We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great take-out sandwiches” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fa-bio

Fa-bio
Ranked #17 of 771 Dessert in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Seating, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Prati
Description: Fa-bio is a small organic canteen a few steps from St. Peter, born in 2010 from an idea of Fabio and Claudio, both with d iverse gastronomic experiences in the field behind. In a space of only 20 square meters - friendly and relaxing atmosphere - you can enjoy every day of our specialties: salads, sandwiches, baguettes, centrifuges and fresh fruit smoothies, all freshly made ​​up using only organic products.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great take-out sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

After all the tasty but heavy Italian pasta,pizza, etc, it was great to get a light, healthy meal from FaBio. We tried a sandwich with the tofu, as well as one with prosciutto-- both were fantastic. The guys running the place really take their time in making a great sandwich- no rush here. We also picked up some pre-made Quinoa- very good as well. Service was great, friendly- spoke great English. The juices looked wonderful too.

The shop itself is tiny- just counter seating for a few. We tried to go here for dinner one night and it had closed already, so be aware of earlier hours.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank KEMP527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    113
    18
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Sandwiches!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stopped here for sandwiches after reading the reviews. Our B & B was very close just a few blocks down the street. The staff inside is great! They were so helpful. They even suggested a few places for us to check out in the neighborhood which was great. The sandwiches are great. They take their time to craft the food for you. The meat is sliced fresh when you order and they are amazing! I was amazed at our inexpensive they are too! For the quality and price you cannot beat it! Definitely stop by after a visit to the Vatican Museums or if you are staying in the area!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TenerAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious sandwiches made on the spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We visited this sandwich bar after reading good reviews on Trip advisor and it exceeded all expectations! We walked here after visiting the Vatican as it is very close by, yet tucked away from the main road and classic tourist traps. This place is very small and only had a few seats inside so if you are going to visit, make sure you are prepared to take out. Luckily, the weather was very nice so we found a place to sit down around the corner to tuck in!

The gentleman who served us spoke very good English and was able to explain their selection of breads, fillings and condiments perfectly and even made a few recommendations as it all sounded so good! The care he put into making our sandwiches right there in front of us was great to see and although there was a small queue forming, he didn't rush and made sure they were made to perfection.

I would recommend the olive spread - it was delicious! The cured meat, fresh cheese, salad and freshly baked bread were all very tasty. Be aware that this is a healthy eating sandwich bar!

There was a small error made when he was making our sandwiches which we weren't fussed over however, without question he insisted on charging us slightly less due to the mistake. This place has the kind of service you struggle to find anywhere else and it was all-round pleasant and delicious experience! We would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardAndRobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WRONG ADDRESS SHOW IN MAP!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

We Marked out the location on our Rome map with the map here on TA... spent 30 minutes walking up and down the street trying to find it and its actually about 4 blocks away from the current location shown here, was very frustrating !! Didnt even get to taste the food :(

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jarrod_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claudio143, Proprietario at Fa-bio, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Hi!!
Sorry for the late response.
I just wanted to thank you for pointing out the mistake and I apologize for the mishap. We are working on it.
I hope you'll be able to come back some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good, but is not a restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

As I wrote in the title Fa-bio is good for fast lunch, you can eat a salad or a sandwich, but is not restaurant!!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank ector l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fa-bio also viewed

 

Been to Fa-bio? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing