We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel De Petris
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Raffaello(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$ 105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$ 365
US$ 296
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Barocco Hotel(Rome)
US$ 296
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 380
US$ 233
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 275
US$ 229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 198
US$ 153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 170/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
B&B Calamatta(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$ 114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Papa Germano(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$ 70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
US$ 347
US$ 310
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,459)
Filter reviews
1,459 results
Traveller rating
348
617
296
113
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
617
296
113
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrevi fountainspanish stepsfontana di trevibarberini metro stationperfect locationthe main hotelwithin walking distancerecommend this hotelflat screenroof terraceheart of romecroissantswalked everywherevisiting romequiet streetnice breakfastbreakfast is served
Filter
Updating list...
396 - 401 of 1,459 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Hotel De Petris is located at 3 minutes walking distance from the Trevi Fountain. Also nearby (same distance) is metro stop Barberine of line A.
The staff is very very kind and always ready to help. Also the manager is many times present in the hotel or breakfast room and he surely can makes great cappuccino's! Everybody speaks English very well.
Breakfast is buffet and is OK! Maybe there should be more place to sit.
The first two days we were in room 408, top floor. Very very small room with a bed that is 1,80 m of length! And noisy, we could hear the neighbours as if they sit in our own room. They should not sell this to adults! We mentioned it and they immediately switched us to another room. (211) This room was OK!
Hotel is clean, but not big. Which I think is normal, considerating the central location.

Room Tip: Be sure you have a room with a normal bed. (length = 2,00 meter or above)
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSX2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldepetrismanager, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Petris, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Thank you so much for being our guest in THE HEART OF ROME.

it was a great pleasure and we will be waiting for you to come back visiting us and tasting our cappucinos!

thank you and Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The location was good and peaceful.Short walk from the Termini station.Breakfast was abundant, used in Italy to a modest breakfast. You should request rooms in the hotel, was also a separate loft apartment on the ground floor with windows only on the street. I could visit the same hotel next time.Stuff was friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaisu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear client, thank you so much for your nice comment!!
Our loft is one our special rooms but next time we are sure you will be also satisfied enough with other our rooms!
Come back soon!!
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We were at the hotel in September after we ordered Superior room six months in advance.
After reading reviews that there are many rooms outdated, We decided not to take a chance and booked in advance superior room.
Do you think it helped? - Maybe in another hotel which is run in a more fair but not at this hotel.
Construction took place on the top floor of the hotel and every day from 08:00 am until 16:00 pm there were loud noises of construction in the room we got.
The first day the reception said that it's a one-time fix that will end in two hours
And when we came back and complained they suggested that we move into more simple room. Because we were promised that the noise will stop in two hours - we preferred to stay in our superior room, And we were afraid to have a room out of date as written in reviews here.
After the next morning we heard bangs and noises of construction - We turned the hotel manager. I never met a man so antipathetic. He stood in front of us and repeated the sentence - "I have nothing to do now". I asked him how did he sold the room in advance if you knew he was having building work over - And he told us that the Italian law allows him to make noise between these hours - I told him we were guests of the hotel and we came on holiday and rest and we are not long-term residents who live across the street that He can answer them this answer. But there was no one to talk to and we had to go through hell for three more days. The next day when we realized that the construction work will take place in all our stay - We'd love to go to another room or even another hotel, But he said only that he has nothing to do.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank buiumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Dear Madam,

Thank you for being our client.

We perfectly remember about you and about what happened with you.

You reserved a superior room and we gave you a beautiful superior room. You came and said that the room was tiny for you so we immediatly told you that you could change the room.
The day after we waited and waited even after the time in which new clients check in for you to show you another room. When you finally arrived we showed another superior room a bigger one with balcony (for 3 people and this is the one for which many clients wrote beautiful comments).
At this point the reaction was that it was the same as what you really wanted was a more classical room (that was the real point), so we showed you another room a standard one and you answered that you had rush and you had to go.

So said we made everything possible to accomplish your requests even if every time we accomplished one you had some others to accomplish.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I traveled with my mother (70) and my baby (8 months) and w are so satisfied with this hotel.
Its near all monuments and bus and metro and shops.Too much cleaned, and with many details that do your visit more nice. Breakfast also so good
Special mention to the crew, every people was attented and too much simpathy with may baby, special Adriana (woman who works in breakfast and young man in reception with blond hair (i dont know his name).

Room Tip: we have a room in front of hotel and it was so nice and silent
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graciela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for putting your kind impression.
Your family was lovely and for us it has been a pleasure to take care of all of you!!
We really hope you will come back soon to visit us!!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I would have given this a 'poor' rating, except that had we not been on our honeymoon, we may not have minded what happened at this hotel as much.

Where to begin - Rome was the middle leg of our 2 week stay in Italy. We arrived at the hotel after an almost 3 hour trip from our first destination which included taking a taxi, speed train, metro, and then the short walk to the hotel (but on cobbled stone streets with luggage). We were very happy to enter the hotel and got to the front desk where nobody looked up to greet us. After about 5 minutes a man acknowledged us and informed us that we were an hour too early for checking into our rooms. We said we were tired, on our honeymoon, was there any way to get in our rooms a bit earlier? He said no but took our bags to a safe place and gave us a map to walk to the Trevi Fountain. It was a hot day in Rome and the Trevi Fountain (as always) was very crowded. Not the ideal start, but we were determined to make it a good stay!

We entered our room - small, two twins pushed together (the norm in Europe), but here's the clincher - we had a flush that didn't work. We went downstairs and informed a man about this, who promised to look after it. We left the hotel to get lunch and become familiar with our surroundings, we get back to our room an hour later and find the flush is still in the same situation. We go downstairs, and the man actually gets exasperated with US saying we are being "impatient" with the flush (the problem was that the flush was so weak none of the contents were disappearing... to put it politely). Anyways, what resulted was a long back and forth that if I was feeling gracious I would pin as simple "miscommunication" but in reality we were being treated with a lot of hostility and defensiveness. He wasn't listening to what we were saying, wasn't trying to understand, and not going an inch out his way to provide any sort of customer service. Due to the fatigue, I ended up bursting into tears out of sheer frustration and the man ended up still making us wait in the lobby for ten minutes as he finished his work on his computer before coming up to our room and finally understanding what we meant (we had to show him).

After that, things got much better. We were moved to a better room, free of charge. Needless to say, that was not how we wanted to be treated while on our honeymoon, and it made us want to spend as little time in the hotel as possible so we could avoid the staff. To their credit, they always made an effort to be polite during the remaining 3 days we had at the hotel, but it all just left us with a bad taste in our mouth.

Plus points: awesome breakfast - I miss the chocolate croissants. The location is FANTASTIC, you're really at the very centre and Rome is such a fantastic and easy city to navigate on foot. I would not recommend this hotel as a honeymoon hotel, but if you're looking for a decent, affordable place to stay in the city, and don't care too much about service or the rooms - this is a good bet.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2peas1pod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Dear Guest,

We are really sorry you had such problems during your staying. Unfortunatly sometimes this kind of problems can occur beyond our will and even if guests are on honeymoon.
Above all we are sorry about the evident misunderstanding you had with our staff who is always very helpful and ready to listen as other clients' experiences can witness, so we usually do not need to do any kind of effort in order to be polite with our guests.
In any case we are glad that the problem was just for 1 day and that you appreciated the change of room, all we want is our guests to be satisfied and we are sure that if you will come to visit us next time you will be more than happy.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews