We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do NOT stay here! Worst hotel EVER!”
Review of Lirico Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lirico Hotel
Ranked #219 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This was the last hotel we stayed in during our 2 week trip to Italy. We stayed there for one night. We picked it because it had offered an airport shuttle, and because of the reviews on Trip Advisor. When we arrived, we were shocked to find out that the airport shuttle would cost us $45 Euro extra (when it was in our travel documents that it was included). Kumar at the front desk wasted 3 hours of our time on the phone with the "hotel owner" and our booking agent, to try to settle the situation, but they were not willing to accomodate us despite our reservation.

We ended up spending only 5 hours total in the room that night, because we got up at 5 AM just to get out of there. We ended up going to the airport way ahead of time (via public bus) just to leave that awful place.
- This hotel SMELLS VERY BAD.
- The room SUCKS. It was very dark and dank. Smelled like someone had died in there.
- There is mold on the walls, in the air vents.
- The sheets were horrible and crusty.
- There is a tiny elevator that you MUST take upstairs to your hotel room. It fits one person and 1 bag and that's all.
- No alarm clock, or clock for that matter in the hotel room.
- Bathroom light was broken.
- Remote control for the TV was broken.
- By far the WORST costumer service we have ever encountered in our entire lives. Kumar, the man at the front desk should be fired for treating us the way he did.

We are not sure who would rate this an "excellent" hotel. We would have been better off sleeping overnight at the airport, than spending a penny on this piece of garbage of a hotel. It ruined our last night in Italy, and left us with a sour taste for what was supposed to be an amazing trip.

Room Tip: Bring a travel alarm clock.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Runner1082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 June 2012

As far as I am concerned and responsible of the Hotel Lirico as the owner, I feel to respond and to clarify your affirmation.

We were sorry to receive your negative feedback following your recent stay at our Hotel and disappointed that you were not happy with certain aspects of your visit.
We do our best to provide a good service at our Hotel and consistently receive good reports, some of which you can read on Tripadvisor.
We feel that the comments you have made are therefore unjustified.
Regarding the transfer from/to the airport it is a service that we can arrange with a local company, but it is an additional cost and not included in the room rate and on your reservation such extra service was not requested. We think that your bad comment, so offensive, is problably due to this misunderstanding.
We really regret that your last night after two weeks trip to Italy ended in that way, however, we wish you a better welcome on your next occasion to the Eternal City, obviously, on this point we do agree, in a different Hotel.
Best regards.

Michelangelo Restagno
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,230)
There are newer reviews for Lirico Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

385 - 389 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2012

Spent 4 nights in Rome at the Hotel Lirico with my teenage son. Had an amazing time and couldn't have hoped for a better hotel. The location is great, close to the Termini Station and also within walking distance of all the major sights. The room was clean and comfortable, the decor was charming. Rooms cleaned and beds changed every day. Free wifi and sky tv. Breakfast was great. Staff were friendly and helpful, especially Tony on the front desk, he pointed us in the right direction whenever necessary and advised us of some lovely restaurants. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Next time I would ask for a room with a view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Johkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We had a city break to Rome in late May. We had a lovely time. We stayed at the Hotel Lirico. It was unusual in that reception was on the first floor up a large flight of stairs. After that were was a lift to the rooms. It was very freindly, and clean. The breakfast was good - not just the usual cold meats cake and croissants. My only complaint was that the room we had was dark. It was at the back of the hotel with only one window which had obscrued glass as it looked out into a quadrangle. The bed was very comfy, and there was always plenty of hot water. The location was very convenient. We really enjoyed our stay. Tony was very hospitable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front or side - not at the back
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janchase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Lirico for 3 nights the second week of May, and I LOVED this hotel! It's very clean and furnished with old world Europe charm. It is very close to the main train station in Rome, as well as being centrally located. They had a wonderful continental breakfast with the BEST COFFEE than in any other hotel I stayed while in Italy. As a matter of fact, the coffee was as good as anything you could order in any cafe in Italy. I will definitely come back on my next trip to Rome.

The staff was also VERY helpful and accommodating

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We found this
hotel on Trip Advisor the welcome was excellent from Tony the front office manager and nothing was a problem from advice to dining and both reccomendations were excellent to every day assistance
easy for the hop on hop off bus route
Bathroom a little small but is good for the 3 s s s
There is a porter available for the stairs

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lampardTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#99 of 1,267 in Rome
828 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sonya
Hotel Sonya
#249 of 1,267 in Rome
1,504 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#212 of 1,267 in Rome
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#121 of 1,267 in Rome
1,305 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#128 of 1,267 in Rome
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lirico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lirico Hotel

Address: Via del Viminale, 31 | Next to the Opera House, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#204 Business Hotel in Rome
#206 Family Hotel in Rome
#213 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: ₹ 4,912 - ₹ 18,265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lirico Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lirico is located close to Termini Railways Station, next to the Opera House - on the square overlook some our rooms. These are all air conditioned and furnished with wall fabrics, private bathroom, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, satellite TV Sky, safe and free WiFi access. Reception and Bar are open 24 hours. Is possible to organize guided tours, transfers fron/to Airport or Port, museums or restaurants reservations, rent a car/scooter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lirico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lirico Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing