We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Overall”
Review of Hotel Memphis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Memphis
Ranked #399 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Overall”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

This hotel is centrally located and the facilities are updated. It's a good place to stay for a reasonable price. It is located near the Via Tritone, Via Veneto and Piazza Barberini on a small alley off the main street. The bathrooms in the rooms are updated and modern. Wi Fi is available by the hour for a charge from the front desk. There are also several restaurants nearby.

I will say the walls are VERY thin here-- you can hear your neighbors talking in their rooms and their doors slamming will wake you up every morning. There are more English speaking television channels here than the other hotels we stayed in, as well. There are a lot of reviews about the staff being less than helpful- we didn't necessarily try them, but they did seem a little put out with our small requests... so much so that I didn't ask them for hotel reservations or other assistance.

Also, upon check out, there was a mysterious $12 Euro "city tax" they charged us that had to be paid in cash. I learned that charges required to be paid in cash isn't uncommon in Italy, but was still irritating after I had supposedly paid all the charges on Hotels.com. Overall, this place felt updated, safe and centrally located.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smubonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    191
    65
    28
    15
See reviews for
108
193
32
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We were a party of ten people that had a reservation mixup with the rooms.
The wrong types of room were ordered by the travel agency- doubles instead of triples.
The management refused to accomodate us and we were forced to pay an extra 160 Euros for one night for two people - one of them a 5 year old boy.
Make sure that your reservation is OK before you get there or you will get screwed!!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank albert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remarhotels, Director of Sales at Hotel Memphis, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you for writing to us regarding your recent stay at Hotel Memphis.
Your feedback appreciated as it enables us to improve our standards.

The reservation of your travel agency it was about 2 Single rooms as your voucher.
Unfortunately the double rooms have an extra price compared to single rooms and our staff has informed you about that, at arrival day.

We would like to invite you to send an email directly to our management, about your future bookings.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trelleborg, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We was visiting Roma during a long weekend, where we stayed Thursday to Sunday, and explored Roma. We booked both flight and hotel through the net. The hotel is rather small, with a really nice staff and in a location where we by foot could reach most of what we would explore in this fantastic city. The breakfast was not so good, some bread, over cooked eggs but in total what you could expect in Italy. The room was clean with good beds, but under the beds there was a lot of dust, so I think we could expect more from a four star hotel. The beds was moving on the floor everytime you sit down on them, with a lot of noise. In total I think you can expect a bit more from a hotel with this rating, but we were really satisfied with our visit to Roma in total.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LelleSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stayed at this hotel back in March 2011 for three nights with a friend. The only good points about the hotel was the shower, the size of the rooms and the location was good. The staff were rather rude and unhelpful, the TV did not work, the only channel we could get was the news, though the staff were adamant the TV was working! When booking the hotel it said there was a bar and a restaurant in the facilities, but if it did, it was invisible and staff said it was basically a counter in the breakfast room, but this was not opened. We had breakfast on one of the mornings, but there was little to be missed the other two mornings we did not have it.

I am more than happy with basic hotel accommodation, as long as that is what I am paying for, but seeing as this was a four star (which it so was not!), it wasn't cheap.

I loved Rome and the trips we did were wicked, so thankfully we did not spend much time in the hotel. I ended up getting locked in the staff toilets on the last day and they had to open the door from the other side, which definitely confirmed the fact, would never go back to Memphis! Rome is well worth a visit, and I would love to go again, but it would have to be a different hotel!

Room Tip: Don't stay here! Pick another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlotteLouise_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed two nights at Hotel Memphis. It is quiet, has a good breakfast, friendly staff, great shuttle service, and a perfect location, just four minutes of walk to the Trevi Fountain and six to the Spanish Stairs. I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boteswaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Barberini Hotel
Barberini Hotel
#311 of 1,257 in Rome
666 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Siena
Hotel Siena
#392 of 1,257 in Rome
395 reviews
Colonna
Spanish Art Hotel
Spanish Art Hotel
#568 of 1,257 in Rome
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel delle Nazioni
Hotel delle Nazioni
#240 of 1,257 in Rome
1,104 reviews
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#149 of 1,257 in Rome
983 reviews
Trevi
Cosmopolita Hotel
Cosmopolita Hotel
#316 of 1,257 in Rome
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Memphis? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Memphis

Property: Hotel Memphis
Address: Via Degli Avignonesi 36, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#214 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#269 Family Hotel in Rome
#298 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,432 - ₹ 18,654
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Memphis 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Memphis Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing