We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,507)
Filter reviews
2,507 results
Traveller rating
1,598
637
183
58
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,598
637
183
58
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvia venetospanish stepsrooftop restaurantvilla borghesela terrasseluxury roomtop floortrevi fountainbeautiful hotelquiet streetour honeymoonst peterslocation is excellentvatican citypastriesconciergedoorman
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 2,507 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Hotel is outstanding. Staff very welcoming, Paula i/c breakfast, the sommelier in the restaurant and the receptionists were particularly helpful. Very attractive roof-top restaurant and terrace with view of St Peters. Very good restaurant, but quite expensive. Good location. Short walk from Via Vittorio Veneto and Borghese Gardens.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to look out onto a quiet street
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Rome, Direttore at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this complimenting feedback!

I am most pleased to hear that you have had an overall enjoyable experience at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Thank you for pointing out the 'very welcoming' staff, the 'very attractive' rooftop, as well as the good location. Obviously, I will share your lovely comment with Paola, our Sommelier and our receptionists.

We do our utmost to enchant our guests and I am glad to hear that we have achieved our aim!

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in near future.

Best regards.

Edoardo Giuntoli
General Manager
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

This was my third visit to the Sofitel and it was such a nice stay for Rome. The location is superb and only about a 5-10 minute walk to the Spanish Steps. The room was luxurious and the amenities were also top-notch, in addition to having an attentive staff. However, anyone who stays here also needs to visit the roof terrace for a sunset drink or dinner since that view always brings me back to this hotel. I will be back again next year!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 974julief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Rome, Direttore at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Guest,

We are most glad to hear that you have enjoyed very much your third stay with us.

Thank you so much for your loyalty and for pointing out the 'superb' location, the 'luxurious' room, the 'attentive' staff as well as the view from the rooftop.

Your satisfaction is our best reward!

We then look forward to welcoming you next year for another 'charming' experience.

A très bientot! Yours Sincerely.

Edoardo Giuntoli
General Manager
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed there for 3 nights a couple of weeks ago. The hotels in a great location, the roof top bar was amazing but the room was tiny and we were very disappointed. We’ve stayed in Sofitel’s all over the world and they’ve all been very nice, but wouldn’t stay there again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank wellsey60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Rome, Direttore at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments as every guest impression is valuable.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the 'great' location as well as the 'amazing' rooftop.

We are so sorry however to hear that you were disappointed by the size of your room. Our hotel is indeed a 19th century palace and therefore the main characteristic is that all rooms are different in size.

Rest assured that we do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get.

Overall we hope you could keep a nice memory of your stay in Rome and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.

Yours Sincerely.

Edoardo Giuntoli
General Manager
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We loved this hotel. After the overnight flight, it was the perfect spot to relax in the middle of Rome, Our location was excellent to walk to see all the sights.
The hotel has a lovely rooftop bar with stellar views.
Also the staff attended to all our needs, tours and even shipping my iPad back to the states !

Room Tip: We had a balcony and a lovely tub with a window that opened
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia West H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Rome, Direttore at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Guest,

We are most glad to hear that you have had a ‘lovely’ experience at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Thank you so much for your kind praise for our hotel, location and service.

Our daily main aim is to make our guests happy and we genuinely put a lot into it to provide the highest standard of services.

Thank you so much for staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you in your 'perfect Roman refuge'.

Sincerely,

Edoardo Giuntoli
General Manager
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

We chose the Sofitel based on its location and its reviews. We were very disappointed. We ended up in a tiny room - barely large enough to walk around the bed and impossible to set up a suitcase. And the price was not tiny.

It was a “classic” room. The wall was badly damaged. We went to the front desk to switch rooms. The only other room available in the hotel was one the same size one floor above. As we had no other choice, we took it. Once there we found that the bathroom door wouldn’t shut.

I’ve stayed in tiny rooms in big cities before. This is perhaps the smallest yet. But what made the situation worse was the condition of the rooms - one with a badly damaged wall and the other with a broken bathroom door.

I was very disappointed and will choose a different hotel the next time I return to Rome.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 3knght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Rome, Direttore at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments as every guest impression is valuable.

We are sorry to hear your deep disappointment with regards to your room experience; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.
Our hotel is indeed a 19th century palace and therefore the main characteristic is that all rooms are different in size.

We carry a preventive maintenance program in order to maintain the highest standards in our property, it seems that your room was not yet looked after.

Rest assured that we do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get to improve our service.

If you would like to discuss your experience with me, please send an email to h1312-dm@sofitel.com so I may address it with you directly.

We deeply apologize once again for any inconvenience caused and we truly hope we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Edoardo Giuntoli
General Manager
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews