We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy Rome See the Vatican”
Review of Amalia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amalia Hotel
Ranked #400 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 29 December 2011

No frills. Our family 2x Adults and 2x Teenagers, stayed at the Amalia Quad room 18-24 Dec, luckily the driver from the Hotel knew where the Hotel was at otherwise I don't think i would have found it. Staff was very "quiet". If you don't ask for something, they definitely aren't going to come forward and make any recommendations. The room was a little small for 4 people but clean. The Cleaning staff was excellent and helpful. The morning breakfast was pretty good. The lobby staff frequently made me feel like I was a guest and not a paying customer. You have to weigh the decision on staying here because of the location. Great access to the Vatican, Metro and shopping. It looks like the hotel was in the process of starting renovations.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imf8819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 136 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2011

I stayed in this hotel first week of December. I booked with DHR hotels , it's the same price that could have paid if I booked straight from the hotel, the only option is that you can cancel if you book with DHR. For sure you will be given a better room if you book straight from hotel cause the room I was given was like a prison cell. As soon as you open the window you will find air-condition units and empty bottles from nearby restaurant. Thats the view you will see nothing else .The only good option is the location, just 5 minutes walk and you are in the Vatican square. The rest is not as you see or read on this hotel. Breakfast is just a normal poor one. Tea and coffee crosaints and powdered juice .

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ribarnika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffRome, Manager at Amalia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Sir,
I am sorry for your review concerning the room.
I want to assure possible other customers that the room you mention has been dismissed and all room have pleasant internal or external view.
Hope you will reconsider to stay with us again.
Kind regards,
Luigi Pirrò

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

My husband and myself stayed in April for five days, we oranised a taxi with the hotel to collect us at the aerport and also for the return journey, it cost 42 euro each pay and well worth it.The hotel is in a great location just behind Vatican city we walked to all the various attractions.The hotel is very clean but basic, but then again you only sleep there, I would recommend this hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie5510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffRome, Direttore at Amalia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Valerie,
thank you for Hotel Amalia reccomendations throughout your appreciation of the staff professionally and courtesy along with rooms clean and large.
I am in charge of managing the hotel from a few weeks and I feel sorry that nobody answered your review in the past.
I really hope to see you in the future.
Kind regards,
Luigi Pirrò

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Made a reservation for Double Classic for 2 nights. We arrived early and was pleased to be checked in early. The room was spacious, and clean. The window view from my room wasn't that great though.

Distance to Vatican is superb, 10 minutes away, and 5 minutes from Metro.

One thing I don't quite like is the staff service. You don't expect super service. To be fair, they do respond to your queries and help honestly when you approach them. It is just that they don't offer you help, make recommendation, or greet you when you leave or return.

I would also expect a 3 stars hotel to offer bottled drink in the bar fridge without charge. This is what I experienced in other Italy hotels. I was just told to refer to the charges in the hotel room when I enquired about if the bottled water is chargable.

The overall experience wasn't too bad I would say. It will a lot better if the staff can be more responsive and more friendly.

Room Tip: If you are travelling to Civitavecchia, like I did, may want to reconsider not taking the train from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toyshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffRome, Manager at Amalia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Client,
thank you for your review of Hotel Amalia Vaticano.
Thank you for putting in evidence the early check-in, the spacious rooms and the pleasant stay with us.
Looking forward to having you again with us I wish you the best for the future.
Kind regards,
Luigi Pirrò

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

very close to metro. walk to the vactican in 5 mins. even it's next to the train track, the windows were sealed great. If you are a healthy person, don't bother going for the breakfast. All they have were cakes and sweet pastries.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BubbleSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#286 of 1,271 in Rome
601 reviews
Prati
Le Suite di Via Ottaviano
Le Suite di Via Ottaviano
#660 of 1,271 in Rome
170 reviews
Prati
Hotel Silla
Hotel Silla
#553 of 1,271 in Rome
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Il Gattopardo Relais
Il Gattopardo Relais
#822 of 1,271 in Rome
109 reviews
Prati
Hotel Dei Consoli
Hotel Dei Consoli
#490 of 1,271 in Rome
800 reviews
Emmaus
#515 of 1,271 in Rome
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalia Hotel

Address: Via Germanico 66, 00192 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#302 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: ₹ 4,042 - ₹ 11,440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Amalia Vaticano, situated in a late 19th century "Palazzo" is only few steps from the Vatican, the Sistine Chapel an the metro station " Ottaviano S.Pietro. All rooms are equipped with private bathroom, LCD TV. Telephone, hair-dryer, safe, air-confitionig.Wifi free for Superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Amalia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing