We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Hotel ......but”
Review of Barberini Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barberini Hotel
Ranked #317 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Richboro, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice Hotel ......but”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

A charming hotel. Great location, very clean and modern rooms and just across the street from the Barberini Palace, a must see! Trevi fountain close by, a few blocks from the Spanish Steps and the Via Venito area, Metro close by as well and many good restaurants to choose from. Included is a Good breakfast served on the 6th floor with a beautiful View of Rome. Our only complaint was that it is very noisy even on the 5th floor and we were facing Via Rasella. It only really bothered us in the evening. Weather was warm and no AC was on and we tried to sleep with the window open to get some air but could not because the constant traffic that seems to flow through the wee hours along with the roar of scooters/motor cycles! We will take earplugs next time we go!

Room Tip: Room on 5th floor had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Responsabile reception at Barberini Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Customer,
thank you for your positive review! Besides the noisy night, it seems to us you've enjoyed staying at our hotel. Yes, sometimes Trevi's area can be very noisy.. Scooters are everywhere also because it is not possible to drive private car into the Center. Fortunatelly windows are soundproof. Some days there are even more noise than other days because Romans were celebrating the European Soccer Champs... Italy won over all the european teams and got second place behind Spain...Great party around the City all night long..Are you sure those nights were not one of this special nights? AC not working...weirdo...in fact an allarm sounds in the case of malfunction..AC works only with windows is closed.
We look forward to welcoming you in the near future, we look forward to celebrate your return with a bottle of spumante ! Best regards Mauro Laconi - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    265
    81
    32
    22
See reviews for
126
336
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Hotel Barberini was exactly what we were looking for in Rome. We knew the rooms in Europe wouldn't be as big as we were used to, but we still wanted something comfortable and in a prime location. That's exactly what Hotel Barberini offered. The room was small, but plenty of room for two adults. The bathroom was larger than I expected and included a nice, stand up shower. The hotel offered free wi-fi and free breakfast. The breakfast room is on the 6th floor and has fabulous views of the city. The best part, though, is that we walked to almost every major attraction (other than the Vatican). Also, the Hotel is right around the corner from Barberini Square, which has a taxicab stand, plenty of shops/restaurants, and a pharmacy. I couldn't have been happier with this choice.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Responsabile reception at Barberini Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your good review, I am happy to know that you have enjoyed our hospitality. You know, yesterday we opened a small (in proportion to the sizeof the hotel hi hi) business center: iPad and notebook available to customers with wifi printer machine! So customers can print the boarding pass or voucher for vatican tour, even connecting from personal smartphone .. and all free!
Hope to hearing from you soon and good summer!
Mauro Laconi -Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Stayed at this hotel in the fall of 2011. Had the misfortune of having a travel agent book my hotel room through email correspondence. The hotel provided a rate by email but when we checked in the rate was double that quoted. Hotel staff had taken the liberty of using the booking reservation system to enter the "higher" rate and use that as proof of the rate they charged. Of course when confronted they alluded to computer problems, the travel agent misunderstanding the rate, etc.

When looking at the dates and times of the emails and booking information after the fact, you could see how they conconcted their scam. Since we were in a rush to catch a train, we paid the fraudulent amount and would resolve through the credit card company. Eventually the credit card reimbursed but due to some banking rules between Italy and Canada could NOT retreive the money from the hotel. So the hotel managed to keep their scammed profit.

This was unfortunate as we spent 5 weeks in Italy and Greece and this was only the dishonest hotel we encountered. Everywhere else we stayed it was a pleasure.

Bottom line I would not believe ANYTHING this hotel tells you.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My wife and I recently spent five nights at the Barberini. This place is charming, having the look and feel of old Rome. The location is excellent - a short walk to the Spanish Steps, the Trevi Fountain, the Villa Borghese via the Via Veneto. And nearby Via Condotti and the upscale shopping.

Our room was spacious (for Roman standards, at least), clean, with a very comfortable king bed. The bathroom was well appointed and had a very powerful shower. Much needed before dinner after a long day in Rome.

The breakfast room on the top floor affords a wonderful view of the city. The food was very good ---- a combination European/American style with meats, breads, cereals, pastries and, of course, scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages --- OK they were weiners, but who cares? Breakfast was included in the room rate.

Ask for a room on the Via Rasella with a view of the Barberini Palace and its grounds. (We had room # 406. # 405 next door is larger but most likely costs more.)

We didn't get a chance to interact much with the staff. But, when we did, they were helpful.

I would recommend this hotel to friends, family and business associates. Look forward to returning to Rome. Will stay at the Barberini again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fmbosnowatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barberiniRome, Responsabile reception at Barberini Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Customers,
grazie mille ! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we trust you want to repeat your experience again at our hotel perhaps in the same double room 406 or junior suite 405 or even higher floor..
Greetings from the staff of the hotel !
Mauro Laconi, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This was a horrible place to stay - one tiny window that didn't really open out - I felt sick. It was dated and really needs updating. The reception desk were unhelpful when we checked in and really off hand like we were doing them a favour staying there. Only plus was you could walk to the main locations from here but I barely slept all night in the room.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharmalita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Stendhal
Hotel Stendhal
#131 of 1,261 in Rome
898 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Memphis
Hotel Memphis
#398 of 1,261 in Rome
460 reviews
Trevi
Hotel delle Nazioni
Hotel delle Nazioni
#251 of 1,261 in Rome
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Roma Resort Barberini
Roma Resort Barberini
#400 of 1,261 in Rome
230 reviews
Trevi
Sina Bernini Bristol
Sina Bernini Bristol
#304 of 1,261 in Rome
894 reviews
Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
#585 of 1,261 in Rome
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barberini Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barberini Hotel

Property: Barberini Hotel
Address: Via Rasella 3, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#181 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#305 Family Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,407 - ₹ 31,703
Hotel Class:4 star — Barberini Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barberini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barberini Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing