We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Surprises”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Artdeco
Ranked #236 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprises”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I booked this hotel based on other travelers reviews 4 out of 5 ratings, but still skeptical because my previews poor experience with the Starhotel near the Vatican ( it was tiny - can hardly walk at the end of the bed with your suitcase, was out-of-date deco furnitures, and cost me almost $300 per night then and customer service were so so).

What a big surprise when we arrived. The rooms were rather modern, much bigger - same size as the rooms in the US for similar price. Very very clean. The service was good. Free Wi-Fi, the breakfast was included and it was really nice with scrambled eggs, bacons, pastries, banana, coffe, tea, yogart, sparkling water, juices. We stayed there twice -- the night before our cruise and one night after we got back from the cruise. On the first night, they allowed us check in around 11 AM. But the second time, one room was ready around 1:40 PM, the other one was not ready until 2:30 PM.

There were a few rooms that seem to added on to the original part of the hotel snd the elevator do not reach there. We had to lift our suitcase up 10 steps or so.

Their hotel booklit said you can get tea, coffee, ice 24/7. But on our 2nd check in, they wanted to charge €6 for the tea and no ice after the bar was closed ( we asked around 11:30 PM, was closed already).

It was 8 to 10 minutes walk from the train termini station. So i thought it might be in a bad neighborhood, but it was in a realky nice and safe area because it is right next to the Turkish Embassy were there are two italian soldiers standing out 24/7.

Room Tip: Choose rooms that the elevator can reach so you do not need to lift your luggages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runlikeagirl94132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    536
    181
    40
    11
See reviews for
187
421
94
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I don't know where they get a fourth star, but it is a nice hotel. The breakfast was great, and coffee delivered to the room was nice. The rooms are kinda small, but unlike another reviewer our plumbing was fine. The location is very central, and so close to the train station that you can get anywhere from there. The deck clerks were very helpful, and when our car to the airport did not show up they made sure that we got to the airport in plenty of time. So if you are looking for 4 star luxury you will be somewhat disappointed, but it is a great 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: ask for the room with the patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

Great location, very clean, great service and a wonderful breakfast. They gave us our room at noon because it was ready. You will not regret staying at this hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Wiseguy15
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fairfield County, CT
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

My family rented two rooms in June of 2012. The rooms were comfortable, bed was great, decore was nice, good bathroom and they offered an energy efficent lighting system. The view was nice out side our windows. Breakfast was complimentary, eggs were iffy some days some days they were good. There are limited restaurant options in the area, not a not of nightlife. Good for sleeping children. Kids loved the tiny elevators. Cabs came in two seconds to wisk you away to all parts rome. The hotel arranged our transport from Rome Airport, about 60 euro. The walk from the Termini train station was not a problem with two children and one senior. I would stay again if I had kids or was traveling with a senor couple. It's quiet clean near enough to everthing and far enought away from everything. The TV remotes were a challenge and the staff was hit or miss, luckally more hit's then misses. One thing that Best Western does not tell you when you reserve your room is the city tax is not included. It's not huge but it clearly says on your reservation that the price includes all fees and taxes. No true in my experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpd-mpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Direttore vendite at Best Western Hotel Artdeco, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Guest
we thank you for your review. We appreciate your comment for our breakfast and good location.
We take particularly care for family and children in our hotel Artdeco.
We regret for the inconvenience for the city tax. Not all the operators gave good informations about that.
Also for us It's very unpleasant to"surprise" our guest at the end of the stay with this 03.00 euro per person per night, but the Governament forced us to ask the city tax to our customers.
We hope that now is all clear for your next stay at the hote Artdeco
Best regards

Emanuele Faini
Sales & Marketing Manager
Hotel Artdeco
Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

My wife and I spent a week of holiday in Roma in Feb 2012. Staff were not the best in the front but helpful, the waiting staffs for the breakfast buffet were excellent! Close proximity to Termini, Republic Plaza, and many boutique restaurants. The hotel is located by many foreign embassies, thus, it was never a problem for my wife and I be out walking around. It is also close to couple groceries stores, an affordable alternative for water, wine, and fresh bread. However, the hotel's plumbing system is TERRIBLE and requires some modern, the TV only has one English speaking channel, weak internet connection, nice decor within the room over all, the room was small but it was expected.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jimmy_OhioState
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel President
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Santina
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma
San Lorenzo
Best Western Globus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Artdeco? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Artdeco

Property: Best Western Hotel Artdeco
Address: Via Palestro 19, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#132 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#226 Business Hotel in Rome
#260 Family Hotel in Rome
#308 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,729 - ₹ 12,981
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Artdeco 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Artdeco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Artdeco
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing