We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good all around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #74 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Miami
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Really Good all around”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

5 star service in a 3 star hotel. Our room was nice and confortable big bathroom, Breakfast was fantastic, great location. I was a bit concerned on the location ( near Termini station ) but it was nice an quiet, plenty of restaurants near by with great food. Staff was very helpfull on our needs. The Bartender can make a great Martini. All in All I would go back and recomend this hotel to any one.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandLgoaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,334
    655
    97
    16
    10
See reviews for
540
1,001
73
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This was our first time in Rome - The hotel is easy to find and easy to get to. The hotel is a very short walk to the Subway station and a fairly long walk to the train station. The subway location is key.

We were upgraded upon arrival to room/suite 434. We were celebrating our 10 year anniversary. The staff acknowledged our milestone -- many thanks to them.

The room was spacious and clean. The breakfast had the best variety of the hotels we visited.

The hotel bar was comfortable and relaxing after long days of walking.

We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a low room if you're worried about the elevator (no problem for us). Room 434 was great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The Hotel is a short 5 min walk from the train station which is good when arriving to Rome by train, and also good for catching the metro. This is not the hotel for you if you want to be walking distance to the major attractions in Rome.

The service is ok - not overly friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoefromAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed here the last time we were in Roma and they did not disappoint! Good breakfast, especially for Americans. Comfortable rooms. Close to Metro and close to Termini. Safe area. No complaints. Would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danosu77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

My partner and I stayed in a deluxe room (134 I think) on the first floor overlooking the courtyard. The room had full length doors which afforded some welcome fresh air; we stayed for 4 nights towards the end of April just as the weather became warm and sunny. The air conditoning didn't seem to be terribly effective but it wasn't hot enough for us to really need it and air conditioning tends to be intrusive anyway. Had it been a problem for us we would have mentioned it to the staff on the front desk. The room was comfortable and well appointed with a flat screen TV, CD player and safe, though a fridge would have been welcome (I don't think any of the rooms have them in this hotel). Shower gel and other toiletries were replaced once empty without us having to ask.

We found all the staff to be friendly and efficient; the staff in the breakfast room were particularly good at relaying the tables so nobody had to wait more than a few minutes for a table at breakfast. The selection of food varied slightly each day which was welcome. I thought the scrambled eggs were lovely and there was always a decent choice of cheese, cold meats and breads and pastries. If you like your toast well done you need to pass it through the toasting machine twice! Other options included fruit, cereal and bacon (not crispy though).

The bar area was a great place to relax after a long day's sightseeing. Wine was available in a variety of measures from a glass to a bottle and all the drinks were remarkably cheap - only 7 Euros for a bottle of wine! Both savoury and sweet canapes were available in the evening and the selections changed daily. We ate locally most evenings; Leonardo's was recommended by the hotel's receptionist and Mamma Angela's by another travel guide (good food but really slow service on the evening we went).

There is free wifi in the hotel but you need to ask at the front desk for the password. There is also a PC terminal and if you need to print anything, you can do that via the office (when it is open).

The hotel is a short hop from Termini station and is on a direct line to the metro stop for the Colossseum and Forum. We were planning to focus our stay visiting ancient Rome so the hotel's location was perfect for us. We purchased the Roma pass at the airport and would recommend this to anyone staying for three days or more.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend it for other travellers looking to stay somewhere convenient for ancient Rome without necessarily being right in the centre.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#78 of 1,261 in Rome
2,642 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#85 of 1,261 in Rome
2,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,261 in Rome
1,321 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#97 of 1,261 in Rome
1,198 reviews
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#99 of 1,261 in Rome
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection

Property: Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Address: 58, Via Vicenza, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Best Western Hotel Canada)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Rome
#25 Family Hotel in Rome
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#72 Business Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,785 - ₹ 15,456
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an elegant historic building in the centre of Rome, the Hotel Canada represents the outcome of Hoteliers' generations experience. It shows the ancient tradition of hospitality that renews itself every day. A recent refurbishment has rediscovered the original architecture of the building. It was constructed in 1870 in order to provide accommodation for officers from the nearby barracks of Castro Pretorio. The Hotel Canada is easily reachable from "Termini Station" (500 m), the most important station of the Eternal City and the main rail yard of Italy. This Station is well connected with both airports of Rome: Roma Leonardo da Vinci/ Fiumicino and Roma Ciampino. The Hotel Canada is located in an ideal spot to visit the very historic centre of Rome. It is close to the subway (Line B, Castro Pretorio's stop) that allows every guest to reach the downtown in just a few minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Rome
Hotel Canada Rome
Best Western Rome
Canada Hotel Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing