We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“**Stay away from this hotel**”
Review of Hotel Patria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Patria
Ranked #541 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Box Hill, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“**Stay away from this hotel**”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Staying at this hotel left an unpleasant taste in my mouth and soured my trip to Rome.

**Stay away from this hotel**

Things I didn't like:
- being forced, at the last minute to rent a room for my luggage while I'm away for a day (more below :S)
- internet service
* provided by a 3rd party I'd never heard of
* required to give credit card details to said company on what would at best be described as an amateur looking website
* you must press a button saying "stop" or they will keep counting down your time even when you have no connection
* frequently there is no connection as the connection drops every 5 to 15 minutes
* re-establishing a connection doesn't work every time and then you have to log back in every time
* having to try and log back in to stop the timer, after the connection is dropped
- cigarette smell and ash tray found in a room that we were told (and was marked) no smoking
- though I prepaid the same money for both stays, the second room was a definite downgrade
- checking out early in the morning on the final day and the receptionist leaves us sitting on sofa in the dark rather than turn on the lights
---

More on the luggage issue:
- I rang up a month prior to visiting explaining that I'd be staying at the hotel twice, with one night separating the two stays so I could go on an overnight trip. No luggage was allowed on the overnight trip, therefore asked if the hotel could hold the luggage overnight and was informed that was possible.
On arrival my partner and I are caught by surprise being told luggage cannot be held by hotel but instead a 3rd party, for a fee, ie 10 euros, can store the bags . We agree telling them we are going early in the morning, what do we do? They told us to leave the bags with them at Reception (deliberately pointing to an area to the side of the desk) in the morning prior to leaving.
- Early the following morning we present to reception with cases to be told by a different receptionist that bags CANNOT be left with them. We are also informed at this stage that booking the service with the 3rd party must be done 24 hours prior and the receptionist, on flicking through a book, cannot find a booking in my name. After outlining emphatically and repeatedly what happened the day before, he checks again that we'll only be gone for a day and reluctantly tells us the hotel will hold onto the suitcases. The manager arrives shortly thereafter and following a discussion with the receptionist, berates us, telling us we didn't book the service the day before, that it is the guest's responsibility to make the booking personally, that the hotel doesn't hold people's suitcases and takes no responsibility etc. Further, he added when using the service, the guests themselves must be present to hand over and sign off on their own luggage . Hotel staff would never do this. He was adamant that his staff all knew the procedure and that his staff would've told us the right thing (despite what we said actually happened).

Solution: So it's 7am in the morning, a vehicle about to arrive to take us on tour, there is NO alternative but to book a room just to hold the cases overnight. We didn't even get to keep the same room (on booking a room for our cases we learnt that there were a number of other rooms available - hotel was certainly not fully booked) and, to add insult, the new room we were allocated was smaller than the original!

Would not stay again.

Room Tip: Non-smokers be warned; smoking has been (and still is) allowed in all rooms, even the non smoking on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    254
    177
    50
    41
See reviews for
137
241
50
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We enjoyed a three night stay at the hotel patria ,on the plus side it isin a great location we were able to walk to most tourist sites OR wecould walk 200 mt to the metro station or 500mts to termini the main bus and metro station
the biggest plus is DENNIS the GENTLEMAN on reception nothing was to much bother no question went unanswerd his knowledge of rome was of great help to my wife and i
Breakfast was more than adequate to keep us going untill lunch now for the down side ,we were given the smallest hotel room we have ever had ,the shower was just big enough to turn around in ,but had i been a big guy it would have been impossible, the towels( such as they were )were changed every day and the room was clean. so all in all we would recommend this hotel our criticism is minor and we did enjoy our stay

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metroman60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constanta, Romania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We just got back from a City Break in Roma at Hotel Patria .

We stayed there between 7 - 10 Mach for 3 nights , 4 dbl rooms .

The Hotel is central located about 20 min walk to Fontana di Trevi and the Metro station Repubblica is 2 min walk . The people at the Front Desk are nice and helpful fell free to ask anything and they will help you .

They have internet but you have to buy with a Credit Card via a computer, I have try ed to bye it from my Phone but it did not work . The elevator is small , it can only fit 2 ppl with bags or 4 ppl :) . If you stay on the 5'th Floor you have to take the stairs 1 level because the elevator only reaches Level 4 .

The Rooms are small in size about 14 m2 , but clean and you have everything you need , TV , minibar, safe , telephone , a small bathroom with shower etc .

The Breakfast is ok but not very divers everyday you have : Cornflakes , milk , jam , ham 2 types , cheese , butter , croissants . The Coffee is not particularly good and you have Pineapple juise .

Nearby are shops and restaurants , one nice Rest is very close to the Hotel ( just 2 m down the street ) we eat there on our last night and we were very pleased .

I recomand this hotel to anyone that is not claustrofobic .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silvialoky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

A great location about ten mins walk from the termini main station and just off the main road nationale. A reasonable sized room for the two of us with a safe and a Tv. The bathroom was good including a hair dryer and all essentials. The towels were a cross between kitchen paper and pillow cases so bring your own unless you enjoy an all over exfoliation after your shower. We were on the fourth floor and used the lift. The staff were all very nice and friendly especially on the desk. In the breakfast room the choice was simple but enough for us. Two cereals, croissaints, bread, cheese and ham. Tea, coffee and juice.
We would stay here again as it is only fifteen to twenty minutes walk to most places of interest. Just around the corner was a great restaurant that we used twice. The 110 open top bus is hop on and hop off so we used that to get around.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idixon98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Clean sheets and towels each day. Staff very helpful and central for all we wished to do. We had really cold weather when we were there but room was warm. Would recommend to anyone. Breakfast was plentiful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gwil186233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Augustea
Hotel Augustea
#566 of 1,261 in Rome
315 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Elide
Hotel Elide
#549 of 1,261 in Rome
247 reviews
Esquilino
Corona Hotel
Corona Hotel
#383 of 1,261 in Rome
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Le Petit
Hotel Le Petit
#1,011 of 1,261 in Rome
298 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Garda
Hotel Garda
#574 of 1,261 in Rome
327 reviews
Colonna
Hotel King, Rome
Hotel King, Rome
#723 of 1,261 in Rome
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patria? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patria

Property: Hotel Patria
Address: Via Torino 36, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #541 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,147 - ₹ 11,384
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patria 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Patria is one of the 3 star hotels much appreciated by clients for the elegance of its rooms and warm hospitality. Welcoming and furnished with taste, all the rooms of Hotel Patria 3 stars in Rome have air conditioning, free Wi-Fi, plasma TV, satellite TV and phone with direct line, own bathroom with shower or tub, hairdryer and courtesy kit. At our reception, available 24 hours a day, you will receive all necessary information to make your stay in Rome as pleasant as possible and you will also have the chance of booking outings and guided tours. There is also a lounge bar open from 10am until 10pm with a fine choosing of coffee, tea, soft drinks, beers, wine, alcoholic beverages, cocktails and snacks. It is possible to order breakfast and beverages from the bar directly in the room with no extra charge. Hotel Patria has a strategic position, next to a Metro station and all the main bus stops, close to Stazione Termini, an area where you can easily reach the city's most famous fun and cultural places. From the not too distant, neo-Renaissance Teatro dell’Opera, close to Piazza della Repubblica, a short distance from the hotel, you head towards famous Piazza Barberini admiring Bernini's Fontana del Tritone and the Colle del Quirinale, home of the Republic's Presidency. At less than ten minutes away, the Fontana di Trevi. In less than 15 minutes you can easily reach Colosseum, Fori Imperiali and from there also Bocca della Verità and Circo Massimo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Patria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patria Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing