We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Friendly and functional” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amalfi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amalfi Hotel
Ranked #98 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly and functional”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

The staff we're really friendy and happy to help. Connecting to the free wifi was straightforward as long as your device keeps the signon information so you don't have to re-enter it all every time you connect. Emilio recommended the sights we needed to visit and was spot on. He also told us about a restaurant round the corner and it proved to be a little gem. Our rooom faced the street and it was noisy. However, with the windows closed and the air-con working it wasn't a problem. Breakfast was 'continental' and always a pleasant start to the day. It does get busy at certain times but it wasn't an issue for us. The location was perfect, close enough to the sights without the premium price and with the train and bus station a few minutes walk away, we saved a few pounds by getting the Terravision coach in and out from the airport and took buses to some of the more far flung places like the Vatican. A great base for sightseeng,

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mick51773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for your nice review!

We're really glad you had a nice stay with us.

We hope to host you again in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    336
    67
    16
    3
See reviews for
156
447
68
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights. Location is brilliant. A few minutes away from termini. 10 minute walk to Colluseum, 15 minute walk to Trevi fountain, 20 minutes to pantheon in one direction or travestere in another, 30 minute walk to Vatican.
Breakfast was everything I expected of a continental breakfast- cereal, fruit salad, fresh fruit, juices, cereal, croissant and yogurts. Unsure why people here didn't like it. We couldn't fault it.
The staff were great. Very attentive and helpful. Take the map in the lobby- it's the best one we found. And use the restaurant round the corner that is recommended- best pizza we had with cheap wine.
We had booked the economy room. So between that and reading these reviews I was prepared for it to be small. But was extremely clean. The shower was good and powerful. Had an easy to use safe. I'm glad we took our little laptop with some programmes loaded on as the only English speaking channels on the tv were BBC world news and CNN news. The only fault I could have was there were times I was gasping for a cup of tea in the evenings and there was no kettle in the room. But looking at their face book page I believe that is soon changing.
All in all a great hotel for holidays. I would def stay here again!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank puddleduck16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed at the Amalfi Hotel for 5 days in April 2012. Very friendly staff, very nice lady housekeeping staff who are helpful & attend to the morning breakfast & are pleasant & friendly. Breakfast is a variety of cold selections, cereal, juice, pastries, cheeses, salami, ham slices, yogurt, fresh fruit & coffee. Great location to Termini Station. Can walk to the Trevi Fountain in 15 minutes, Colosseum in 10 minutes. Day or half day bus tours can be arranged by the staff. There was a problem with the wifi which the staff fixed promptly. Wifi is free. Safe location, restaurants right at the front door. Self serve laundry facilities near by. Great value for a 3 star hotel. I had a single room with a single bed, which was very affordable, but I am used to a larger bed. I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chester38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thankyou very much for reviewing us!

We have also single rooms with larger beds, just send us an email next time and we will reserve for you!

We hope to see you in the future in our Hotel.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

The hotel is placed in a great location which is ideally for sightseeing, while it is walking distance from the central train station. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are not quite spacious, but this is not a problem as most of the hotels in Rome have small rooms. The breakfast is of low quality as there isn't great variety and most of breakfast goods are not freshly made. However, this hotel is value for money and is recommended for short stay holidays in Rome.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VforVicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Dear guest,

We thank you for reviewing us.

We're happy that you liked the Hotel and our Staff.

We hope to host you again the future!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Firstly I was sceptical at staying in a small hotel near a railway station, however I have been enlightened to discover the warmth and geniality of the owners Cosimo (senior) his son Francesco together with the staff of this small very well run family hotel. Nothing was too much trouble. we stayed in a triple room with a balcony ( the only one) overlooking the Street. Traffic noise was minimal if you kept the windows closed. All areas were very clean and rooms cleaned daily with fresh towels if needed.
The only downside was the bathroom which was small could be made bigger if the bidet was removed otherwise adequate.
Breakfast was continental, as much as you wanted and fresh, and could not be faulted.

This Hotel is situated were everything is nearby and the metro is only a few minutes walk away. with restaurants and a supermarket close by. All major bus tour ( pickup point ) just around the corner and one can be booked at the hotel (very worthwhile) hop on and off all day..but can get busy so book early.
Our trip was marred by the fact I was pick pocketed at the Trevi Fountain lost my wallet..my own fault really dropped my guard during all the excitement of the ROME MARATHON there are obviously gangs operating in this area and I do not thing the authorities are doing enough to combat this however, in my hour of need The hotel helped me to contact card providers to cancel my cards.
All in all very we had a very nice time..complimented by our stay at this Hotel most definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3Harald3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Guest,

We wish to thankyou for your kind review.

We're happy you had a nice stay at the Amalfi Hotel (except the problem of the wallet :( .. ).

We hope to see you again in Roma!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#73 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#75 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#112 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#99 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#81 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#77 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalfi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalfi Hotel

Property: Amalfi Hotel
Address: Via Merulana 278, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,991 - ₹ 13,978
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalfi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a historic building just few minutes walking from the Colosseum and with views of the Basilica and piazza Santa Maria Maggiore, Hotel Amalfi is a familiar, charming 3-star hotel in the historic center of Rome that welcomes its guests with all the care and attention that a small hotel can provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ostrovok so you can book your Amalfi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing