We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel -- but watch the steps!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Spring House
Ranked #159 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed in the Spring House our first two evenings in Rome. The cappuccino they offered upon our arrival set the bar for the rest of the trip. The two story room was adorable, and very spacious; but there was an unusual step down to the bathroom doorway and another from the doorway down to the toilet and shower area. With no rails or delineations, we were very concerned for the safety of our 75 year old mother. because we kept forgetting about the steip and tripping down into the bathroom. Other than that, the hotel was wonderful. The King bed was MOLTO comfy ... I still have dreams of the yummy complimentary breakfast that served each morning ... and the hotel could not have been more convenient to the Vatican Museums (although St. Peters was a bit of a hike). Watch out for traffic in front of the hotel -- but alas -- we found out that is true for anywhere in Roma!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ccspecialist, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Spring House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Dear Guest,

thanks for telling us your experience in our Hotel.
It 's very important for us to get feedback because it helps us to focus on our strengths and our weaknesses and to understand if our efforts were successful. I understand that with you our goals have been reached.
I am deeply sorry to know just now about your difficult to use a bathroom with stairs. You never complaint during your stay about it, we would have been pleased to show other rooms.Our reception is open 24 hours for all your needs
I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfast buffet. It 's important to start the day. One of our strengths are the fresh products arriving daily.

We hope to welcome you again in your next vacation taking care of your needs

Customer Care Department
Best Western Hotel Spring House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

456 - 460 of 1,344 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

We rented 2 rooms at the hotel with 2 people in each room and the same price for both. I checked into one room and found it to be very compact, as in postage stamp size. There was barely room to walk around the bed and the bathroom was small enough that it was hard to move in the shower or use the other facilities. Everything was micro-sized, right down to the room safe that was so small that it couldn't fit a small laptop. I was therefore quite surprised when I visited the other people in my party and they were in a much larger room. They had a balcony outside, we had a window. Their room was much larger, as was their bathroom (which included a window). They had a large safe where I did store my computer, too. When we left our room keys at the desk to go out, we were asked what we thought of the 2 rooms. I responded that I felt like we had gotten one and a half rooms, to which the desk clerk replied that some rooms are small based on "availability".

The staff was friendly and the breakfast was nice. Although close to the Vatican, the area is somewhat run down and not picturesque, especially the local metro station which can get very sketchy at dark. I would probably opt for a hotel with more standard room sizes guaranteed at booking and in a more tourist friendly area, but this was adequate if it is your best option.

Room Tip: State that you want a room with an outside balcony, maybe that will guarantee you don't get one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjmPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ccspecialist, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Spring House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Dear guest,

first of all thanks for taking the time to inform us about your stay in our hotel. All reviews, positive and negative, help us to understand what we need to improve.

I'm sorry to know that for you that the room was small. Our rooms meet the standard measures established in Italy and the room that is assigned to you is exactly what you have booked. If you noticed any differences between your room and that your friend has had is not because the dimensions are based on availability. Each guest is assigned the room corresponding to the reservation and when you can, that is, subject to availability, it is a pleasure for us to assign a larger room (this is based on availability). Your friend had a larger room with a balcony because it was only one that we had available but being a superior tipology it was considered a free upgrade. The balcony is not guaranteed in any reservation for a standard room as it is written clearly on line because it is another type of room but it is a pleasure to give it if it is still available.
I am sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed at all this area. Is enjoyed by many because it is close to the Vatican, full of shops of all kinds (including major brands), restaurants, pharmacies and supermarkets and two metro stations that are closed at night and during the day very controlled both by staff and by CCTV cameras.

I hope that in the future you will return to us to give us the opportunity to make you live a better stay

Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Our room was clean and comfortable,,, nice bathroom. View out to the back of the builiding was unimpressive. Also, even though we ran the A/C, the room was warm. Pleasant and helpful desk staff.
Very convenient to Vatican Museum and the neighborhood is pleasant for a stroll and a meal.
But NOT worth the 179 Euros/night that we paid.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomDrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ccspecialist, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Spring House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

dear customer,

Let me begin by thanking you for sharing your experience with other travelers.
We are glad that you have had a good stay in our hotel. A good rest is definitely an important element during a vacation and I am happy to know that you enjoyed our clean rooms with comfortable beds with the possibility to choose the type of pillow that best suits your needs.
Surely, be near the Vatican is a source of pride for us and for our guests is a comfort together with the proximity to the metro, a lot of fast-food restaurants, supermarkets and shops of all kinds. Here nothing is missing!
From your comment you say that you enjoyed your room, the friendliness of the staff, and the area, but also say that the value for the price paid is not high for you. Please let us know what you did not liked. This will give us the opportunity to improve.

To the next time!

Customer Care Department
Best Western Hotel Spring House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The hotel is clean, comfortable and in a great location, especially for the Vatican. Breakfast was good, and there was no problem when we asked for a late check out. Countering that however, is that for the price, there are much better places to stay in Rome, where you'll get a lot more value for less money. The atmosphere is a little "industrial" (for want of a better word) and the service very much depended on the individual staff member. We found that it ranged from friendly and helpful most of the time, but extremely unhelpful and quite rude in another. The information/service available for tours and sightseeing etc was also very limited compared to other hotels, but again that may have been the result of an individual staff member.
Shop around is my my advice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sigi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ccspecialist, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Spring House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

Dear customer,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us and others your experience.
We are very happy that you enjoyed the room we gave you: equipped by all the comfort and well cleaned. It 'a pleasure to know that you liked our breakfast where we offer products that are fresh and different to satisfy the different tastes of the world. I hope you'll tasted our products typical of Rome that we present on the buffet. I hope you liked them.
We are happy to hear that you found our location convenient to the Vatican but it is not an industrial area on the contrary is an area full of shops of all kinds and many famous brands, full of restaurants of all levels and supermarkets. We have two metro stops within 5 minutes walk, and very near the Vatican Museums.
Our rates, perfectly suited to the type of service offered by a hotel of our quality and our position will vary depending on the type of room and the booked period. There are a lot of typology on which you can choose and there are also numerous offers and promotions for discounts on current rates and I'm sorry that you do not have benefited. The next time do not hesitate to contact us to know all the different opportunities.
Our staff is appreciated by all our guests and it is always an element to receive the best compliments. For this reason it seems strange to understand that not all of our staff had satisfied you. All the staff work daily to achieve the goal of making our guests happy but if you have any suggestions we will be very happy to receive it. This will help us to improve our service.

We hope to welcome you again!

Customer Care Department
Best Western Hotel Spring House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Prior to a 12 night Princess cruise, we decided to spend a few days in Rome, our departure port. We wanted to see the Vatican/Sistine Chapel, the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, etc. so our TA recommended the Spring House for its proximity to the Vatican and the subway system. We arrived at maybe 11am, room wouldn't be ready until 3pm. The front desk stored our bags, gave us a map and directions to the Vatican Museum, maybe 3 blocks away. After our tour, we were given the keys to our room, which was maybe 10' x 10', just enough space to edge our way around the bed. The bath was also small, and the shower had corner glass slide doors that opened maybe 20", just enough to step up and slide sidewise through. If I hadn't lost some weight prior to this trip, I might not have made it into the shower and would have looked into the larger "suite" upsell I was offered when checking into the hotel. There was a small but pleasant balcony that offered decent city views. The hotel offers continental breakfast in the room price, and it was a 4 or 5 block walk to the subway (Cipro Station). Plenty of sidewalk restaurants in the area too. We spent almost all our time running around the Vatican and Rome and used the room just for sleeping and showering. It was about an hour's drive to the cruise pier on Sunday.

Room Tip: If you are a large person, consider getting a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ccspecialist, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Spring House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear Guest,

thanks for choosing us for your stay in Rome, thanks for telling your experience in our beautiful facility.
we are glad that you have enjoyed our hospitality. The smile is part of our way of being and is nice for us to welcome our guests with lots of availability. Our multilingual staff is very professional, attentive to the needs of every guest, willing to give any kind of information

I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfast buffet. It 's important to start the day. One of our strengths are the fresh products arriving daily. I'm sorry that you did not like our bread: the bread comes fresh from the oven every day!
next time do not miss your chance to ask room service to enjoy your breakfast comfortably in your room

I'm sorry to hear that for you the room was not big enough. The reception is open 24 hours for all your needs. If you have notified, we would have given you a larger room of different type.not always all type of rooms are available but whenever there are it is always a pleasure for us to do a small upgrade.

Looking forward to welcoming again!

Customer Care Department
Best Western Spring House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Starhotels Michelangelo
#160 of 1,272 in Rome
1,150 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#41 of 1,272 in Rome
778 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Tango Hotel
Tango Hotel
#75 of 1,272 in Rome
697 reviews
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel President
Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
#49 of 1,272 in Rome
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Spring House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Spring House

Address: Via Mocenigo 7, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#81 Family Hotel in Rome
#96 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#244 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: ₹ 5,665 - ₹ 14,899 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Spring House 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our location in the center of Rome, walking distance to the Vatican, Saint Peter's Basilica, Sistine Chapel and much more of historical Rome,international standard of quality and Italian hospitality are what make up an unforgettable stay in Rome. The Best Western Spring House's recently renewed and renovated style give you the ultimate "home away from home" experience, whether visiting for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Spring House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing