We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,635)
Filter reviews
1,635 results
Traveller rating
643
664
220
62
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
643
664
220
62
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopera houserick stevestrain stationyogurtbreakfast staffquad roomclose to terminiwithin walking distancesingle roomnice breakfastcold cutstrevi fountainconvenient locationrooms are smallthree nightsaround the cornerthe air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
712 - 717 of 1,635 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Hotel Sonya is a great place to stay - lots of local restaurants and there is a good grocery right across the street. It is clean and has an excellent breakfast included. Friendly and helpful staff. It is a a great value for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed at Sonya for 4 nights at the end of May. We were immediately excorted to our room,explained everything and given dinner recommendation(pretty good one).
Our room was smallish, but enough for everything, very clean, quiet, nice veiw from the window.
Bed was comfortable, could use better pillows. Bathroom was very small , but modern, good water pressure, plenty of towels.
Breakfast was great, enough choices of pastry,cold cuts, eggs, etc. Nice cappuccino, espresso.
Staff was very polite and friendly with us, gave us helpfull advices, directions,provided wake up calls,taxi.
So overall it was a very nice stay, location is great, close to most sights except Vatican (subway is nearby). Termini is nearby too.
If you in Rome for honeymoon I would pick something different, but if you are a regular middleclass tourist it is the right choice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed on the 5th floor, yes the elevator cables were dusty but what do you truly expect? The room was small with a small bathroom but everything was NEW and of good quality, which was nice. Bring your own amenities, I mean soap and shampoo. You only get a little packet. Breakfast is abundant, typical -- fresh fruit, yogurt, ceral, baked goods, cold cuts. Juice, also typical, is lousy made from powder, I'm sure. My cappuccino looked great butg one day it was barely warm(?) and the next day it was mostly milky froth, no kick. The staff at the desk were not genuinely friendly and at the end, when asking for the discount Rick Steves talks about, if paying cash, the man at the desk pretended not to understand when he was asked for a receipt. The kitchen help smiles a lot but do their own thing, understanding neither Italian nor English.

Room Tip: always get an upper floor
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nitvoyodelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

On June 1 we went to Hotel Roma Opera where we had reservation for 1 night. We were told they were full and took us to Hotel Sonya. It is a minimal hotel, small room cheaply furnished but fairly nice bathroom. It was clean but bare. Manual pulley type elevator. Had some English speaking TV channels. Great breakfast!!! Freshly boiled eggs, cured meat, cheese, yogurts, pastries, beautiful fruits, etc. Brought us Cappuchinos to drink. Not bad place for one night. Right at Rome Opera Theater.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
Thank catronwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

3 star hotel close to the main train station, good location. The rooms are very clean and the staff very helpful and courteous. We were able to stay in recent renovated room on floor 5 and it was very comfortable. I would consider this hotel great value for Rome.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank docLongmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews