We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the Dei Mellini!”
Review of Hotel Dei Mellini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Dei Mellini
Ranked #64 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We'd definitely recommend the Dei Mellini. It is situated in the quieter Vatican part of Rome, which suited us after a long day. However, it is within walking distance of most of the attractions (The Vatican, the Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, the Spanish Steps, Villa Borghese, etc). We did take the 87 bus from the end of the street to the Colosseum, but this was because we were travelling with my mother, who was getting tired after 3 days of walking around Rome.

The hotel is well decorated and very clean. Our bedroom was a good size and the beds were really comfortable. As mentioned in previous reviews, the staff at the hotel are fantastic and are extremely helpful. Breakfast is limited, but very good. We would stay at the Dei Mellini again, if we returned to Rome.

We booked the tour guide, recommended by the hotel, and she made our tour of The Vatican memorable - well worth the money. It is probably worth buying a Roma Pass (at the airport), as it may save you money + time queueing.

We found a wonderful restaurant, just a short walk from the hotel in Via Lucrezio Caro called Le Cupole. It is a family run restaurant - the food is excellent and the staff very welcoming - we ended up eating there 3 times!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Libby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

935 - 939 of 1,564 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2012

Just come back from my stay at this hotel. Very happy with my choice of hotel to stay for the following reasons....

1 - The hotel is located the Vatican side of the Tiber River in a side street of the main road. This meant that the area is quiet and does not have the volume of people or noise from the main part of the city. It is about a 15/20 min walk to the Vatican from the Hotel.

2 - Hotel was very nice - room was clean and had no issues at all

3 - Hotel staff were very friendly and able to help with our questions or requests

4 - Free Wi-Fi in the lobby area. You have to pay for Wi-Fi in your room but if you are close to the lobby then you can connect to this service for free. I was located on the 3rd floor and could get a signal to connect

5 - Breakfast included which was filling enough to keep me going for the first half of the day. Only hot food was the scrambled egg and bacon but other cold choices were suitable.

I would say that the Hotel is about about a 10 min walk (max) to the nearest tube station (Lepanto).

I would like to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank claytm00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Loved this hotel. The staff was very helpful, it was in a good location (near the vatican) and the little courtyard was great for having a glass of wine and relaxing after a tiring day. breakfast was very good and the room was very clean.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie0132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We booked a flight and hotel deal through Cresta in the UK and were delighted with this hotel. It's on a quiet street backing on to the western side of the river Tiber. Five minute walk across the bridge to the Piazzi del Popolo or fifteen to twenty minute walk to the Vatican passing the Castel Sant'Angelo on the way. Spanish Steps is about a ten minute walk across the river (via the Ponte Gavour) and the other attractions also easily walkable unless you are infirm as the Colosseum area is a bit of a trek and might require a bus or taxi.

The outside of the hotel is quite plain and belies the inside which is very clean, bright and well decorated. We were fortunate to get a free upgrade from a standard to a deluxe room which meant we also had a seating area. The room was a good size, well decorated and furnished. The bathroom was spotless and was serviced every day. We had a large TV in the bedroom and a smaller one in the seating area. i'd have preferred it the other way around although there are not many English channels to watch anyway apart from news channels. There are pay to view facilities but we didn't use them. There's also an ipod dock/speaker system which we found useful for listening to music. Wifi is available in the room or you can pay for internet access using the television and a wireless keyboard.

From the time we walked through the door the staff were excellent. The reception staff were always helpful when we needed any assistance and the bar and breakfast room staff were always attentive. There is no restaurant but bar meals and snacks were fine and not very expensive. The breakfast choice was good but don't expect good old fashioned English breakfasts. Pastries, cereals, cold meats and fruit were all good quality and were replenished speedily as they ran out. Nine a.m. is not a good time to breakfast as there aren't enough tables for everyone in the hotel and it's a busy time. At eight o'clock it was nearly empty.

It was my wife's birthday whilst we were there and on the day we arrived back in our room to find a bottle of sparkling wine with birthday wishes from the hotel. After checking out we were waiting for our car to the airport and ordered a couple of coffees from the bar - when I went to pay they said it was compliments of the hotel. Both very nice gestures.

If we go to Rome again we'd definitely stay at this hotel and recommend it unreservedly.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel faces apartments across the street. If you want a view ask for a room facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tieflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Just left this hotel after a quick 2 day stay in Rome. The hotel is pretty nice and fairly up to date. The rooms were very clean, breakfast had a wide variety of food, and the staff very attentive. The only problem I had was the location. I would have preferred to stay closer to the action rather than walking so far every day. Not much going on near the hoel.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
Thank SouthernIllinoisJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#65 of 1,271 in Rome
1,231 reviews
Prati
Le Meridien Visconti Rome
Parioli
Hotel Lord Byron
Hotel Lord Byron
#53 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
NH Collection Roma Giustiniano
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,271 in Rome
3,023 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#39 of 1,271 in Rome
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dei Mellini? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Mellini

Address: Via Muzio Clementi 81, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#60 Family Hotel in Rome
#82 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#211 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: ₹ 10,737 - ₹ 23,165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Mellini 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dei Mellini, with his great location in the centre of Rome, only 10 minutes by foot to via Condotti (considered the best shopping area in tow),13 minutes to the Spanish Steps and the Vatican, is really the right address to be in Rome. In the quiet neighbourhood you will find many nice and cosy restaurants and bars.The hotel has a total of 80 rooms (superior, de luxe, junior suite and suite), 2 meeting rooms up to 70 people per room, a nice open terrace available also for private party, a cafeteria overlooking the inside patio and on the last floor of the hotel, overlooking the terrace you will can enjoy the "mellini gym". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dei Mellini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Mellini Rome
Dei Mellini Hotel Rome
Dei Hotel Mellini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing