We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,648)
Filter reviews
1,648 results
Traveller rating
646
670
221
64
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
646
670
221
64
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews opera house rick steves train station yogurt breakfast staff quad room close to termini within walking distance single room nice breakfast cold cuts convenient location trevi fountain rooms are small three nights around the corner the air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
832 - 837 of 1,648 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2011

This hotel is not in a busy area of Rome, but it felt safe and comfortable. It is across the street from the opera house, and after a certain time you must use your key card to open the front door that leads to the lobby (which made me feel secure coming in late at night).
The people at the desk were helpful and friendly, and the room was surprisingly beautiful and clean for the low price we paid. The floors were marble, which was refreshing in the heat, and the air conditioner worked wonderfully.
The highlight of Hotel Sonya for me, in addition to the positives listed above, was the breakfast. We ate many breakfasts throughout our trip, but this one was by far the best. The pastry chef works at the hotel and comes around to offer drinks or anything else you may need during your meal. He makes a delicious vegetable dish that has baked vegetables inside with a layer of crust on the top and bottom. He also makes cakes such as yogurt cake and croissants. Their selection of fruit was good, and they had toppings (nutella, jam, etc.) available.
The hotel is also a short walk to the Colosseum and the Forum, and it is a short taxi ride to most of the city.
All in all, this was a wonderful hotel and a great way to end our Italy vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank birchkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Modern rooms, powerful air-conditioning (a respite during the July heat), a yummy free breakfast (don't miss the vegetable pie), friendly helpful staff. A bit out of the way which wouldn't be a problem in cooler weather, but in the Summer heat required frequent taxi rides (which the hotel staff will gladly arrange within minutes). I'll definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fra-roberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

really enjoyed staying our last night in rome at the hotel sonya. we found the rooms to be modern, well equipped, and one of the most comfortable during our 10 day stay. the decoration looked new and bathroom was very nice! also air conditioned worked very well. we had a nice view over the top of some of the smaller surrounding buildings which was nice at sunset.
location is very convenient to termini train station, but also felt safe.
would say that breakfast was the only disappointment, though it was included in the rate which was uncommon for our bookings. also the staff was effective but not parti

one note- the hotel seemed confused at checkout that we had already paid when we booked through expedia. they requested we pay again, which we obviously did not, but took 10 unexpected minutes to sort out almost causing us to miss our airport train.

overall definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank needtotravel12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We were very pleased when we arrived to our room at Hotel Sonya (we were taken down the road to Sonya Suite which is newly renovated). Our room was small but really clean and beautifully renovated. We had booked a superior room so this is probably why we were in the nicer part of the hotel.

The staff were lovely (save the grumpy breakfast lady who seemed to have a problem with letting us have milk for our tea!) The location is very convenient and though we wanted to stay in a trendier area such as around Navona I think we got very value for money. I would definitely recommend this hotel for it's value.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarefromthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

The Hotel Sonya is a gem in the city of Rome. The rooms are clean, and the air conditioning is strong. The continental breakfast is one of the best I've ever had. The building is charming, and the staff is very helpful. Free Internet access in the lobby is a big plus.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Secondjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews