We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very good location for touring” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colosseum B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colosseum B
Ranked #248 of 3,660 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very good location for touring”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

This was our first location we stayed during our 16 day tour of Italy.
We flew into Fiuimenco airport at about 4:30 pm and were met by a taxi driver after picking up our luggage . This had been helpfully arranged by the B and B owners a few days before we left Canada when they emailed us out of the blue to present the offer. The $50 euro cost was well worth it as we had flown all night ( left Canada at 1:00 am ) and were likely in no mood to try to navigated the rail and subway system.

The B and B itself contains a total of 3 rooms . We were placed in one room for the first night and then switched to a second room for the last 3 nights of our stay due to a repair required in the first room.
Both could be described as adequate. The beds were large enough and comfortable. The storage was acceptable ( we generally lived out of our suitcases anyway ) with smallish bathrooms especially in the 1st room. A safe is also included in the armoir and comes in handy for excess cash and passport storage. Generally the rooms were clean.

The biggest advantage this B and B has over other places we looked at , is location. Many of the most frequently visited sites in Rome are within an easy walk from the front door of this place including the Colosseum itself which is almost visible from the street outside this hotel. And access to the "M" metro or subway is a 10 minute walk on the opposite side of the ancient Colosseum .

Breakfast is supplied via a card given by hotel staff that requires you to walk down the street and just around the corner to a local cafe . Upon presentation of this card , they supply you with a pastry and toast with jam and butter / juice and cappichino. By comparison , this was perhaps the poorest of the breakfast we were supplied in the five hotels we stayed in while in Italy. Having said that , it was still adequate to get us going in the morning....it just took some getting used to the typical Italing breakfast of sugary pastries first thing in the morning. But "when in Rome , do as the Romans do "

Some other reviewers have described the location around this hotel as sketchy but we were not in the least bit worried about our safetty either in the day or the night when walking the surrounding streets. The neighbourhood didn't seem any better or worse than others we saw.

Overall : If location is more important to you than 5 star accomodations , then this place is for you. Generally we would recommend it as it easily fit our budget and our needs.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KandDNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    37
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
77
110
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilsthire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

I think we must have stayed in a different place to John H (review below), as our experience couldn't have been more different.
However, you must not come here expecting it to be something it isn't. This is a very small B&B, (only 3 rooms) in part of a larger, old building. It gives good, basic accomodation. Our en-suite triple room had adequate space, (you are in a capital city don't forget), a reasonable amount of storage space, a flat screen TV, modern bathroom with good shower, a safe, and a small fridge. The rooms are all non-smoking, so you don't get that horrid smell lingering around. The beds are firm, and we had more than enough towels provided, which were changed two days into our stay.The owner doesn't live here, but there are telephone numbers to contact her if an emergancy crops up at night. This didn't bother us at all, but it might to some people, or perhaps if you were travelling alone.
Breakfast is not served at the B&B. You get a voucher to take just around the corner to a local little coffee shop. A coffee, juice, choice of croissant and toast is the standard.We found this more than enough, and interestingly is more than some local restuarants were offering as a breakfast at around €6 or €7. - This is Italy don't forget, where an expresso is what most of the locals have for breakfast!!
The location couldn't be better ;- The Colosseum is literally at the bottom of the road, and we managed to walk to all the other major sites, including the Vatican. (With frequant stops for coffees and gelato on the way of course!)

If you are looking for good, clean and basic accomodation; somewhere to sleep and shower in as a base to explore Rome, and safe and pretty quiet at night, then this is the place for you.
If you want 4 star luxury, with full english, american or full continental breakfasts, then perhaps the Hotel Capo D'Africa opposite the Colosseum B&B, (and about 3 times the price) is the place to go....

Room Tip: I think the quad and triple room probably has more space than the single.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holidays06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

this b&b is in a great location! 2 blocks from the Colosseum, hop on bus stop and metro! Hostess was very nice! Breakfast voucher was for a nearby cafe! Very reasonably priced for rome!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taylort771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

This small bed and breakfast, just around the corner from the Colosseum was perfectly located for our short family break in Rome. We were within walking distance of many major attractions and were able to dine each night within sight of the Colosseum itself. Our family room was small, but contained everything we needed, and the extremely effective air conditioning was much appreciated with temperatures in the mid 30s. The manager was extremely helpful, and an excellent breakfast was provided, with the opportunity to meet and chat to other guests. The room and bathroom were comfortable and clean, and a useful map was provided along with restaurant recommendations. As a base for a very busy couple of days it couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Can't speak highly enough of this place. Friendly very helpful staff, great location, beautiful little room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank driver x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Arena Guest House Roma
Arena Guest House Roma
#135 of 3,660 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Monti
B&B Giulietta al Colosseo
B&B Giulietta al Colosseo
#515 of 3,660 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Monti
Retrome Rome
Retrome Rome
#366 of 3,660 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Colosseo Panoramic Rooms
Colosseo Panoramic Rooms
#40 of 3,660 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Monti
Al Colosseo B&B
Al Colosseo B&B
#2,225 of 3,660 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Monti
B&B Colosseum Corner
B&B Colosseum Corner
#1,369 of 3,660 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colosseum B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colosseum B

Property: Colosseum B
Address: Via Capo d'Africa 59, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 3,660 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,430 - ₹ 9,586
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Colosseum B 1.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colosseum Bed & breakfast is located in one of the most beautiful parts of Rome, Colloseum is only a five minute walk away.We welcome you to enjoy a relaxing stay in our place, that's ideally situated near Basilica of SANTISSIMI QUATTRO and SAN CLEMENTE (1 minute), Imperial Forum, (10 minutes) Vatican Museums, Navona Square, Spanish Steps, Veneto Street, Trevi Fountain, and the most beautiful churches and museums are located all around.So your holiday begins upon your arrival and not a minute later!The Colosseum b&b is located in a quiet but central location on the ground floor of an ancient building with an independent entrance. Colosseum b&b has been offering guests comfortable beds and excellent accommodation for over 10 years.Sleeping in a Bed and Breakfast in this Historical city is a must to travelers wishing to stay overnight in a traditional Roman Guest House and in the morning enjoy a continental breakfast. Upon arrivalCheck in time is from 09:00 AM to 05.00PM. You are welcome to check in any time before 01.00PM, but if your room is not ready before 01:00PM then we can at least store your luggage for you. Check out time is 10:00AM and late check outs are €30 plus charge per room and you can stay until 03:00PM.During your check-in we will answer any questions you may have. We are always ready and willing to help you with your dining requirements, to arrange taxis, book theatre tickets ect...List of Facilities In your Room:Flat screen TVCable TVFree Wi-Fi InternetHair dryersNearest Underground• Line B, line A, a 5-minute walk.Overground stationCOLOSSEO (linea B); MANZONI (lineaA) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Colosseum B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colosseum Bed And Breakfast
Colosseum Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing