We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (747)
Filter reviews
749 results
Traveller rating
500
208
34
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
500
208
34
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews british embassy gelateria la romana samsung phone complimentary bottles of water free calls check in was quick and easy castro pretorio international calls easy minute walk modern hotel mini fridge pastries storage space recommend this hotel shower area the main train station laundry service
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 749 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived at Rome Termini station after a long train ride and walked the few blocks to our reserved hotel - Smooth Hotel Repubblica - shortly before the hotel check in time of 2pm. The manager told us that they were moving us to their sister property 500m away. I told her that we really wanted to stay close to the train station, as we were going to take the airport train the next day. She offered to have a bellman help us take our luggage to the other hotel, and pay for a taxi to the train station. We accepted.
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini is several blocks farther from the train station than Smooth Hotel Repubblica, so it's not as convenient for tourists. However, the staff is amazing, especially Claudia, who gave us tips on where to dine and how to take the bus. The rooms are well-appointed, with modern touches. They also smell REALLY good (I'm not sure where the scent comes from, but it's really pleasant). The beds are quite comfortable. The air conditioning works well. There is complimentary bottled water in the mini fridge. They offer guests a free welcome drink (sparkling wine) at their bar, and
the on-site restaurant serves a decent breakfast in the morning.
I really liked this hotel and would recommend it to anyone visiting Rome for a few days.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank VinceInLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We only stayed here 1 night, but the staff was very helpful and friendly. Hotel looks recently remodeled but has a very small elevator (4 people max without luggage). Location seems OK...we really didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel area. Mainly went to the sites in Rome once we checked in.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Doodad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stay at the Smooth from Aug 24 until Aug 31. The staff was amazing very friendly. The hotel is quaint. The rooms were clean. We enjoyed the breakfast spread. The location was perfect. We walked to Termini station to catch our train to Naples and Florence. We spent 1 night in Florence and left our luggage at Smooth, they put them in storage at no extra fee. When we came back from Florence, the staff had our rooms ready and our luggage waiting for us inside. I will definitely stay there again, the next time I travel to Rome. One of the ladies told us they will open a Smooth in Florence, we will no doubt book a room in Florence as well. Thank you so much for making our trip to Italy so 'smooth'. :-)

Room Tip: Best location.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank beaklimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We chose Smooth Hotel for our four nights in Rome a bit by accident - a very good offer from Secret Escapes. What I didn’t do at booking was to check the location, which turned out to be more or less the only culprit. The hotel is, as the name suggests ’smooth’. Excellent service, perfect cleaning, and the hotel is very modern and functional, although the building is old. Rooms well equipped, lovely beds, excellent wifi, and one of the advantages with the slightly remote location is: barely no traffic noise. The hotel breakfast was more or less standard Italian, which translates to good. One minor wish would have been coffee-related: they have just the Nes-whatever machine making, and the coffee is drinkable, but still I woild have hoped for a little more than that. Smooth doesn’t have a restaurant, and the area is not too dense with them either, but the bar serves dishes in the evenings, and actually quite good ones! Then, I mentioned the location. Getting to the centre, unless you take a taxi, means a walk of ten or a bit more minutes to either of the two underground stations nearby; either Castro Pretorio on the blue line, which is a bit closer, and takes you to Termini where you can chang to the red line, but also direct to Colosseo. The nearest red line is Repubblica. So, do I recommend? For the overall quality and service, yes, definitely, but if you’re not the happiest walker, you might want to be a bit closer to where everything happens. Having said that, we actually walked back from the centre three or four times, no problem at all, and if you walk slong, let’s say, the Nazionale up to Repubblica, there are a few nice bars on the way...

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Stefan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great hotel, close to centre, very clean and well presented. Staff are very helpful , rooms very comfortable. Has a very modern feel to it well worth a visit. Only a short distance from central station by british embassy

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews