We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Artemide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Artemide
Ranked #7 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

all-you-can-drink beverages in the fridge.
Its a wonderful present for me.
very kind and warm staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apple l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,933
    1,050
    134
    23
    16
See reviews for
1,448
3,526
130
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (987)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

It is super-expensive, at least it was for us. It is supposedly four stars, but doesn't compare with a three star hotel in New York. The rooms are tiny and I know that the rooms are on the small side in Europe, but this was maybe 100 to140 square feet at a cost of $1400 for four nights, not including breakfast. I think that it was the worst hotel buy of my life. We couldn't unpack as the closet was smaller than either of our suitcases and was equipped with three hangers. We arrived in Rome, waited hours for the room and then spent four days trying to avoid spending time in our small, dark cave. The cabin on the Ruby Princess for our 12 day Mediterranean cruise was more than twice the size of this room, included food, and didn't cost much more than twice what we paid to camp here. I was overwhelmed by the TripAdvisor reviews, which are usually dead on accurate, but I didn't find the reviews for this hotel to be close to the money. We stayed in some five star hotels, including Chancery Court in London, Marriott Elysees in Paris, Eurostars Grand Marina in Barcelona and Sofitel Lisbon and this hotel isn't half as good as any of them in terms of value, room size, etc.

Yet, this is a very nice hotel if you can book it for a couple hundred bucks a night and don't plan on spending much time in the room. I think that at $600-$800 for four nights, in Rome, it is fair. I say this because the front desk people are very attentive and nice, the bellmen are very outgoing. The cleaning people go out of their way to greet and the people who work in the bar/restaurant, both on the roof and in the breakfast dining area, are super friendly and professional. The dark cave aspect provides good sleep quality as well. And the couple of free beers per day were a really nice touch, but at the price that we paid, this hotel shouldn't be competing. The Hotel Tritone in Mestre, on our way to Venice, cost about $150 per night, is billed as four stars, Italy style, and was much nicer and roomier, just as a comparison. Me thinks that we need some crowd control in TA.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KendritayPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Artemide, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
We would like to shed some light in your “dark cave.” And we agree right away that reviews should be better filtered through Trip Advisor, as this is the most offensive and disoriented that we have ever received.

Your tiny room was chosen by yourselves at the time of booking the cheapest room type that we have: the “no frills” small double room. When you reserve this room you are given the measurements of the room (so no need to have estimated) as well as a picture of the room. We are not trying to pass all of our rooms off as large, and this information was available to you when you were researching your trip to Rome.

As you are an expert reviewer on this site, we would have expected that you know how to navigate reservation sites and process the information that they are giving you. Also as an expert, you must know that hotel prices are not determined only by the market, which we can assure you in Rome is higher than a small town outside Venice, but also by the quality of service you are paying for and the comfort and care you will receive with us. The small towns outside of Venice, let us remind you, are not among 4 of the most populous cities in Europe, so they have ample “living room.” The price is also based on the type of accommodation you decide on. The small double room, from the description is not the same size as a Superior double room. These are the facts. In this case, your room was the exact dimensions indicated on our website and therefore adequate to what you are paying.

You must have also consulted Trip Advisor before your stay here. We have 2020 reviews at the moment, and by reviewing them you can see that over 80 percent have the highest rating while several who had booked the same room type as yourself, have commented that the room seemed a bit on the smallish side (but it is called a “small double room” so wouldn’t come as much of a shock).

We are not “supposedly” a 4 star hotel, but we are! And a good one! We are qualified not only as a 4 star hotel along European and National standards, but also a 4 star plus hotel, meaning that our structure qualifies as a 4 star hotel but the excellence of the service and stay has made it up a level then a normal 4 star hotel. We cannot comment on the 4 star rating of a hotel in New York City as we do not know the structure and the star system is different. Here you are in European space, and as you may have seen there is not a lot of it, Italian houses are smaller, cars are smaller and your personal space will be smaller- along with your “small double room.”

As for over-priced, you knew the dimensions of the room and the price you were paying when you reserved it, but why does it suddenly become too expensive only after your stay? You had booked this room based on the reputation and success of our hotel, but you also were well aware of the room that you had booked. We are sorry that you had been on a Grand Tour of Europe and perhaps had many bags to add to the smallness of your room, but again you had booked this room for functionality and should have calculated this as well. It is not the hotel’s problem. However, if you had voiced some concern or discontent, it could have become the hotel’s problem during your stay. We could have offered you a larger room at a supplement price, but at least then you wouldn’t have been in a “dark cave.”

And as for this “dark cave,” the windows do open. There may be a screen on the inside, but it moves up and down and the shutters can be opened according to your light preference. This “room” as we in the hotel business like to call them (“caves” seeming rather outdated, with the Neanderthals, etc.) is no darker than any of the other room types that we have, including suites and larger rooms.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed a nice stay on your cruise ship, but this is not a pertinent comparison and is not located in the heart of Rome, is not four stars, and is not even a hotel, but seems to have been more to your tastes, for which we are glad. As for the comparison with the 5 star hotels in other European cities, they sound lovely and being 5 stars, they are the best of service one can expect. We are cannot compare ourselves with them as they are another category. But so glad to hear you enjoyed your time there.

As for your fellow reviewers on Trip Advisor, they are telling their personal experiences of their stay here with us. When you find them “not close to the money,” they would probably beg to differ as it was their stay here and they probably know what they experienced better than you can think they perhaps did. So they are “right on the money,” we believe the correct term is. Plus, we have over 2020 reviews at the moment, as already stated and by saying they don’t know what their talking about is negating the views of other people and assuming the worse. So we cannot agree with you as far as your rash comment about the other Trip Advisor reviewers are concerned.

On your reservation confirmation, it says that the check-in time is 2 o’clock. That means this is the time when the room is guaranteed to be free and cleaned for your check-in. We are sorry that you had to “wait for hours,” but if the previous guests have the room till 12 noon, and you arrive at 7 am, what are we supposed to do? We have a very convenient luggage storage room, we have TV salons, we have business centers, we have a gym area, we have a rooftop terrace with a restaurant and a bar, we have showers and restrooms available to weary travelers who may arrive and not find their room ready yet. We cannot comment on what other hotels do if someone arrives 6 hours before the check-in time, but we have done our best to offer you any comfort available to pass the time before you can move up to your room.

As you so kindly noted in the finishing paragraph of your review, you had a nice stay here due to the attention to detail and customer care provided by all levels of our staff to make your stay here as pleasant and comfortable as possible. This is an important determining factor in earning us a great ranking, both with our hotel ranking and popularity on Trip Advisor. You are not simply paying a price for your room and board, but rather you are ensuring that you will have an enjoyable stay here, that you will have attentive service and comfortable conditions in which to relax during your stay.

And “me thinks” (a term of use last employed by Shakespeare) that as of publication of this response no one has ever dared “camp” here, one of the most prestigious hotels in Rome, a very popular and distinguished structure based on comfort and quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed here in May and had a great experience from beginning to end. I booked our room on the hotel's website and requested a floor higher up, which is exactly what they gave us, including an amazing balcony view of the action on Via Nazionale. The room itself was nicely arranged, with everything you might need, and spacious enough in the Double Classic. All of the staff were friendly and incredibly helpful -- going out of their way to assist us with any request. Being two female travelers, we never felt uncomfortable or unwelcome there. While we really like staying in the Campo de' Fiori area when we're in Rome, we gave this hotel a try for a different experience and weren't disappointed by the location. It's very close to the metro and major sights, as others have said. The free minibar was a nice plus and the breakfast selections were quite good. The staff recommended a fantastic espresso bar just down the street, Castroni. We couldn't have been more pleased to end our trip with this experience.

Room Tip: The hotel is located on a major street in Rome and so I took other reviewers' advice and request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuse2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

As all of the reviews say the hotel is conveniently located, in walking distance to everything that you want to see while in Rome. All of the staff are extremely friendly, helpful and polite. The Reception staff are especially helpful and happy gave detailed advice and the the breakfast staff extremely friendly. The breakfast is really good and sets you up for the day, the scrambled egg is fantastic. The hotel is nicely done out, clean and has everything you need for your stay.

The rooftop restaurant and bar is a really pleasant place to sit and relax. The only issue is that the staff take forever to serve you. The day we arrived we decided to go to the roof bar and have our complimentary Prosecco and a spot of lunch. There was a family of two adults and two children in the bar and that was all, yet it still took 30 minutes to get our order taken and then an hour to get two sandwiches and our first drink. We went to the roof bar another two times while we were there, just for drinks. Each time it took about 20 minutes to get a drink although the place was completely empty. This level of service seemed to be in contradiction to the rest of the staff in the hotel. Due to this we decided not to use our 30% discount for a meal there as we really didn’t want to waste time waiting to get served.

A couple of pointers for sightseeing: Get your Colosseum tickets from the Garden/Palatine Hills ticket office (about 300 yds away from the Colosseum on the main road, same side) not the Colosseum itself, as the queue at the Colosseum ticket office was huge. Also we bought our Vatican tickets on line as we were advised that the queues there would also be huge. Obviously I can’t comment on every day but we got there on a Tuesday at about midday and there wasn’t a single person in the queue for tickets.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gelderbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Artemide, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
First of all thank you for your high praise regarding your stay here with us! On behalf of all our staff we thank you for your enthusiastic praise of our breakfast service and hotel service at the front desk and housekeeping.

However, we find your experience up at the Rooftop Bar unusual. The times that you went up to enjoy the terrace area and bar services found one server and one cook on staff, but they should have been enough to provide you with as prompt a service as possible. Our staff is especially trained in the personal comfort and attention to our guests, and such a long wait should never have occurred. The mission of our Rooftop Terrace Bar is to provide one with a get-away experience-a sort of oasis from the hustle and bustle of sight seeing and an opportunity to sit back and enjoy the view and the weather in the company of a nice drink. But a one and a half hour wait is a bit excessive.

In fact, our management has verified the circumstances and the facts of your service for each 3 visits. Perhaps your estimates are a bit generous unless verified by a watch. There are no records from any shift saying that someone had complained of a long wait for being served. If you had been in a rush to meet up with a tour for example, you could always have asked the staff to get a move on. Even though this goes against the relaxing atmosphere of the bar and restaurant areas, our staff would be most understanding as some guests have as much on their schedules here as they do during their workdays at home! But it appears that neither yourselves nor the family lunching there on your first visit voiced a complaint.

Several facts have come to light from these visits. You were greeted promptly when seated with a menu. Of course a time lapse is expected to give guests the chance to comfortably peruse the menu. Then a bottle of wine was brought along with snacks to munch on while waiting for the rest of the order. Seeing as our restaurant’s goal is to provide you with the freshest dishes, the sandwiches were made using fresh ingredients and freshly heated on the grill. A 20 minutes’ wait is expected in the case that the chief had to heat up the grill for the sandwiches and had already had all the orders from the family ahead of you lined up. And we excuse ourselves if the service seemed to take overly long, but we do have it guaranteed that it did not take an hour for you to receive your sandwiches. During your other two visits, the cocktails would have been made fresh, but again as you say the locale was empty, a 20 minute wait would be generous. And 20 minutes for a bottle of Chardonnay to be brought to your table is improbable.

If some problem had been encountered during your stay, you should have felt free to voice any complaints with the staff members on the rooftop or with our front desk staff and your stay would have been accommodated with your preferred speedy service to fit in with the pace of your stay here in Rome.

Once again thank you for your comments, they are always treated as constructive feedback that we can use to make visits for you and future guests. Your insider comments about your touring experience when here are also to be much appreciated by future viewers!

We all thank you once more for your 4 star review and hope to have the pleasure of having you here for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed at the Artemide Hotel in May. Check-in was quick and easy, which was great. Our room however, was tiny. Without a doubt, this was the smallest hotel room I have ever seen. This was not unexpected given this hotel is not an expensive hotel, based on Rome prices. However, having stayed at similarly-priced (centrally located) hotels in Paris and Venice, we were pretty disappointed with this hotel. The decor and natural lighting in the room probably contributed to this impression. Given the other reviews, perhaps we were just very unlucky with the room we received. Our location was fantastic though, and the roof top bar has a nice vibe (but would not recommend the food here). The hotel staff did recommend a fantastic trattoria just down the road, and it was exceptional - the best pizza we have ever tasted. The hotel is quite close to the metro and easy walking distance to most major sights. Having said that, we will try a different hotel next time we visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bianca_b83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Artemide, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Thank you for your honest review about your stay here with us. We are glad that you found our service up to your expectations and were able to enjoy your time in Rome, notwithstanding your main complaint of your room’s dimensions.

From what you have described, we have understood that you are talking about our Small Double room. These are our smallest accommodation option, always found with the lowest price available due to the size and the fact that it usually requests immediate payment. It has an advantage for our budget travelers who would like to fix a price at the lowest available option and who do not expect the more luxurious trappings of an upgraded room.

We do not try to hide the fact that this room is smaller than the other room types we have available in the hotel. In fact, on our website along with most online reservation portals the exact dimensions of the room, along with the size of the bed, are provided for those interested in knowing the size of their future accommodation. The price fluctuates based on the period and the availability, so we are sorry that you found the highest price of the high season for your small room. Our prices are not calculated just on the season and the competitive prices, but also on the quality of stay that we can provide our guests as it is our goal to have our guests experience a comfortable, carefree, friendly stay while here in Rome. So we are not selling just the room, but the experience as well. Of course the price that you are willing to pay also depends on what type of stay you would like to have while in Rome - a matter of quality and taste.

We are sorry about the combination of events and factors that made your room feel not up-to-snuff. It is not really a matter of luck, but rather the result of the room you had reserved and we gave to you. The rooms are also pictured on the websites so one can have an idea of the room they will find upon arrival.

As for your comment that you wouldn’t recommend the food, we cannot answer directly as it is not clear if you tried the food or just did not find the menu to your liking. As you later stated, there are restaurants nearby and we are glad that you enjoyed the pizza up the street. If you had been looking for a trattoria-style restaurant or pizza, then our restaurant would not have been for you. We propose a relaxed and pleasant traditional dining experience up at our Rooftop Terrace Restaurant that does not include pizza on the menu, more fine dishes that you would expect from an Italian household.

We would like to thank you once more for your positive review and your feedback about your stay, we are always improving the hotel experience for future guests. It is a pity you did not voice your feelings at the time, as now we can only act for the future rather than bettering your stay at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,832 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Colonna
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,730 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Monti
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artemide? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artemide

Property: Hotel Artemide
Address: Via Nazionale, 22, 98043 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Rome
#1 Family Hotel in Rome
#2 Business Hotel in Rome
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,205 - ₹ 25,830
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Artemide 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Artemide, your 4-star hotel in downtown Rome! Just a stone's throw away from the Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum or the Spanish Steps, Artemide is right in the heart of Via Nazionale, a lively and bright street, with plenty of shops to choose from. Within walking distance of Termini Train Station and with the metro station Repubblica at just 100 metres, the Artemide Hotel is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. Free mini-bar and wi-fi connection in every room, and a fully-equipped gym are just some of the perks we offer our guests. Also, make sure not to miss the Artemís Spa to dedicate a moment for your well-being and enjoy individual or couples massages. And to complete the experience, don't miss the Ambrosia Rooftop Restaurant & Bar, on the 7th floor of the hotel, with its magnificent view over the Rome' skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Artemide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Artemide Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing