We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location Perfect Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Pace Helvezia
Ranked #398 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The winning factor in booking this hotel was the roof terrace. Of course we factored in price and location, but chose this over others beause of the terrace and the view it seemed to offer. It did not dissapoint. We stayed here in February when the sun was shining but the temperature did not please. It was especially cold at night, but a trip to the Spa (supermarket) and a blanket up on the terrace made for perfect nights looking over the city. There are views of St Peter's, The Colisseum and sunset from the roof.
The hotel is centrally located to walk to EVERYTHING! We never got a cab. The best way to see this city is on foot. We planned each day and did main things on different days. The nearest site was the Trevi fountain, which we probably saw every day on random walks. Vatican City was probably the furthest, but on a sunny day, it made for a nice walk. Probably took us 45 minutes to walk there. May have been a little more, but it was nice out so we didn't care. Stopped off on the way for a hot chocolate (be warned....Italians have no clue how to make a decent hot chocolate!)
Back to the hotel, breakfast was continental, but absolutely every option of continental breakfast was there. I have never seen such choice.
Rooms were in the style of old Italy - perfect for me, I like to get a feel of a place. The beds were amazingly comfy and the place was spotless clean. 4 of us stayed in 2 rooms and the rooms were different. One had a balcony, another didn't. One had carpet, the other had flooring. One was slightly smaller. But both were beautiful.
The one thing that I will say, is the same as others have said. The shower. It didn't have much hot water. I can't remember now how we worked it out. I think that if you had a shower at night, there was more water. But don't complain to the hotel. It isn't their fault and they won't or can't do anything about it.
We're going back next year. April this time to enjoy some nicer weather. And we miss the terrace!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 259 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

Located in the city center on walking distance to all major Roma top attractions you will enjoy this hotel . Discover also the panoramic terrace overlooking the historic city skyline. The room was very clean and silent on the hotels backside.Very friendly reception staff and free WiFi in the room. Close to the hotel there shops and several nice restaurants.

Room Tip: On reservation request a room on the backside and top floor rooms with private terrases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vercruysse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Our very first night ever in Italy: Pace Helvezia Hotel
It was wonderful! We threw open the windows and actually enjoyed the buzzing traffic.
We were in Roma!
We stayed only two nights prior to a cruise, but enjoyed it enough to return 2 years ago (Dec 2009) for a week to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday. The location is wonderful. Central to most of the city. We were able to walk everywhere.
We totally missed the roof top terrace the first time but were so glad we wandered up the 2nd visit. The views of the city are fantastico!

The hotel could use updating, not to really modernize, but just a refresh.
They say they offer internet but both times it was so slow I was hardly able to log on in 10 minutes. Maybe that has improved. It may be the main reason we decided to try someplace new for our upcoming return to Rome this Spring. (I maintain a couple of travel blogs.)

The breakfasts are fantastic, the rooms are fine, with private, in-suite baths.
Again, the location is perfect. I would consider staying here again.

(note: last visit was Dec 2009, so maybe the rooms and internet are updated now.)

Room Tip: Rooms on the street can be noisy. While we enjoyed "the sounds of Rome" if you are a light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank USANancyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Ideal location, however quite noisy. If you plan to sleep at all ask for a room in the back at reservation. Rooms are ok, old carpet, bathrooms appear recently renewed, the rest of the hotel would also benefit of a refresh!

Has free WiFi and mini-business facility.

Do not miss the roof terrace with a nice view of the Eternal City
!
Parking in a nearby facility at 30€/day, unrelated to the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the front - very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLS-ALS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

A wonderful find in Rome. Centrally located close to the Colisseum and Victor Emmanual plaza. Nice size rooms well appointed and quiet. Beware they have no parking facilities. It cost me 40 euros a night to park near by. I think they saw us coming. Excellent staff and a very good and assorted breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsob1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Cosmopolita Hotel
Cosmopolita Hotel
#313 of 1,269 in Rome
1,290 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Traiano
Hotel Traiano
#519 of 1,269 in Rome
541 reviews
Trevi
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
#260 of 1,269 in Rome
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel Piazza Venezia
Hotel Piazza Venezia
#362 of 1,269 in Rome
224 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Genio
Hotel Genio
#449 of 1,269 in Rome
722 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Sistina
Hotel Sistina
#678 of 1,269 in Rome
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pace Helvezia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pace Helvezia

Address: Via IV Novembre 104 | Piazza Venezia, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#216 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: ₹ 7,395 - ₹ 16,869 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pace Helvezia 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pace Helvetia is located in a sober and elegant building set in the heart of Rome, a short walk from Piazza Venezia, the Coliseum and the Quirinale. Hotel Pace Helvetia features a rooftop terrace overlooking the monument of Vittorio Emanuele and the ancient Trajan markets. A continental buffet breakfast is served in the morning, which can be enjoyed on the terrace on fine days. The spacious rooms are embellished with classical furniture, soft carpets and upholstery or elegant parquet, combined with modern comforts. All rooms have air conditioning and a TV. A few steps from the hotel, there are several buses to Termini Station, the Vatican and the charming Trastevere district, full of bars and cafés. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. The Piazza Venezia area - Trevi Fountain is a great choice for travelers interested in city walks, sightseeing tours and food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Pace Helvezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pace Helvezia Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing