We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing. Great location for site seeing.”
Review of Hotel Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Savoy
Ranked #165 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing. Great location for site seeing.”
Reviewed 24 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here from 16-23 Sept 2011. It was our first visit to Rome. Location very good and easy to get around Rome. It was our Silver Wedding on the 19 Sept and we were so looking forward to our stay. How disappointed we were in our room. Small and very dark. It faced the front of the hotel on the 1st floor but was on the corner with no view. We were led to believe that the room would be much larger. The room safe did not work. When I mentioned all this to the hotel reception, regarding the size, all I got was a shrug of the shoulders and told that was what was allocated and nothing could be done. I was told the room safe would be attended to that day. There were plenty people around asking questions, checking in etc,so maybe the gentleman was having a bad day.Needless to say when we left a week later the safe had not been repaired. Considering this is part of what we paid for it could be argued that the hotel did not fulfil its obligation. No mention was made of our anniversary, in spite of email&cards delivered to our room, which I would have expected as part of customer service. I would have thought a 4 star hotel would have been more friendly but then again maybe the idea was to be efficient rather than friendly but it wasn't even that. What a difference when we moved on to Florence to the Alba. Smiling, friendly staff, welcoming and so helpful. A bottle of wine and local sweets, with an anniversay congratulations note, in our room on arrival. We'll go back there but not to the Savoy in Rome. The hotel looked good from the outside and had an amazing reception. A great pity our stay did not live up to this.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JAB39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    521
    210
    54
    32
See reviews for
255
598
37
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Savoy is a synonym for excessive glitz and glamour, however the Rome's Savoy is rather quiet and understated. The reception area could be less business-like and more opulent- Lobby needs to be flung open and look inviting with a touch of the Savoy opulence. The staff were very friendly and professional. Located in the smartest part of Rome, it has a stunning view of the city from the roof top cafe- very Italian. The rooms could be slightly bigger but the bathrooms were good. Excellent value for money and I have no complaints about the hotel and would certainly go back!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATOJACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savoy_Manager, Direttore generale at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, 11 January 2015
Dear Guest 5

Thank you for your review.

It is fantastic to read that you had a wonderful stay at the Hotel and found the staff to be courteous and helpful. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, which serves as a great motivator to my team. It shows them that their passion and efforts to provide exceptional service are appreciated by those who receive it.

Warmest regards

Roberto Necci
General Manager
Hotel Savoy Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristow, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

The room was very comfortable, but did not offer much in the way of a view. Other than no view, this hotel was terrific. The location was on a quiet street in the NE portion of the tourist area. Tour buses picked up and let off right in front of the hotel. Staff was very helpful in helping us map out activities.
The breakfast that is included is pretty good, but you are forced to eat in a windowless dungeon in the basement. Meanwhile, a beautiful roof-top restaurant sits empty until they open at 4pm. The roof-top bar provides the only thing in the way of a view. It was a great place to have a drink at night.
Staying at Hotel Savoy was very nice, but if I went back I would probably be interested to see what a different hotel had to offer. But if you're heading to Rome for the first time, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savoy_Manager, Direttore generale at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, 11 January 2015
Dear Guest 5

Thank you for your review.

It is fantastic to read that you had a wonderful stay at the Hotel and found the staff to be courteous and helpful. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, which serves as a great motivator to my team. It shows them that their passion and efforts to provide exceptional service are appreciated by those who receive it.

Warmest regards

Roberto Necci
General Manager
Hotel Savoy Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campeche, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Twelve days ago, I was stay in Rome. It´s my first time in this city. I was spend three fantastic days because one friend was recommend me this hotel. The location is fantastic, it´s very close to everything. Besides, if you like the traditional architecture of Roma, this hotel, it´s the best place to stay because the furniture, the rooms, the lobby, the bar and restaurants, it´s really amazing. But, the first thing because I will return it´s the fantastic attention of the people are working in the hotel. The people it´s very friendly and very profesional. I am mexican, i know about that. The relation of the price vs room it´s excellent. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JuanBe1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savoy_Manager, Direttore generale at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, 11 January 2015
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

It is fantastic to read that you had a wonderful stay at the Hotel and found the staff to be courteous and helpful. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, which serves as a great motivator to my team. It shows them that their passion and efforts to provide exceptional service are appreciated by those who receive it.

Warmest regards

Roberto Necci
General Manager
Hotel Savoy Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Great location and grand appearance (especially in the lobby), but
-dirty walls, carpets, curtains
- very small rooms and beds
- no proper bed sheets
- breakfast is a limited choice of fresh products
- non smoking room has been requested but not provided
Please avoid taking rooms on the 6th floor, these are another notch lower than the rooms on other floors !

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AngkorGems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
#275 of 1,259 in Rome
926 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#43 of 1,259 in Rome
2,334 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,259 in Rome
2,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#126 of 1,259 in Rome
925 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,259 in Rome
6,684 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Degli Artisti
Hotel Degli Artisti
#23 of 1,259 in Rome
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy

Property: Hotel Savoy
Address: Via Ludovisi 15, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#195 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#262 Family Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,287 - ₹ 25,927
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Savoy is a traditional, historical hotel with elegant decors and modern facilities with a superb location, just off legendary Via Veneto in the heart of town, a few minutes walk to the Spanish Steps, the Borghese Gardens and Gallery and the most famous Italian Fashion shopping district, at walking distance to Fontana di Trevi . Each of the 124 guestrooms are classical in style and extremely comfortable, with a/c, hairdryer, safe and free wifi. The hotel has a Bar, a pc corner with printing facilities and a neighborhood with plenty of restaurants theaters and shops. There are 4 meeting rooms to accommodate up to 120 people for conventions meetings banquets exhibits; audiovisual equipment available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing