We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Treat in Rome”
Review of Hotel Artemide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Artemide
Ranked #7 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We took my mother in law to Rome for her 60th birthday and stayed at the Artemide Hotel. I cannot praise the staff enough. They really were wonderful. Our triple room was very clean and spacious. Our housekeeper Christina was a lovely lady, who even with a language barrier asked us numerous times if we needed anything.

Upon returning from our tour of the Vatican a card and lovely fruit platter awaited my mother in law from all the staff wishing her a very happy birthday. So nice!

They were so helpful with booking our tours and telling us where the good eating spots were and where we should avoid. Termini (Central Rome) was a dive. You have to be very carful with pick pocketers there, but everywhere we went looked like a dump, especially near the central station. Try and avoid staying there!

The Artemide hotel is centrally located (Republicca - one stop from Termini on Metro A) so the metro and buses were easy and so economical, yet miles from the dump of Termini. Avoid taxis as they rip you off! There are lots of nice shops and eating places in the area with a lovely wine bar across the road, who do the best Pina Colada's I've had. There were some real dives of hotels that we saw, so were so relieved at this pleasant and comfortable hotel. I would definitley recommend this hotel to all family and friends.

Room Tip: The triple room we had was made up of two single beds and one double, which was the pull out sofa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarjandJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (7,102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,721 - 4,725 of 7,102 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

I chose this hotel for a pre-cruise stay based on the rave reviews on Trip Advisor. I don't regret staying here and agree with many of the nice things people have said, but thought it would be useful to list some of the things I don't think are worthy of rave reviews. First, the room we had was very small--so small that it was something of a challenge to place our our three pieces of luggage where they wouldn't be in the way. The free Internet access was extraordinarly slow--almost uselessly slow at times. I didn't find the location to be as wonderful as some other reviewers. It's a 20-25 minute walk to the Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon, and that includes a pretty steep hill. It takes 25-30 minutes to walk to the Coliseum and the Forum. Finally, $1,223 for four nights (including breakfast) during the off season isn't exactly a bargain. But all of that said, this is a nice hotel with a very friendly and accomodating staff, the free minibar is a nice amenity, and we found the buffet breakfast quite good and the service in that dining room to be outstanding. And that small room had an extremely nice marble bathroom with excellent amenities.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TBearden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

My partner and I stayed in this hotel for a weekend in Feb 2010. The hotel location is fantastic to see central Rome. We strolled everywhere bar the Vatican, even at that we walked back from the Vatican it is just that bit too long a walk for the early morning start. The lobby itself is well maintained and the staff were courteous and efficent in all our dealings with them. The room was spacious and clean if not top end. The bathroom was small as to be expected in central european capital city but I remember the toiletries being of very good quality, not something I really notice so the must have been good. The mini bar was free and restocked daily which is a nice touch and the breakfast was more than adequate. Next time we're in Rome we will be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank all_I_want4xmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I really liked our stay at Hotel Artemide - welcome drink, fruit basket in the room, rich breakfast, tidy and spacious rooms, convenient location and very helpful staff. Altogether that was good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aigars Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed here with 10 other people. The rooms were TINY but clean. We walked everywhere which was very handy. Plenty of places to eat and drink nearby.

The website is very deceptive. the hotel is NOT as lovely as it looks online and the roof bar has views of pilons, satelliite dishes and a church bell and little else.

Breakfast was ok, nothing to shout about but I have had worse. The dining area is small and gets very crammed in the morning.

Staff were pretty helpful (we spent a lot of time in reception calling other rooms to meet our friends)

Elevator was tiny and so slow. We were on the 5th floor and it was hard walking up the stairs after a full day sightseeing

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrsM0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Artemide, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2011

First of all we would like to thank the Guest for its comment.

As for the photos of the website, we would like to underline that we are always proud of maintaining and following a strict transparency policy, which is valid for the photos as well. In particular, regarding the roof top bar, it is clear from the picture on the website that the features described by the Guest are visible. The roof is on the 7th floor of the Hotel, which is quite a tall building for the surrounding area, therefore it is common to see satellite dishes, which now-a-days are very common in every city skyline. Furthermore, the street features many twentieth century buildings and the bell tower of the first Anglican Church of Italy, dating back to the nineteenth century.

Regarding the size of the rooms, all the descriptions found on the websites publicizing our property, clearly state the size of all the categories available so to give the Guest the possibility to better choose their preferred accommodation. The breakfast room is also featured on our website and it is considered to be well proportioned to the Hotel number of rooms.
The Hotel features 4 lifts of which one is part of the original building and may carry only up to 4 people instead of the normal 6. From the comment of the Guest we have understood that the he happened to use this lift to reach the top floor and found it very slow. However there is also the alternative of a modern lift to reach the same floor.

Our staff is always pleased to assist Guests with finding the best room for their stay both prior to their arrival and also in case they would prefer a different accommodation when at the Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,272 in Rome
3,722 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,272 in Rome
771 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#19 of 1,272 in Rome
4,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Appia Antica Resort
#1 of 1,272 in Rome
766 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#3 of 1,272 in Rome
279 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,272 in Rome
3,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artemide? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artemide

Address: Via Nazionale, 22, 98043 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rome
#2 Spa Hotel in Rome
#2 Business Hotel in Rome
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: ₹ 13,760 - ₹ 30,160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Artemide 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Artemide, your 4-star hotel in downtown Rome! Just a stone's throw away from the Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum or the Spanish Steps, Artemide is right in the heart of Via Nazionale, a lively and bright street, with plenty of shops to choose from. Within walking distance of Termini Train Station and with the metro station Repubblica at just 100 metres, the Artemide Hotel is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. Free mini-bar and wi-fi connection in every room, and a fully-equipped gym are just some of the perks we offer our guests. Also, make sure not to miss the Artemís Spa to dedicate a moment for your well-being and enjoy individual or couples massages. And to complete the experience, don't miss the Ambrosia Rooftop Restaurant & Bar, on the 7th floor of the hotel, with its magnificent view over the Rome' skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Artemide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Artemide Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing