We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We checked out two hours after checking in”
Review of Hotel De Petris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel De Petris
Ranked #498 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Washington DC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We checked out two hours after checking in”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The hotel is severely run down. Light switches pushed into the walls and broken. The bed was awful, someone's laundry was hanging in the hallway. There were five staff members and only two guests in the lobby and it took 15 minutes to check me in because they were talking to each other. The room felt grimy, broken, and the bed/ pillows were not appropriate for someone's home let alone a hotel. We checked out early. The man at the desk was very nice and offered to show us another room. I said okay... He then came back and informed me that we were already in his best room..... Yikes. Spend an extra 25 euros or so and stay somewhere else. Not close to the Spanish Steps as advertised. The pictures on the website look nothing like the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask when the photos of the hotel were taken. Ask if pillow tops are available for mattresses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldepetrismanager, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Petris, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear guest,

Sorry but your comment make us smile a little bit especially when you write that we are not close to Spanish steps. But fortunatly all other comments and all other guest's witnesses can show a different point of view from yours. In any case you stayed in the room more than 2 hours (this is to say that if the problem was the room you could come down immediatly but you did not). In any case we did our best to accomplish you requires but you did not want.
Anyway ant further word is useless as your comment talk by itself and all the other comment absolutely deny what you wrote.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    598
    260
    98
    69
See reviews for
334
626
25
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zwevegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Hotel De Petris is located at 3 minutes walking distance from the Trevi Fountain. Also nearby (same distance) is metro stop Barberine of line A.
The staff is very very kind and always ready to help. Also the manager is many times present in the hotel or breakfast room and he surely can makes great cappuccino's! Everybody speaks English very well.
Breakfast is buffet and is OK! Maybe there should be more place to sit.
The first two days we were in room 408, top floor. Very very small room with a bed that is 1,80 m of length! And noisy, we could hear the neighbours as if they sit in our own room. They should not sell this to adults! We mentioned it and they immediately switched us to another room. (211) This room was OK!
Hotel is clean, but not big. Which I think is normal, considerating the central location.

Room Tip: Be sure you have a room with a normal bed. (length = 2,00 meter or above)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSX2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldepetrismanager, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Petris, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thank you so much for being our guest in THE HEART OF ROME.

it was a great pleasure and we will be waiting for you to come back visiting us and tasting our cappucinos!

thank you and Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leppävirta, Eastern Finland, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The location was good and peaceful.Short walk from the Termini station.Breakfast was abundant, used in Italy to a modest breakfast. You should request rooms in the hotel, was also a separate loft apartment on the ground floor with windows only on the street. I could visit the same hotel next time.Stuff was friendly and helpful

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaisu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear client, thank you so much for your nice comment!!
Our loft is one our special rooms but next time we are sure you will be also satisfied enough with other our rooms!
Come back soon!!
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel aviv
Level Contributor
139 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We were at the hotel in September after we ordered Superior room six months in advance.
After reading reviews that there are many rooms outdated, We decided not to take a chance and booked in advance superior room.
Do you think it helped? - Maybe in another hotel which is run in a more fair but not at this hotel.
Construction took place on the top floor of the hotel and every day from 08:00 am until 16:00 pm there were loud noises of construction in the room we got.
The first day the reception said that it's a one-time fix that will end in two hours
And when we came back and complained they suggested that we move into more simple room. Because we were promised that the noise will stop in two hours - we preferred to stay in our superior room, And we were afraid to have a room out of date as written in reviews here.
After the next morning we heard bangs and noises of construction - We turned the hotel manager. I never met a man so antipathetic. He stood in front of us and repeated the sentence - "I have nothing to do now". I asked him how did he sold the room in advance if you knew he was having building work over - And he told us that the Italian law allows him to make noise between these hours - I told him we were guests of the hotel and we came on holiday and rest and we are not long-term residents who live across the street that He can answer them this answer. But there was no one to talk to and we had to go through hell for three more days. The next day when we realized that the construction work will take place in all our stay - We'd love to go to another room or even another hotel, But he said only that he has nothing to do.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank buiumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for being our client.

We perfectly remember about you and about what happened with you.

You reserved a superior room and we gave you a beautiful superior room. You came and said that the room was tiny for you so we immediatly told you that you could change the room.
The day after we waited and waited even after the time in which new clients check in for you to show you another room. When you finally arrived we showed another superior room a bigger one with balcony (for 3 people and this is the one for which many clients wrote beautiful comments).
At this point the reaction was that it was the same as what you really wanted was a more classical room (that was the real point), so we showed you another room a standard one and you answered that you had rush and you had to go.

So said we made everything possible to accomplish your requests even if every time we accomplished one you had some others to accomplish.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I traveled with my mother (70) and my baby (8 months) and w are so satisfied with this hotel.
Its near all monuments and bus and metro and shops.Too much cleaned, and with many details that do your visit more nice. Breakfast also so good
Special mention to the crew, every people was attented and too much simpathy with may baby, special Adriana (woman who works in breakfast and young man in reception with blond hair (i dont know his name).

Room Tip: we have a room in front of hotel and it was so nice and silent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graciela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for putting your kind impression.
Your family was lovely and for us it has been a pleasure to take care of all of you!!
We really hope you will come back soon to visit us!!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#169 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Julia
Hotel Julia
#314 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Trevi
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#220 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Residenza Ki Rome
Residenza Ki Rome
#318 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Trevi
Tritone Hotel
Tritone Hotel
#336 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Trevi
Hotel Trevi
#457 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Petris? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Petris

Property: Hotel De Petris
Address: Via Rasella 142, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#165 Business Hotel in Rome
#282 Family Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,077 - ₹ 17,002
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Petris 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel De Petris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Petris Hotel
De Petris Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing