We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why not 5 Stars?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kolbe Hotel Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kolbe Hotel Rome
Ranked #161 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine California USA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Why not 5 Stars?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

I always take sometime to think about the stars I am giving to any venue, but did you get to have an experience that never let you have a reson to give less than 5 stars?!

Location was great, we were able to walk to many places, hip on hop off bus station was 5 minutes walking.

Room was as promised and was really very clean, shower was perfect, breakfast was free and enough to start your day, coffee was awesome.

Very few staff made everything to make my requests and questions answered in a nice way, professional but very nice as well. I loved the safe, easy to operate and gas a charger inside of it, was an American plug as well,

Thanks to the management :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irvineman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalia B, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear Reviewer,

We thank you very much for the description of your experience in our
hotel.

Your feedback about location, food and cleanliness is the
best incentive, not only for the management, but also for the hotel staff:
our most important purpose is making of your stay an unforgettable
experience.

We hope to see you again in your next visit to Rome.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    466
    155
    44
    27
See reviews for
322
657
24
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed here for 8 nights in early August. We asked for a room on the first floor overlooking the garden to the rear of the hotel (We choose this room after reading a previous review/tip, it was worth doing so). The hotel has recently been renovated in a clean modern style. The hotel is airconditioned throughout, lovely to get back to after a hot day of walking and have a refreshing shower and siesta.

The hotel is in walking distance of Circo Massimo metro station and quite a few bus services. The hotel is well located so it is possible to walk to quite a few places such as Trastevere, Jewish Ghetto, Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Piazza Venezia, Capitol Museum, Roman Forum and the Colosium.

The breakfast was good, we are vegitarians and often have trouble with food but there was a good choice here. The staff at the reception were good and helpfull in fact all the the staff in general were good. The wifi was good for an extra Euro 20 you can have wifi for your whole of your stay. The room was a good size for the three of us, although my sons bed was a bit mickey mouse (but it was covered up with nice bed cover). The bathroom facilities were good clean and modern (i'm in the bathroom business and sell the stuff everyday and the equipment installed was of good quality).

I liked this hotel, I would stay at this hotel again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a upper floor room to the rear of the hotel. It is more quiet than the ground floor. Also t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John_D_1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalia B, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear John,

Many thanks for taking time to leave your valuable feedback.
We are more than happy to read that you enjoyed our helpful and experienced staff, the renovated rooms, our breakfast buffet and the central location.

We do hope that you can stay with us again soon in the near furture.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Walking distance to all of ancient Rome (across the street from ruins of the forum). Nicely renovated former convent. Food was decent for a hotel. Several of our group had air-conditioning problems that were quickly fixed. Rooms are small compared to North American standards.

Room Tip: Triples are somewhat bigger and better located than doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farmercist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalia B, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Reviewer,

the staff and management are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here and we'll be happy to see your return in the near future.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

Stayed here with friends for 3 nights, cant rate it high enough. Location was fantastic,as was everything else really, took advice from other travellers and requested a room not on the ground floor. Re arranged our rooms so we could be near our friends.
Very Close to the bus stop if you are considering using the public transport system, which we did as well as the underground, all part of the experience.
Very friendly staff, could not do enough to please.

Thank for a great first experience in Rome.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smilewhenyoutravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalia B, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review, it is always a pleasure to receive comments such as yours and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to all the team, I know that they will be pleased to know that their hard work does not go unnoticed.

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is only through feedback from our customers that we can continually evaluate and improve the level of hospitality that we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Rome.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

For the price they charge, and how they describe themselves on their website, it should have been better. The hotel is clean, and the breakfast very nice, but the rooms small, location inconvenient and staff not very helpful. We were a family of 4, so had one of the loft rooms; it was very noisy and we could hear the tv from the room next door. At oin point our air conditioning unit broke - their way of addressing our problem was to send up the bellman who looked around and agreed it was broken!! I would not rush back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalia B, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear Ken,

Thank you for your feedback. We were pleased to read that you enjoy our breakfast and the hotel cleanliness, however, we offer our sincere apologies that you didn’t have a perfect stay.

About our rooms we have a variety of room sizes available to suit all of our guests and their varying budgets, including our Junior Suite of 30 sqm or our Deluxe Suite of 40 sqm, rooms particularly adapted for family with children.

We do apologize for air conditioning issue, the feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

We would like to let you know that thanks to your comments we have restored the tv volume of the rooms that was probably modified during our tv maintenance.

We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Aventine
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
#77 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
Monti
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Duca D'Alba Hotel
#145 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#65 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Monti
Hotel Forum Roma
Hotel Forum Roma
#186 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kolbe Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolbe Hotel Rome

Property: Kolbe Hotel Rome
Address: Via San Teodoro, 48, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Family Hotel in Rome
#94 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#190 Business Hotel in Rome
#230 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,544 - ₹ 27,326
Hotel Class:4 star — Kolbe Hotel Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Kolbe Hotel Rome, where the Ancient and Modern blend to create a new form of hospitality. The Kolbe Hotel Rome will host you in a setting with all the flavour and fascination of history, but with the service and style of the most modern and prestigious accommodation. This unique four star hotel is set in a magnificent 17th century building, which was a former Franciscan convent, and is strategically located in front of the Roman Forum, very close to the Colosseum and just a nice and comfortable walk to the Spanish Steps, Trevi fountain and Navona Square as well as to the main shoppings streets such as Via Condotti and Via Frattina. It also offers a very quick and easy connection to the Vatican and every area of the city. Trastevere, the charming medieval district with restaurants, bars and cafes is within walking distance. The hotel has 72 rooms, all recently renovated and fully equipped with Wi-Fi, flat screen televisions and air-conditioning, most of which face the Roman Forum or the enchanting internal garden. The indoor spaces at the "Al Palatino "Garden Restaurant also reflect our efforts to achieve a perfect blend between past and present, the distinctive feature of the Kolbe Hotel Rome. Moreover the Hotel bar, lobby and garden will be a place of refuge to wind down at the end of the day, sipping a drink or just relaxing to the soft music and lighting, especially designed for your maximum comfort and serenity. The whole staff is glad to welcome you to the Kolbe Hotel Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Kolbe Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Kolbe Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing