We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fill in Ancient Rome's Missing Pieces”

Le Domus Romane di Palazzo Valentini
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 21.54*
and up
Roman Domus of Palazzo Valentini Tour
Ranked #18 of 1,514 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
242 reviews
145 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Fill in Ancient Rome's Missing Pieces”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The tour of the Roman Houses under Palazzo Valentini makes ancient ruins much easier to understand than does walking the Forum Romanum with guidebook in hand. Through the wonders of modern technology, a "light show" fills in what's missing from the houses of ancient Roman aristocrats. The floors are clear glass, so the visitor isn't walking on the ruins, but above them. Lighting completes areas missing from mosaic floors and wall frescoes, even adding water to the bath complexes. One English tour per day is offered, and booking ahead is required. If you cannot get a ticket before leaving for Rome, ask your hotelier to check for you. It's worth the effort. A small cafe and bathrooms are in the couryard next to the museum entrance.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ClioChicago_Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,662
    473
    104
    22
    22
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Margoes
Level Contributor
127 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fascinating!”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

If you enjoy the historical aspect of ancient Rome you will really appreciate this tour. Book ahead! The website is a little confusing, the English speaking tour begins at 1:30 and only a handful of people can tour at a time. The location is definitely not easy to find and houses several other businesses. The ruins were found under a 15 century villa that has been restored into an office building.
When you walk into the courtyard Le Domus will be on your left. Enjoy!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Margoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This is one of the most interesting and beautiful museums in Roma (and there are just too many). Here you can really experience and understand that Rome is cake of historic layers. You go into the underground of the Palazzo Valentini and end up in the house of a Roman nobel family. A sure sign of how rich this family was, is that they had their own spa. You walk over a glass floor over the excavations and a light- and multimedia show explains you where the pool was and how the hot water tubes ran. You see a fantastic Roman mosaic that has been partly destroyed by an earthquake and the missing parts are reconstructed by light. The whole visit is done by a voice.over of famous Italian historian Piero Angela.
Another strong point is the simple fact that they are open on Mondays, when almost every other museum in Rome (and Europe) is closed.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank principessaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Success! June 1 tickets now available”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I finally just got 2 tickets for the English tour on Friday June 1. I called this morning at 5 am US time and the answer was still "They are not available yet. Maybe after lunch." I just called back (7:45 am east coast US time), and they were available. I am sorry I forgot to ask if the whole month is now available for purchase, for those who need later in the month.

(I have been calling for over a month every couple days, and more frequently lately when they would say, "tomorrow")

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank crthomson3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“well worth it !”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I read of this attraction on TripAdvisor but, travelling without a local phone and limited internet it was not easy to book. I decided to call in as I was in the area and was told the English speaking tours were fully booked and that they could not take a booking for the following month when I returned to Rome ...very disappointing for an international tourist... BUT... A quick check of the numbers revealed that they COULD squeeze us in for the next tour.. in an hour! Wonderful service from the girls at the counter.. thank you !


After walking the Palantine/Forum/Colosseum etc I had an appreciation for the amazing work the local archaeologists carry out but this experience really brought old Rome to life for me. The sound and light show was extremely well done and the final video on Trajan's Column was a fascinating history lesson in itself. This would be an ideal excursion on a rainy day but one I would recommend any day.

The tour numbers are strictly limited and there is a good reason for this so do book ahead if you can... I was lucky but I am sure many others have missed out as word of mouth continues to spread about this state-of-the-art museum

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TW_Yachtgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Domus Romane di Palazzo Valentini also viewed

 

Been to Le Domus Romane di Palazzo Valentini? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing