We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“nice hotel for short stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amalfi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amalfi Hotel
Ranked #99 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
co londonderry
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“nice hotel for short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Location is great near lots of restaurants and train station. Staff friendly at front desk and in breakfast room. Small rooms but adequate for short stays. Pillows very hard and uncomfortable. I would give this rating based on a budget hotel, great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baileysandcream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thankyou very much for reviewing us!

We will take in consideration your opinion about the pillows.

We hope to see you in the future in our Hotel.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    331
    66
    16
    3
See reviews for
148
438
65
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel from the 24th Feb - 28th Feb. We booked through Citalia. The hotel exceeded are expecations for a 3 star hotel. The hotel was very clean, the staff were very friendly and hotel is in a ideal location. On arrival, we were greeted by Emilio who gave us lots of information and recommended a nearby restaurant. For the first night we didnt want to venture out too far so the restaurant which is called Nipotina del Solitario was perfect as it is a 3 min walk way. The food was very good and very well priced.
Back to the hotel, our room was excellent - very spacious and clean. Our room number was 209 which was excellent as we had a view of Via Merulana so we could see Santa Maria Maggiore. At breakfast we were welcomed by Natasha (or Natalia) who was very friendly. She was out to please and made sure you had everything you wanted at breakfast. You could help yourselves to Cereal, juices, pastries, bread, jams and yoghurts. I have no complaints about the breakfast however i think the choice of things on offer could be extended.
I will recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Rome - one of the main reasons being the staff and their service.

Room Tip: request room number 209 if you would like a view on to Via Merulana. If you open the window it can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenCamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We're really glad that you appreciated our Hotel and our Staff.

We hope to host you again in the future!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Nice hotel, great location near termini station, close to lots of famous sites, friendly staff, free wifi. Just breakie needs to improve a bit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Proprietario at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for sharing your thought with TripAdvisor Users.

We 're happy you had a nice stay with us.

We're planning something new to improve our breakfast following your suggestions.

If you have idea or suggestion please let me know in my person email : hotelamalfi.nig@libero.it

See you next time in Rome!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Returned from a stay here today. Very clean hotel, friendly and helpful staff (especially the lovely lady at breakfast!) and conveniently situated near Stazione Termini for the Leonardo Da Vinci express from Aeroporto Fiumicino. 10 mins walk from the Colosseum. Our room was small but pleasant. My only gripe - for a big lad (6 foot 5 inches) the beds were very small and I never got a full nights sleep. That aside, a lovely place to stay - recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thankyou very much for your lovely review!

We're very happy you had a nice stay in Rome with us.

See you next time.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed at the Amalfi Hotel in July '11 for four nights after reading great things about it on tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. When we arrived, we were greeted at the front desk and given loads of information to help us navigate the city. We were also given a great restaurant recommendation that was just down the street as it was late and we were starving. The room was good, small, but standard for Europe. Bathroom was good sized, bigger than what we had in our previous two European hotels. The room was a little musty, but not too bad. It was very hot out, so we did have the air conditioner cranked up. My one issue with the room was that the shower only had a hand-held nozzle and a shower curtain instead of a shower door, and it was difficult to manuever without spraying the water towards the back wall. It took a few times, and we could tell we weren't the only ones to have trouble. This was not a huge deal to us, though.
The breakfast was included on the price of our room, and it did not disappoint. It was continental style with cereal, pastries, coffee, tea, juice, etc. We were very happy to be able to enjoy this each morning. The staff in the breakfast room was also very helpful and friendly.
The hotel was in a pretty good location for us. It was within walking distance to Termini station, but also within walking distance to many of the sights. We walked almost everywhere.
On our last day, our flight was later so we were able to keep our luggage at the hotel while we were out. The staff also arranged for airport transport for us, which picked us up at the door. We were able to utilize the lounge area while waiting for this, as well, and they have a very nice, good sized bathroom that we could change and freshen up in after our day out before leaving for the airport.
Overall, we highly recommend the Amalfi Hotel. If we ever return to Rome, we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alissa2128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thankyou very much for your nice words!

We're really happy that you enjoy your stay with us.

We'will keep in mind your suggestion about the shower curtains.

I would like only to stress what was happened for that little musty you told:

This summer was broken a pipe in one bathroom of the last floor and the water went down.
We repaired it immediately but the wall of same rooms had the sign of water and we couldn't repainted for same days. So that was not mold but was water from an emergency situation but we fix as fast as we could.

We do hope to see you in our Hotel very soon!!!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#111 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#73 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,316 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#67 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#100 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#90 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#76 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalfi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalfi Hotel

Property: Amalfi Hotel
Address: Via Merulana 278, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,457 - ₹ 13,460
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalfi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a historic building just few minutes walking from the Colosseum and with views of the Basilica and piazza Santa Maria Maggiore, Hotel Amalfi is a familiar, charming 3-star hotel in the historic center of Rome that welcomes its guests with all the care and attention that a small hotel can provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Amalfi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing