We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect location, amazing staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bailey's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bailey's Hotel
Ranked #341 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect location, amazing staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in May 2011. We were to have been there for 3 nights but they were having a problem with plumbing on our floor. Gerald, on the front desk arranged for us to spend our first night down the street at another hotel. He personally walked us down to the other hotel and got us settled and then came and accomanied us back to Baileys the next morning. We were given a beautiful, spacious room overlooking the street. There was a fruit basket there on our arrival as well as a bottle of wine and bouquet of flowers and a letter of apology for the inconvenience. Gerald could not have made us feel more welcome or more at ease when we arrived tired and anxious about the situation. He was always accomodating and so helpful in suggesting sights we might enjoy and restaurants etc. The hotel itself was in a wonderful area of Rome, all the points of interest were within walking distance.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room on the second floor overlooking Via Flavia. It was a thrill to open our shutters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancycary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    261
    84
    30
    14
See reviews for
113
384
11
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Äänekoski
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and were both satisfied and unsatisfied.

Pros: good location as many must-sights are by walking distance and the neighbourhood is quiet and nice with several good restaurants. Personal in the reception is very friendly and buffet breakfast is decent, they e.g. served cappucino or other italian coffees to the table. Our room was 'superior' so it was spacious enough for two persons. Hotel is clean and fresh.

Cons: there was neither any day light nor a view outside as the only 'window' opened to inside-staircase. The wardrobe is quite little with only a few coat hangers. In the bathroom floor there is a door-stopper beside a sink, it's really easy to hit your toe in it and that heart's!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MersuFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed here 2 - 6 April 2012. Would highly recommend staying here. Rooms were lovely - fresh linen and towels daily. Fresh fruit in your room on arrival. Mini bar in room and hotel bar were no dearer than drinking in restaurants (if not cheaper than some). The staff were very friendly and accommodating. We didnt use public transport, we were able to walk to all the tourist attractions.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CitylassEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and we were very impressed with the reception staff. The hotel was spotlessly clean, and our bed was pleasantly firm but just about filled the room up. This was the first problem - an incredibly small room, which we know is an Italian thing, but we are rating a hotel and can't allow for the fact that Italian rooms are generally small. Ours was tiny and the only window was blocked by a massive steel fire-escape! There were no in-room facilities apart from the obligatory almost empty mini-bar and a TV that had BBC Worldwide as the only English speaking channel. Not that we drank from the mini-bar or watched TV, but the option to do either would have been nice. No tea or coffee facilities in room, but there was no-where to put it so we kind of understand that. The pillows on the bed were ridiculously large and we found it impossible to sleep with them. The bathroom was so small that the door opened against the toilet bowl - to stop it hitting the bowl a round marble stopper had been stuck to the floor, which we kept stubbing out toes on! Not big enough for two people at the same time unless one of you is in the bath! Stand at the sink at your peril and hope that your partner doesn't open the door and smash into your backside! The shower was ok but the shower head was filthy and sprayed in all directions.

The air-con worked but we couldn't turn it off or even down - it kept re-setting to maximum cold.

Breakfast was frankly a disgrace. The coffee machine was out of action for every day, so the only option (in Italy, of all places) was overcooked coffee from an urn!!!! The scrambled eggs were so salty that I only tried them once, and the rest of it was pretty inedible. Even the orange juice was almost unrecognizable as such. Not good. We got our morning espresso from a cafe around the corner.

Not a bad location, very friendly staff, very quiet, spotlessly clean in general, but not somewhere that we would go back to or particularly recommend unless you are on a budget. We do not view this as 4 star hotel, which is it's apparent rating. A shame, as it could have been so much better if the little things were attended to...

Room Tip: Request the largest, or you will be given a shoe box with a wardrobe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph2074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed here for 4 days in March, location is in a quiet street with a few other hotels shops and restaurants. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, and only to happy to help. Our room was fairly compact, so much so that we found to hard to store our luggage, the room was quite dark in colour and the only window looked out onto a fire escape, the room was also rather hot, and although we did try to turn it down, we were not successful. However that apart the room was and hotel was very clean, the bed was large enough and comfortable. The bathroom again was quite small, but clean and the shower had plenty of pressure and hot water. Breakfast was typical continental, the only hot food being scrambled eggs, but plenty of alternatives. The hotel was a ten minute walk from the station, and we found that we could comfortably walk to any of the many attractions in Rome, the metro can be picked up at Termini railway, or we walked to Barberini Metro (about half a mile) and caught a train to take us to the Vatican on Sunday morning. A tip for seeing the Colliseum, buy your tickets at the forum entrance rather than at the colliseum, as the queues are less and the 12 Euro ticket entitles you to see the Palantine Hill, Forum, and Colliseum. Enjoyed the hotel and would not say to anyone not to try it, but our room was not entirely ideal.

Room Tip: Stay away from the fire escape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AliBScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Oxford
Hotel Oxford
#333 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Gambrinus Hotel
#286 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Empire Palace Hotel
Empire Palace Hotel
#241 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#203 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Veneto Palace Hotel
Veneto Palace Hotel
#303 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Marcella Royal Hotel
Marcella Royal Hotel
#104 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailey's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailey's Hotel

Property: Bailey's Hotel
Address: Via Flavia 39, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Family Hotel in Rome
#183 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#208 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,106 - ₹ 15,030
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailey's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate Townhouse Hotel housed in a building dating from the 18th century & re-opened in 2001 after complete renovations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your Bailey's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baileys Hotel Rome
Bailey Hotel
Hotel Bailey Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing