We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,415)
Filter reviews
1,415 results
Traveller rating
434
636
218
73
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
434
636
218
73
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews termini station roof terrace around the corner annex building budget hotel ham clean towels yogurt five minute walk reception desk hotel is situated breakfast room quiet street public transport trip to rome spanish steps trevi fountain
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 1,415 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2017

We stayed here in mid September our room was a good size and en-suite on the first floor no 107 small balcony but not a good view as it was at the back of the hotel. However being at the back it was quiet, my sister in law and her husband were in a room at the front of the hotel over looking the street with a bar across the street so had some noise until about midnight. On the roof of the hotel is a sun terrace where you can take up a bottle of wine or beers from the local mini market and chill out after a day of site seeing decent red for £3.60 large beers £1.70.
The Coloseum, Trevino fountain and Spanish Steps are all about 45minutes walk from the hotel.
The location of the hotel is great close to some restaurants,bars and the train terminal which is also next to the bus station. One of the best restaurants which is only 3 minute walk from the hotel is Trattoria I Leoni d ' Abruzzo. The four of us ate twice here our hosts Tomassino &a Carlo were great making us welcome and the food was excellent and mid price range about £85 - £100 for 4 starters and main courses with a litre of house red.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank holidaymadBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DES ARTISTES R, Olivia, reservation Office at Hotel des Artistes, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Guest,
We are pleased, you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We always try hard to give the best service to each guest. We are happy to know when this succeeded. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to write a review. We look forward to meeting you again in the future. Kind regards,
Olivia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

Very basic, however very artistic inside. Clean and tidy. Reception fine. You can only enter by ringing the bell. The twin room is clean. Good bathroom. Clean towels. If you enjoy art then you will love this which I did. Breakfast room lovely. It has a typical breakfast breads, cakes, bread, meats, fruit. Basic english. But who visits Rome forcan English breakfast?. Lovely staff.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank CAROL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DES ARTISTES R, Olivia, Reservation Office at Hotel des Artistes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Carol
Thank you for having chosen our hotel for your trip in Rome and for sharing with us your impressions about
We are very happy to know that we were able to contribute to your pleasant memories.
Thank you for your special appreciation to our staff.
It makes us very proud
Olivia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend checked in to Hotel Des Artistes on the 26/09/2017 for 4 nights, we emailed the hotel prior to our arrival to make sure we were staying in the hotel and not in the hostel part near by which I would recommend doing, hotel was quick to respond. The hotel is situated in quite a rough neighbourhood, I didn't feel very safe at night. Upon arrival we had to pay city tax which we knew before hand, reception staff quite cold with us, no conversation, we asked if there was anywhere close by to eat and they recommended the restaurant 'Brambles' which you should definitely stay away from, worse service I have ever received in my entire life, but a separate review will be completed.

We carried our luggage up to room 110 which is on the first floor right next door to the breakfast room. The room itself was lovely and clean. Air con did not seem to work, bathroom a little outdated but it was clean, some furnishings could have been replaced. Hotel itself is a very very LOUD hotel, I wear ear plugs at night and I could still hear the old fashioned lift creaking as it went up and down, of course it did not help being next to the breakfast area too. Breakfast was poor, lacked quality and selection. Best part of the room was how dark it was with the metal shutters on the windows, no light whatsoever which is how I like to sleep.

Me and my partner are 22 and even the walk to the sites such as the Colosseum was a struggle, took up to 25- 30 minutes, it is definitely not in the centre, refer to google maps for clarification. Trevi fountain was around 35 minutes to get to. The train station everyone seems to mention is not close, around 10-15 minutes away if you can make it without being hit by the crazy Italian motorists who are incapable of breaking.

I have always wanted to see the sites of Rome, the people let it down for me, the graffiti and rubbish near the hotel ruins the Italian feel that I wished for.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DES ARTISTES R, Olivia , reservation office at Hotel des Artistes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Tara
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our hotel. We are sorry if this time our service was not up to what you came to expect from us, above all regarding breakfast and location, that are generally considered our strenghts.
However, the feedback we receive from our guests like you, enables us to focus problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our services.
I hope that sometime in the future you may give us the chance to have you again as our guest in Rome again and change your mind on your experience
Warm regards
Olivia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

We stayed three nights at this hotel at the very start of our Italian trip and, as we traveled entirely by train, it was well located close to the train station and close enough to most sites that we walked. We had a very clean, large, comfortable room in the main building with a courtyard view, quiet, efficient air conditioning, tiled bathroom (with a bath/shower combination - the only one we had on our entire trip), and included a very good breakfast in a 2nd floor breakfast room. Staff were all welcoming and helpful. We felt it was a good choice for our Rome visit.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the inner courtyard - it is on a very busy street, especially at night.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Betty08WhiteRock_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DES ARTISTES R, Olivia, Reservation office at Hotel des Artistes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding. We do our best to keep and improve our standard and it is a pleasure to read that we reached the expectations with you.
Thank you for your special appreciation to our staff. This makes us very proud.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Olivia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights and would definitely go back. We had a private room with a shared bathroom. Bathrooms were cleaned twice daily, our room was spotless as included a closet, a safe and our own sink. Breakfast buffet cost us €10 per person but it was worth it for the selection of food and convenience. Located only 5mins from termini station and 20-30mins from most of the attractions of the city it was very convenient for all of your activities. Staff were very friendly as well. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank George I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DES ARTISTES R, Olivia, Reservation Office at Hotel des Artistes, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear George
We are pleased, you enjoyed your recent stay with us in the hostel part of our property. We always try hard to give the best service to each guest. We are happy to know when this succeeded. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to write a review. We look forward to meeting you again in the future.
Kind regards,
olivia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews