We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location, clean hotel”
Review of Amalia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amalia Hotel
Ranked #457 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great location, clean hotel”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

very close to metro. walk to the vactican in 5 mins. even it's next to the train track, the windows were sealed great. If you are a healthy person, don't bother going for the breakfast. All they have were cakes and sweet pastries.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BubbleSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    189
    54
    25
    15
See reviews for
113
163
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed here recently on our anniversary trip to Italy. This hotel is a fantastic location. Just a few minutes walk from the Vatican. Close to good restaurants and lots of shopping. We even walked to the Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps from here.
The hotel is modest but seemed clean. The staff is friendly but not overly helpful. They'll answer questions but didn't seem to want to go out of their way.
Our room was small and very bare bones. The bed was not very comfortable but we were so exhausted it really didn't matter.
Breakfast was fine. Nothing special but definitely edible.
Overall we were satisfied with our stay. We knew we were staying at a budget hotel and were realistic with what we were going to get. I'm not sure I'd stay here again but I don't have regrets about staying here this time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warwicker08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We were booked at the Amalia Hotel by the USO office in Rome, so I had not done my usual research on accommodations. But we were quite happy with the hotel and I would stay there again without hesitation. We arrived very early on our first day (about 0900) and expected that we'd have to leave our bags and find something to do for 6 hours. However, the hotel had a room available and allowed us to get settled early. And they upgraded us without a charge, too, which was a very welcome surprise. We had a great room with a view of the dome of St Peter's Basilica, lots of space, and a gorgeous bathroom. We explored the area and found that there were many restaurants and gelato places nearby and St Peter's was a short walk away. (Side note: make sure you go to Old Bridge gelato every day. It's only about 2 blocks from the hotel and amazing!!!) Breakfast at the hotel is typical Italian fare - nothing like a German breakfast, but certainly enough to get a good start on the day. The hotel is only a block or so from a Metro station and within walking distance to many sights if you are in good shape and have a comfortable pair of shoes. (Side note: always buy water in a store in the morning and carry it along as it gets very hot and drinks near attractions can be ridiculously overpriced.) The hotel staff was always helpful and friendly and made phone calls for me to restaurants (to see if they were open) and to our airport shuttle driver when I booked the wrong day. We loved the hotel!

Room Tip: Ask to be up high so you can get a view of the dome of St Peter's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikMackMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffRome, Manager at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Client,
thank you for your such a detailed review of the Hotel Amalia!!
We are glad you also recognized the Hotel Amalia was booked through USO.
We have a great partnership with USO and USO travelers are particularly welcome to us.
Thank you for recommending Hotel Amalia Vaticano to other travelers and looking forward to having you again with us.
Kind regards,
Luigi Pirrò
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Amalia Hotel, located on via Germanico, meters from metro-bus service, vaticano, shops, resturants.
Hospitality was cordial and service was always good.
Being an early morning person, 05:00,continental breakfest was good, however, if you wake later it can seem to be disappointing. The staff presents the table setting very nicely, but later in the morning everyone is trying to enter a small room. They do there best, but too many people at the same time can make the service difficult.
I chose this Hotel from locating it on a past stay in Rome, was not disappointed with my choice.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJG49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffRome, Manager at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Client,
thank you for your kind review and for summarizing your experience as "Perfect Choice".
I apologize since nobody at the hotel answeared to your review in the past. I just took in charge the management of the hotel and it is my pleasure to express my thanks.
I do hope you will visit Rome again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Luigi Pirrò
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hmapton Roads
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We spent 4 nights at the hotel Amalia. At first, there was a discrepancy about the room - we had two adults and a child. We were told that no bed was available for the child - we would have to sleep everyone in a queen bed or everyone in 2 doubles. During that time, a queen and one double in a room became available for more money (20 extra Euro per night). But only for 3 of the nights. We took it. The room was spacious, clean, cool, with a great bathroom. The staff was great! Super withe my 7 year old son. Finally, the 3rd night came - we prepared to move to a 2 double bed and make due. Packing, we were told that they had arranged the reservations so that we could stay in our room. We were thrilled not to have to move!!!

One negative: The continental breakfast - served each day - does not have offer enough food. We got there at 9am on the first morning - to find everything but cold cereal gone! Finally, the attendant - who appears about every 30+ showed up with new pastries - only to have all the previous attendees at breakfast literally lunge at the table and take all the good pastries again!! Because there is not enough placed out on the table to begin with....there is this mad rush to get the available food. We felt that this could be avoided - and felt the need to - the next morning - to set our clocks and get up early....JUST to get a decent breakfast.

That said, we would gladly stay at the Amalia again. From the taxi driver arranged to pick us up....to the reception who gladly and happily took our bags for safe keeping...and arranged our room situation. Everyone was great!

And the television offers BBC news in English. And despite having to pay 5 Euro for each 3 hour session of WiFi....still worth it: Good speed. Good access.

So close to Vatican City, as described. SAFE and friendly neighborhood. Blocks from the Metro.

Hotel Amalia gets out vote. If we get the chance to return to Rome....we will definitely return to Amalia!

Room Tip: We stayed in the large rooms on the 4th room - they were doing some renovation - loud in the am...bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astrogidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#232 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Prati
Hotel Silla
Hotel Silla
#556 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Prati
Tango Hotel
Tango Hotel
#40 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Gerber
Hotel Gerber
#370 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Prati
Hotel Dei Consoli
Hotel Dei Consoli
#505 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Hearth Hotel
#96 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalia Hotel

Property: Amalia Hotel
Address: Via Germanico 66, 00192 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#302 Family Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,729 - ₹ 12,038
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Amalia Vaticano, situated in a late 19th century "Palazzo" is only few steps from the Vatican, the Sistine Chapel an the metro station " Ottaviano S.Pietro. All rooms are equipped with private bathroom, LCD TV. Telephone, hair-dryer, safe, air-confitionig.Wifi free for Superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Amalia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing