We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and service”
Review of Hotel De Monti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel De Monti
Ranked #88 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel and service”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The service at Hotel de Monti is superb. Mauro checked-in my husband and I. His service was great. He was very helpful in explaining about parking our automobile in the neighbourhood. He also provided us with a tourist map of Rome and outlined several destinations close by the we could visit by foot and in a short time. He gave us tips on saving time: for example, by tickets for the colloseum - we saved 2-3hours of waiting in line to buy tickets by purchasing tickets elsewhere (almost instantly as there was only one person ahead of us in line). He also suggested two restaurants for lunch and dinner that were impeccable.

The breakfast is nice and there is a fair bit of choice.

Since my husband and I were on our honeymooon, Hotel de Monti also treated us with a bottle of prosecco.

The room and bathroom were smaller, but for Rome standards this is fine and we didn't expect anything different. The bed was comfortable and the air-conditioning worked well.

We would visit this hotel again and commend their services.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    172
    33
    7
    1
See reviews for
49
469
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

This hotel is great! I was a little nervous staying at a hotel solely based on this site and the reviews but everything was right! Alessandro and Mauro were so friendly and helpful and all of their tips from visiting the sites to where you should have dinner were spot on! We even went back to one of the restaurants twice because it was so good! Breakfast was always on time and the room was always clean...and you can't beat free WiFi! It was also at a great location in the middle of everything! My husband and I would definitely stay there again and we probably will when we are on our way home!

Helpful?
1 Thank brandyce
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We had looked at various hotels before deciding on this one but after reading all the positive reviews felt we would not be disappointed with this as our base for our city break so went ahead and booked and were more than happy with our choice.
We checked in around 2pm and were shown to our room which was no 32, I had previously requested a quiet room away from any noise and preferably at the end of the corridor (this request was done through booking.com but I don't think it was passed on to the hotel) what we were given was the room closest to the main exit door of the corridor, the room was basic, clean and comfortable. There was a tv but as it had no British channels was of no real use to us when we were resting between sightseeeing, just thought it was worth mentioning.
We arrived on a Sunday and thought we would rest a bit before going out, there was a lot of noise from the upstairs floor, don't know if it was a family with a young child but lots of running around, banging, and what sounded like jumping on a bed!
On checking in we were given breakfast cards to fill in and were told we could have as many of each item as we liked, just to tick the box and put the required quantity next to it.
Breakfast was available from 7.30am to 10.00am (or may have been 10.30am) delivered to your room. Everything was locally sourced and we were more than happy with the quality of the products, we felt that the hot drinks were not hot enough for us but that was taken care of efficiently when we asked for them to be made hotter, breakfast for us consisted of yogurt, apple mash, jam, toast, crossiants, granny's biscuits, cheese, ham and fresh orange juice (blood oranges) and a selection off lattes/cappucino/hot chocolate, like I said, more than sufficient to start your day.
The bathroom was a good size, though not much room for a guy to turn around in the shower, shampoo and soap supplied, good fast hairdryer. Towels not always changed even though left in the shower were just hung up to dry.
The location of the hotel was great, we arrived at Termini station after getting the Terravision bus from Fiumicino airport which was great value at 8 euros each return, certainly much cheaper than a taxi. The hotel was about a 10 minute walk and we had no difficulty finding it as we had googled it beforehand as so many people seemed to have had difficulty finding it, we took our Tom Tom with us and it was a great way to navigate around the city.
We done all the usual things to do when in Rome, but we also like a bit more unusual things thing to do and see, we would recommend the Cappucinin crypt, which was macabre but interesting, the museum of criminology, out the way a bit but worth seeing and great value at 2 euros each, again it was a bit gruesome but very interesting, would have been better if the explanations were duplicated in English, some were but not all of them, you could pretty much interpret what they meant though!
We also visited the cat sanctuary out there, it is on the site where Julius Caesar was murdered, as animal lovers we wanted to visit this wonderful place which is a charitable organisation which looks after more than 250 cats, it was both a happy and a sad sight to behold, we went inside for a visit and to find out more about their work, we left a donation of 20 euros and wished it could have been more, it is such a worthy cause and I would urge all animal lovers to visit as it is such a worthwhile cause and these people should be commeded for their committment to these poor abandoned cats, you can google for more information.
Overall, we had a very interesting visit to Rome, the welcome and service at the hotel was fabulous, if it sound like I have been critical them apologies, I only say as we have experienced and by marking this as a 5 is the best rating we could give.
There is so much to do and see in Rome apart from all the usual attractions, just be more receptive to new experiences, enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room furthest from reception so you don't have people going past your door at night, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blanche&DaveMcColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

When planning our trip to Rome we wanted to stay in an old building in the perfect location.
After reading lots of reviews we booked Hotel de Monti. We were not dissapointed.
From the moment we arrived we were made very welcome by Mauro.
The hotel, a little difficult to find at first (could do with a bigger sign!!) is close to all major sites including the Vatican. Our room was adequate, bright, quiet and very clean.The room also had a good sized bathroom suite. Good breakfast and always on time. Great capuccino.
Mauro's advise on when to visit the Vatican and Colliseum was perfect, we entered both sites
without queuing!!, also good restaurant advice.
Thank you Mauro and Alessandro for making our stay special.
We totally recomend Hotel de Monti and we'll be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gloria w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

The hotel was a great find on tripadvisor! The owner was especially nice to give us his recommendations of good and cheap food around the area. He also took extra effort to make sure we made the most of our time in Rome. He also made us feel very comfortable during our stay. WIFI was very fast too! I will definitely visit there again if I head to Rome.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seumas Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Hi guys! Thank you so much for this wonderful review!

It has been a pleasure to have you here and we are happy to know you enjoyed our service and the good food of the Monti district, that is one of the oldest and characteristic in Rome.

You know that our most important focus is to let you live Rome as it has to be, finding as well all the secret places not written in the maps.

We invite you to come back as soon as possible, Rome has to be completely discovered yet!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#96 of 1,261 in Rome
284 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#143 of 1,261 in Rome
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#113 of 1,261 in Rome
1,099 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#82 of 1,261 in Rome
2,465 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#100 of 1,261 in Rome
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Monti? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Monti

Property: Hotel De Monti
Address: Via Panisperna 95, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,448 - ₹ 10,931
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Monti 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel in the heart of Rome, De Monti offers you 7 double rooms at the third floor of a 1500 building. Central location, clean rooms, where we will also serve you breakfast every day, and all the insider tips you can get the reception. The building has no lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel De Monti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing