We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great OASIS of Luxury in Fab Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Melia Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gran Melia Rome
Ranked #87 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great OASIS of Luxury in Fab Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

This urban resort is a real oasis in one of the worlds most beautiful cities. The eternal city is packed with sights to see but at the end of that day you need to relax and not been to anywhere better in Rome! Great pool area, restaurant and service!!!

Room Tip: Get a Red Room Service
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidnhornby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Guest,

many thanks for sharing with us your opinions about your stay at Gran Meliá Rome!

It is a great pleasure for us to read that you lived a nice experience with us and appreciated our services and facilities.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you soon again in our Luxury Urban Resort to let you continue your experience...

Best regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    868
    272
    101
    36
    19
See reviews for
357
643
20
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

I spent 5 nights here in the middle of June for a conference. I hadn't investigated the hotel before I arrived. I was expecting a typical European business travellers hotel with small non-descript rooms and conference facilities with no natural light. I was happily surprised. The hotel is in the city, next to the Vatican and within walking distance of the centre of town, but rather than being cramped and confined like most European city hotels, there is a huge amount of outdoor space - dining areas, relaxing areas and a large pool area. This changed the whole feeling of the trip. When we weren't working, it really was possible to relax and enjoy the surroundings. Breakfast outside was a delight, as were evening aperitivos. Getting some badly needed R&R by the pool felt almost sinful as we were there for work. And the staff - the check-in staff and the concierge girls in Red - made everyone feel like welcome guests. Rooms were small, but tastefully decorated. Having a Nespresso machine was a nice touch in the land of cafe.

While the hotel vastly exceeded my expectations, it wasn't perfect. The hotel is still new, so they need to iron out some of details. The few things I noticed
- the wait staff was incredibly slow. Maybe they were understaffed; I don't know. Most of the guests actually resorted to getting up and approaching them rather than wait for them to come to the tables.
- the air conditioning in my room didn't cool to the temperature it was set to. Eventually they were able to fix it, but the improvement was slight.
- Around sunset, all of the seagulls in the area like to use the pool as a giant bird bath. Knowing that was enough to keep many of us out of the pool.

Overall, as a business traveller, I adored this place. They made my business trip enjoyable and even relaxing. But if I were to come as a couple for a romantic getaway, then I think that some of the negatives I noticed would probably weigh more heavily on the experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomroadshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Guest,

we were really happy to receive your positive feedback about your stay at our Luxury Urban Resort and wish to thank you very much for taking the time to transmit it to us.

We are so glad to realize that you had the chance of enjoying our facilities while visiting us for business. Our property is in fact a lovely Resort to relax and enjoy the charm of such an ancient and historical city like Rome, but it can also welcome meetings and conventions thanks to the outdoor spaces and cosy and equipped meeting rooms with natural light.

We also wish to thank you for bringing to our attention your impressions as to the wait staff service and the swimming pool.
Please, be ensured that we shared them with the whole team and the Management to take the appropriate actions and improve the issued you raised...so to make your next stay with us a better experience!

Looking forward to welcoming you in the heart of the Eternal City again...

Kindest regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Beautiful hotel, clean rooms with wood flooring. Very welcoming and professional staff – in fact the most hospitable of all of our Italy hotels from this vacation. They welcomed my tired family, fresh from international travel, with a towlette and complimentary drink upon arrival. Rooms were small, but expected in Rome. One of our two rooms had a slight air condition problem, but it was still comfortable. Location was ideal for Vatican visit (within walking distance) however, far from main city – Trevi Fountain etc. Beautiful grounds – most relaxing pool and spa. What was most appreciated was the spa facilities were included even if you didn’t book a service (they were booked solid for massages.) Nonetheless, we flew into Rome from Philadelphia, so spending our first day in relaxing spa robes/slipper, sipping tea and hopping in/out of the sauna/steam room was a great way to unwind and prepare for two weeks in Italy.

Room Tip: Relax in the spa - it's included in your stay (not services, but their facilities.) They provid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giag21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for the lovely feedback about your recent stay in our Luxury Urban Resort!

We are extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience with us and appreciated our "touches" since the warm and detailed welcome we like to express to our guests...

We are also glad to hear about your relaxing and pleasant experiences in both our YHI Wellness and pool, contributing to make your stay an exceptional one!

We will be waiting for you at the occasion of your next visits to Rome, to make you experience continue...

Best Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

My wife and I have been to Rome more than a dozen times, and usually stay somewhere within the heart of the old city, most often at the St. George. But this time, when the St. George LOST a fully-prepaid reservation, they were nice enough to re-book us at the Gran Melia Rome (GMR). In short: impressive. Most hotels in Rome (and most older European cities) feature rooms and other spaces that, while sometimes elegant, are almost always a bit too small. Not the GMR. It was apparently built on an old convent, and features a great blend of utility and artistry, and an impressive amount of 'moving around' space. The room was really nice, especially the shower that seemed to be able to throw water from every direction (water-conservationists beware!), and the pool was a welcome respite from the 90 degree heat. We didn't have a chance to eat at the restaurant, but we did have lunch by the pool, and all I can say is - WOW was it expensive! 24 Euro for a sandwich is insane, when you consider that 50m away there's half dozen trattorias that will serve some of the best pizza ro pasta you've ever had for under 10 Euro. Service was impeccable, the staff are well-trained, and the facility is in immaculate condition. The hotel is on the West side of the Tiber river, not 100m away from the river's edge, and thus walking distance to Vatican City, and well, just about every other location in the old city. However, if this is your first, second, or even third visit to Roma, don't let the comforts of the hotel keep you from exploring. Sleep there, have breakfast, and go explore!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Guest,

we wish to express our hertfelt gratitude for your comments about your stay at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

We are extremely glad to realize that you enjoyed your experience with us and appreciated our services and staff proffesionalism.

Your feedback is reflective of our daily purpose which is to fulfill our guests' expectations and turn their stays into unforgettable experiences. We are just so pleased to have been able to give such emotions to you!

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon for your future visits to the Eternal City...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

We just returned from a 3 day stay at the Gran Melia Rome. We selected this property specifically because of the large pool/garden area for our child. What a great find in the heart of Rome right?The hotel just recently opened so we expected everything to be nice and well-maintained - what a disappointment! During our stay the pool area was overrun by pigeons - 15 to 20 at a time.
The bottom of the pool, pool deck area and deck chairs were all covered in bird droppings. The conditions were not addressed in any way during our stay, therefore we did not allow our child to use the facility. The management did apologize for the conditions but took no action to address them and charged us full price for our stay despite the completely disgusting conditions. We also had air conditioning issues in our first room - which was eventually changed after three visits from maintenance. One night the Maid enter our room at 10:30 pm at night, flipped the lights on waking us for no explicable reason and then quickly left when she realized she woke us. Room service was terrible - our food arrived incorrectly or uncooked three out of four times. This facility is reasonably nice, but it is NOT a five star property by any definition. They have a ton a bugs to work out and should not be doing it on the customers dime. The staff was really sweet and very apologetic about all of our issues -- but when vacationing I'm looking for excellence, not apologies.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RyansMomRyansWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for the precious time you spent in transmitting us your opinions related to your stay at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

We really regret to learn of your dissatisfaction as to our services which prevented you from fully enjoying your experience in Rome.

We trust you will accept that the inconveniences you lived are certainly not reflective of our normal standards and the expectations we have to offer a high quality level of services to our guests.
That is why we do appreciate very much your comments, giving us the opportunity of deeply investigating the issue raised and address them to the Management.

Please, be assured that the the whole team has taken appropriate actions to improve the services you mentioned to avoid such inconveniences to occur in the future.

Our daily work aims to fulfill our guests' expectations and make them live pleasant experiences.

In closing, may I thank you, once again, for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention.
We are grateful for your support and do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our Luxury Urban Resort for your next visits to the Eternal City.

Kindest regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Rome? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Rome

Property: Gran Melia Rome
Address: Via del Gianicolo 3, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 19,961 - ₹ 43,259
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New opening in 2012 of the exclusive resort Gran Meliá Rome, located in the historical and cultural heart of the Eternal City. Discover a luxury hotel located just 5 minutes walk from the Vatican and 15 minutes from the principal attractions of Rome (Piazza Navona, Campo di Fiori, Panteón, Castel Sant´Angelo or the popular neighbourhood of Trastevere). Experience the magic of classic Rome and enjoy this Garden of Eden in the very heart of the city, which is located in the old Villa Agrippina, belonging to Emperor Nero’s mother.In our 116 elegantly decorated rooms and deluxe suites, you will enjoy magnificent panoramic views of the Vatican, Castel Saint Angelo or the beautiful gardens. You will have full facilities available to you, with elegant bathrooms, free WIFI Internet, Clarins® luxury amenities, Nespresso® coffeemaker, Ipod Docking Station, all in your room. Spectacular hydromassages, terraces and private gardens in superior categories. All rooms include access to our YHI Spa & Wellness Centre, Melia Hotels own line of Spas.Discover a unique hotel in the city and experience the most exclusive and personalised luxury of our RedLevel service, our Boutique within the Hotel. Elegant traditional décor with surprising avant-garde touches and luxurious details will make your stay a unique one. Italian and international haut cuisine, creative and signature gastronomy, magnificent private botanical gardens, spectacular terraces and panoramic views of the centre of Rome combine to conjure up a magical setting.This spectacular deluxe resort located on the banks of the romantic Tiber River, is surrounded by a 7.500 m2 park, outside pool and hydromassage with Vitality Pool. Its impeccable personalised attention and butler service, magnificent YHI Spa and Wellness Centre, sauna, interior relaxation area, Fitness area with personal trainer, Beauty Centre, gastronomic areas and fashionable lounge, will change your concept of a deluxe resort in the centre of Rome. Enjoy this Paradise in the centre of the most romantic city in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda and Melia Hotels APAC so you can book your Gran Melia Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing