We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and price, some disapoitments”
Review of Hotel Diplomatic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Diplomatic
Ranked #224 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location and price, some disapoitments”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Well located, we could walk to most main attractions and the price was commpettative at around £90 for B&B. The front desk staff were excellent; friendly and efficient and sorted a room move out immediately and with good humor. We had the smallest room in the hotel, so small we couldn't pass each other round the bed without both squezing sideways. There was limited storage and the bathroom (actually nicely done) was cosey, not a problem for us but I bet a 'larger' guest could not physically get through the very narrow entrance to the shower! The main problem is the room is facing the street, which is busy, including bus stops near by and so having the window open during the night can be noisy. That might not matter normally as you would keep the window shut but this room is so small it is pretty airless and the air conditioning is switched off from 11pm until 8am - just when you need it. It made this room unbearable at night, either too hot or too noisy. We moved to a larger room at the back, no view but larger and no street. If you have the window open you will hear the large central aircon units running in the courtyard below, but the'r not going to disturb you at night as they are off!

Breakfast was a disappointment -on one occasion it was definitely instant coffee (in Italy - how could they!) tinned fruit salad and so on. Getting the attention of staff could also be a problem, but possibly lack of English made some staff reluctant to engage. I'd say, unless you have children and don't want the hassel etc, take breakfast in a local cafe' where quality matters.
It's a nice hotel and we'd recommend it, just keep in mind the points above.

Taxi tip... On arrival our taxi from the station was metered, but when paying, the driver claimed luggage was 'an extra euro per item'. It's rubbish and was his way to ensure he got his tip. We paid, as being in holiday mood we just didn't feel like having a stand up argument in the street and didn't have correct change etc. Unnessussary agro really as he'd have got a tip.

Room Tip: Big room at back of hotel best, unless they decide to run the air on at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian_and_Julie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Client,
Let us start by thanking you for leaving a review. We are sorry you experienced inconveniences during your stay. It is our primary care to ensure our guests maximum comfort, despite this, we admit that in our Hotel, some of our classic rooms are smaller compared to other, but certainly comfortable for one or two people. We are pleased that the staff have been able to satisfy your needs changing your room to a larger room type and without the traffic noise from down below.
We want to thank for your positive comments about our location and the efficiency of our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel Diplomatic
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    430
    113
    22
    13
See reviews for
137
379
27
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2012

This hotel was central to all major tourist sights and monuments, we walked everywhere from the hotel, and within walking distance to many good quality restaurants. The staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke English well, which was great. Overall, this was a great hotel and we would definitely recommend it to those who are in Italy to see all the sights and experience the culture.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review on TripAdvisor and for your positive comments about your stay. We are happy that you enjoyed your time in Rome and we are very pleased to read that you appreciated our hotel, the location and the courtesy and the professionality of our staff.
Looking forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Diplomatic.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We booked this hotel for 5 days and it was a good choice. The hotel is in a safe area, close to the inner city and vatican. The breakfast did not have eggs, but enough choice of luxury bread etc. We had a room away from the street, and did not hear any traffic at nighttime. The hotel is clean, rooms are not too small (you're in Roma), the bed is hard but comfortable. There is an aircon in the room, minibar with acceptable prizes (beer, juice etc 3 euro).

The personnel is very helpful and friendly. Makes you feel at home here. There is a bus stop in front of the hotel. And if you visit this hotel, just around the corner is a small pizzeria with seats outside. Very nice food, low prices. You have to be patient sometimes, but who cares :-) It is called pizzeria Roma .. go there !

Negative remarks :
- No hotel bar (just go to the pizzeria).
- The door and walls must be thin, when other visitors walk along you can hear everything

Worth coming back ?? Yes For Sure !

(hotel taxi from airport to hotel 65 euro and hotel back to airport 45 euro)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainDistraction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Responsabile reception at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
Dear guest, thank you very much for your nice review, we are happy reading so positive opinion about our hotel and staff. Your satisfaction is the most important thing for us.
We look forward to welcoming you again in our beautiful city.
Danilo Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel 3 nights from 11 June till 16 June. check in and check out very fast . location is good .the bus station is just in front of hotel. many restaurants and coffee shops are close the hotel. rooms are clean whit safety box and air condition. about average 15 to 20 minutes, you can walk to many historical places, for example pizza polo. Spanish steps ,Vatican city and other part. the best thing about this hotel is friendly staff specially MR Danilo , who is very kind,responsible, helpful and patient he always has smile and ready to help and he is a really Gentleman.he guide me very well about city and take a taxi for me to airport and getting a copy of my voucher hotel in Vienna ,so i should thank him very munch .breakfast is a bit limited and it can be better but it was good.i recommend this 3 star hotel for every one..

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amir j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile reception at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Client,
I'm very pleased reading you review, thank you very much for your apreciation. It is a very important incentive for us in order to do our job always better.
Your satisfaction and your comfort is our target. We hope to welcome you again at the Diplomatic hotel.
Best regards
Danilo - Front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Following my Part 1 review:
The other place I stayed in Rome was hotel Diplomatic – walking distance to the Vatican: 15min; 10min to the shopping strip via Corrso. Very centrally located and you can see most of the touristic sites within a day. The price was on Thursday 119 Euro and on Friday 139 Euro (tax not included). The room was very small; there was only 1 large size towel in the bathroom, breakfast was minimal. The door lock was not working properly so every time I needed to go back to my room I had to wait for the bell boy to open the door for me. I stayed there for 2 nights – I won’t recommend more than 1 night at that place. My rating for this hotel: 2 stars (1.5 for the hotel + 0.5 for the location)
______________________________________
TIP
If you are going to Rome for the first time and need a taxi – beware of taxi drivers (legitimate and non-legitimate) RIP-OFF!!! I took a cab from Termini, which is the train station in the center of the city, to the hotel Diplomatic. I was told by my Italian counterpart that it should cost around 10 to 15 Euro, depending on traffic. The cab driver didn’t set the counter, and when we arrived, he said that there is a fixed price of 38 Euro. He didn’t speak English and I don’t speak Italian. After a heated conversation with a lot of gesticulations, he agreed to take 20 Euro.
Another cab driver told me that two Japanese tourists were charged 500 Euro from the airport to their hotel. However, the cab driver was later arrested and his permit was suspended.

The only fixed price for a taxi is from the airport to center Rome. It is around 60-70 Euro. AND here is the place to tell you that at the airport I met the nicest guy who offers a lot for very reasonable price. His name is Davide Mirabella. He has an airport permit and was inside the Arrivals area, at the luggage belt. He asked if people are interested in transportation to center Rome. He has a small shuttle seating 7 people. His price is 15 - 20 Euro. He drives you to the hotel and when you need to go back to the airport, you contact him the day before, and he comes, picks you up and drops you at the terminal. He speaks French and English (and some other languages). He was in the hotel industry for over 40 years and knows all the hotels in Rome. He runs with his wife this service business. He told me that next time if I need a place, they rent a small condo where you can have a home-made breakfast and upon request, other meals. He also organizes small groups to visit the Vatican - the 16th Chapel, where you skip the 4.5 hour of waiting line (the Q)! He also offers 3-hour sign seeing tours during the day and at night. You can reach Davide at +39 335 68 90 169; mirabella.50@gmail.com;

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marisarali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Responsabile reception at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
Dear guest, your opinion is always important for us to improve our service and we thank you for it. Concerning your review we are sorry for the inconvenient you had during your stay, but we always suggest to speak to the front desk for any problem. Many people request towels, pillows, soap and so on and we never say no. We are also very flexible to change the room if our guests don't fell confortable for any reason, especially in case something doesn't work properly like the door lock.
Best regards
Danilo Front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Sant'Angelo
Hotel Sant'Angelo
#338 of 1,257 in Rome
886 reviews
Prati
Hotel Giulio Cesare
Hotel Giulio Cesare
#215 of 1,257 in Rome
992 reviews
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#252 of 1,257 in Rome
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Relais dei Papi
Hotel Relais dei Papi
#218 of 1,257 in Rome
626 reviews
Prati
Twentyone Hotel
Twentyone Hotel
#200 of 1,257 in Rome
1,574 reviews
Prati
Hotel Dei Mellini
Hotel Dei Mellini
#63 of 1,257 in Rome
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diplomatic? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomatic

Property: Hotel Diplomatic
Address: Via Vittoria Colonna 28, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#234 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#307 Family Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,858 - ₹ 15,387
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diplomatic 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Diplomatic. A truly memorable holiday.With its gold and marble decor and high ceilings, in the Italian late 19th century style called Umbertino, the Hotel Diplomatic is considered a "classic" Roman hotel, thanks to its timeless elegance. The hotel is appreciated by both business and leisure guests, especially for its strategic location, between the world famous Vatican Museums and the fascinating boutiques in the environs of the Spanish Steps. A prestigious venue, it has been completely refurbished and offers 45 comfortable, spacious and airy rooms, equipped with top level amenities. The large patio on the first floor is truly unique, for relaxing and enjoying a huge array of tasty specialties at breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Fastbooking and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diplomatic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomatic Hotel Rome
Hotel Diplomatic Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing