in the room, need to fix back upped bathroom sink, etc.). It is in a good location and hopefully it will be brought to a higher level to command the high nightly fee charged.

Room Tip: I heard our room was good because it had a shower and shower curtain but other rooms only had a hand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
Hotel d'Inghilterra - Starhotels Collezione
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
#289 of 1,272 in Rome
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Palace
Grand Hotel Palace
#198 of 1,272 in Rome
487 reviews
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Trevi
Sina Bernini Bristol
Sina Bernini Bristol
#316 of 1,272 in Rome
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Plaza

Address: Via del Corso 126, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#317 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: ₹ 12,338 - ₹ 23,978 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Luxury Grand Hotel Plaza Rome. The Grand Hotel Plaza was well renovated and restyled without altering its features and maintaining the fascination of its past history. With more than 150 large rooms with high ceilings, all rooms are elegantly decorated in each detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome
Grand Hotel Plaza Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing