We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location and service”
Review of Hotel De Monti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel De Monti
Ranked #95 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2012

If I could upgrade my review from 5 to 5+- I would.
What we liked the most: service! Mauro and Allesandro are outstanding in welcoming visitors, providing the advice and offering what I would call “a concierge service”: reservations in restaurant, itineraries for walking around, taxi, etc.

A little intro: initially, I booked a room at The Inn at the Roman Forum (part of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World (SHL) network). I have stayed in SHL hotel before and was willing to spend $$$$ for a quiet room and good service. When I read the reviews of the Del Monti hotel I cancelled SHL reservation and book a room with Allesandro. No regrets whatsoever, plus $$ saved!

Location will give the visitors a great access to the Monti area (best location for foodies..), 2 min walk to subway station (Cavour), and ~ 15-20 minutes easy walk to the Coliseum, Forum, etc.

Immaculately clean and comfortable room with unpretentious lovely décor and well equipped bathroom. The breakfast is served in your room which worked great for us. Will absolutely use as our “home base” during the future travel!

Room Tip: The hotel is located on the 4th floor (no elevator). Staff will galdly help you with the luggage but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Alya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore at Hotel De Monti, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

thank you so much for this great review!

We are flattered to be compared to such a luxury Hotel, as well if are not.

You know that we care a lot of your satisfaction, that is why, the important for us is that a guest comes back to the Hotel smiling, sign that Rome has been appreciated!

We remind that Hotel De Monti has no elevator (yet) and of course we will be always there to help you with the luggage.

We hope to have you back soon, and we thank you once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

422 - 426 of 672 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2012

This hotel was exactly what we expected and was perfect for our 3 day stay. Nice/Good size room, bathroom. The hotel held our bags before check-in and after check-out. Good/safe area, very conveniently located, we walked everywhere, close to Train station, coliseum. Alessandro was extremely helpful and informative, great staff!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Katie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore at Hotel De Monti, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Thank you for writing this review and sharing information.

Our location is one of our strengths, in 10 minutes you can reach the most important places of Rome and, of course, we are always here to show you how.

Unfortunately, to really discover the whole city of Rome are necessary a couple of year, but we work hard to let you do it in few days.

We will be glad to accommodate ou once again and we are here waiting for your new reservation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I cannot rave enough about Hotel de Monti! The managers Alessandro and Marro were so helpful with providing dining and tourism recommendations which made all the difference in our experience in Rome. It felt like they were our friends in Rome giving us tips throughout our stay. Alessandro was also so kind to provide quick lessons on Rome’s history and the Italian language. When you stay at Hotel de Monti, you will be very well taken care of with all your questions answered to your satisfaction. We learned about areas in Rome that would be fun to get lost in and then areas where we should stay away from because of tourist traps. I am so happy with my stay there! I wish I had more than 2 nights there because I was really beginning to enjoy the Roman lifestyle with eating authentic pastas and pizzas all thanks to insider tips at Hotel de Monti.

It is also very convenient to have a la carte breakfast provided in your room at the exact time you request. The breakfast was by no means extravagant but they are all local products that we enjoyed since it meant we could promptly explore the city early in the morning without hunting for a bakery or breakfast shop.

The room we were assigned was one of the smaller rooms in the 7 room hotel but it had everything we needed including a safe, TV, clothing cabinet, double bed, desk, and 2 nightstands all organized compactly in the room. To make up for the small room, the bathroom was bigger and very new.

The best thing about Hotel de Monti is definitely the tailored experience that you get. So if you want an insider’s tips on how explore Rome like a local eating the authentic dishes and exploring the charming streets, then Hotel de Monti is the perfect place! I made sure to ask about the best gelaterias in town and the managers pinpointed exact locations on a map they provided so we wouldn’t get lost! They also gave us a list of dishes to try at a delicious pizzeria and pasta restaurant. It was so nice to have a local’s guidance like this because a lot of Rome’s best places to eat and drink are not published.

On the day we left, Alessandro was at the front desk ready to help us with our luggage and also organized our taxi for us. He was able to get us taxi to and from the airport at discount rates so everything was taken care of. He walked us down and was so gracious till the very end.

The only thing I was sad about was only getting to stay 2 nights. Thank you so much Hotel de Monti for such a wonderful experience in the beautiful city of Rome!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore at Hotel De Monti, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

We really appreciated this review, so many kind of you!

One of our strenght is suggestions to give to the people in order to avoid those boring lines to the monuments and, as well, restaurants where we usually eat and guarantee.

We are the smallest Hotel in Rome, bur our rooms are all of the same size and for the Roman standard they are spacious and we are glad you have apprecieted it!

We wait you for the nex time, hopefully soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

It was more of a B&B type room with no lobby. Breakfast is only served in room but was typical continental breakfast. There are lots of steps so don't take too much heavy luggage. The location is very good and you can walk to most places including the train. However, the cobblestone in Italy can play havoc on the wheels of your luggage. I don't think we had A/C. The neighborhood seems fine. Service is real good and they are really nice and honest people. You can tell they spent a lot of money refurbishing an old building with an upscale look. I really wish them the best. We do most of our own research so we didn't require that level of attention. They might want to add a DVD player and some classic English movies in the room since the channels are only in Italian and many visitors come from the states. They gave us a great rate through expedia but I wouldn't spend a lot here. I'd probably go back to Marriott or Hilton if I had to pay more than $200. You take chances when you don't use a chain but I suppose some people like that adventure.

Room Tip: Email the hotel with any questions. They speak good English and will address your concerns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GA4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore at Hotel De Monti, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

We thank you first of all for sharing your opinion with the other potential guests. It has been a pleasure to accommodate you.

We are the smallest Hotel in Rome, not a B&B, though we only serve breakfast, and our policy is to not imitate any kind of “continental breakfast”, as we serve only best local products.

All of our rooms are provided with air conditioning and we are here to solve any question a guest could have.

We are pretty flattered to be juxtaposed to such a luxury Hotels’ brands, but ours is just a small Hotel where information is personally designed for each guests in order to introduce you the real Rome. Thus, despite your kind suggestion, we are not interested in providing DVD players.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

An unimpressive facade in a noisy street with 50 steps up to the front desk, but then: Alessandro and Mauro with their great tips, their everlasting smile and attention. A lovely, very clean room, an extensive breakfast, which can be ordered 'a la carte' and is delivered to your room at the time of your choice. Besides all that the hotel is located in the heart of Monti with its great and fairly cheap restaurants, very close to Metro Cavour and to several tourist attractions.
A REAL TRIP ADVISOR!
See you in september in Holland Mauro?

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yolanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore at Hotel De Monti, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

We already miss you Yolanda and Petrus!
It has been a pleasure to had you here in our Hotel and remember you will be always welcomed!
We thank you for the good review you left and for sharing those information with the other (hopefully) guests.
We also remind to anyone that Hotel De Monti is at the third floor of an ancient building but we will be glad to let you forget about it!!!

Arrivederci e grazie mille!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#166 of 1,269 in Rome
1,293 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#101 of 1,269 in Rome
293 reviews
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#132 of 1,269 in Rome
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#197 of 1,269 in Rome
1,066 reviews
Esquilino
Suite Dreams
Suite Dreams
#104 of 1,269 in Rome
1,490 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#83 of 1,269 in Rome
2,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Monti? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Monti

Address: Via Panisperna 95, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: ₹ 4,160 - ₹ 9,706 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Monti 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel in the heart of Rome, De Monti offers you 7 double rooms at the third floor of a 1500 building. Central location, clean rooms, where we will also serve you breakfast every day, and all the insider tips you can get the reception. The building has no lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel De Monti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing