We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Divine Oasis Near the Termini” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. Regis Rome

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The St. Regis Rome
Ranked #84 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgehampton
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Divine Oasis Near the Termini”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

The St. Regis Hotel in Rome truly deserves all five of its stars. The building is breathtaking - a renovated piece of Italian history. The lobby is elegant with plenty of seating, fresh floral arrangements, and lots of marble. The staff greet you with old-world professional courtesy and no question is treated lightly. The halls are wide, the rooms impeccably decorated, the bathrooms are very modern, and the bed was blissfully comfortable. We enjoyed breakfast in the second tier of the lobby every morning which we could serve ourselves from an incredible buffet or we could choose to be served. The food was delicious and you never felt rushed but rather like you were meant to sit back and bask in the beauty of this space.

When we arrived and were escorted to our room, the young man explained some of the history of the building including the 104-year-old elevator that still works. Peter and I were like children, we couldn't get over the fun and novelty of riding that elevator to breakfast every morning - pulling the cage door shut after we got on board.

The hotel is conveniently located - near the Termini and in walking distance to the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and the Colosseum - and our room was exceptionally quiet for being in such a busy city. After a day roaming this very ancient noisy city and its ruins, it was a pleasure to re-enter this oasis of modern quiet luxury (and enjoy a Campari and soda in the very elegant bar). I can only hope to return before I die.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor on the inside with a courtyard right outside our window - quiet and beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CDWBridgehampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive and encouraging feedback. It is a great pleasure that the entire St. Regis team could contribute in different ways to create a memorable experience for you to treasure. We especially appreciate that you have noticed the original 1894 lift, which was designed and built by Cesar Ritz and registered as the 13th modern elevator of the era in Rome. This unique heritage piece was motioned initially by a hydraulic pump system utilizing water from the adjacent 16th century Moses Fountain. Today the same shell - or “rising room” as the elevator was named at the time - equipped with the latest technology is still fully operating and we are glad that you mention it!
We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,274
    353
    166
    60
    19
See reviews for
396
950
65
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

This is a truly outstanding hotel that totally lives up to its five-star rating. It’s a place where waiters wear white jackets or tuxedos, bellmen are decked out in smartly tailored uniforms and guests are always greeted politely by the employees they encounter while walking through the hotel’s beautiful, unusually wide hallways. It is an old hotel but has been totally renovated top to bottom in a way that retains its Italian personality while providing all the modern conveniences needed for state-of-the-art comfort. The public areas are lavishly adorned with stylish furniture and rich colors all around, making a powerful impression on all who walk through them. When my wife and I arrived for our three-night stay, our room wasn't ready so the desk clerk, a very nice woman named Frederica, treated us to a complimentary cappuccino in the lobby area while we waited. In just a few minutes, she appeared with keys to our room, which she had upgraded from standard to deluxe, and informed us that our luggage had already been sent up. Our room was huge and beautifully decorated in rich colors and fabrics and very nice art. The bath was truly luxurious and featured floor-to-ceiling marble and separate shower and tub. The shower had a "rainfall" showerhead in the ceiling but also included a handheld shower as well. Large soft robes were hanging on the door hooks and a hair dryer was in a nearby drawer. The king-size bed was amazingly comfortable. There was even a small couch and nice desk. The hotel's lobby manager, Monica, dropped by to welcome us and be sure we liked the room. It was but another example of the hotel's warm, excellent service. Later, a young and polite room service waiter showed up with a bowl of fresh Italian-grown fruit as a welcome gift. A breakfast buffet served just off the lobby was very nice when we tried it on a later day. It included a wide assortment of pastries, breads, juices, and omelets as well as really good coffee delivered in little china pots. The nearby bar was elegant and the bartender was professional and polite in the best of European traditions. The hotel location is very convenient, with lots of shopping and restaurants nearby. We were able to walk to the Coliseum and Trevi Fountain even though my wife and I are in our mid to late 60s. The only exception to the wonderful service we found throughout the St. Regis was a young, somewhat smug man at the concierge desk who seemed intent on steering us to an expensive guided tour of the Vatican when we only wanted to buy a ticket and go in unescorted. He warned us that to buy a ticket we would have to stand in a long line at the Vatican unless we bought it online. He didn't mention that we could purchase online at the hotel itself. Another concierge later proved more helpful by escorting us the hotel's business center where we were given free access to a computer by a very helpful staff. We bought and printed our tickets right there. It cost us about $200 less than the guided tour would have cost. The St. Regis is a world-class hotel with world-class service. It isn't cheap but few things worth having are. If you want a really nice, comfortable hotel the next time you are in Rome, you really should try the St. Regis.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RonANorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear Guest,
We truly appreciate you taking the time to share in detail your experience at the St. Regis and we are so pleased that you had a wonderful visit. Please be assured that we will share your rewarding comments with Federica, Monica and the entire team, as they represent the best possible encouragement in our constant effort to deliver a bespoke service to our Guests.
We are proud to offer unrivaled accommodations and are glad that you could experience an enhanced room taking pleasure in the colorful and richly decorated collection of figurative artworks created by young and talented artists. Each artwork has its history and story to tell, that can be consulted in our especially created collection book “Art in Hotel - Volume II” available in our Suites or upon request through the Butler Service Desk.
Thank you as well for mentioning the very convenient position for visiting all historical attractions within a short distance. This is truly helpful for all future Guests, consulting TripAdvisor before their own trips.
We are relieved that the inconvenience occurred with one of our Concierges did not affect your overall experience and his colleague could make up for the situation, allowing you to enjoy an interesting and spiritual visit at the Vatican.
Again, thank you for recognizing our mission of providing exceptional service.
Sincerely yours,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stay ended June 11. Tried to decide on which hotel to stay at with our priorities being location to Roma Termini, metro and classic hotel. First the good: The hotel is about 3 blocks from Roma Termini and was a simple walk even with luggage. The train is much lower cost than taxi and quicker. The hotel is classic in every sense. The lobby is large for a Rome hotel and the doorman immediately greeted us. We arrived early and out room was not ready yet. They seated us in the breakfast / lunch area and provided offered cappacino, soda or beer / wine for free (cappacino was great). the room was excellent, two rooms and a great bathroom. The fresco above the bed and artwork made you feel like we were in a museum. The service throughout the stay was exceptional. The breakfast was very expensive (42 Euros each) but was great for a European hotel (we had free breakfast due to platinum level). The bathroom was great with rainfall shower. The metro was 1 block away and connections to the Colleseo stop was one transfer and 3 stops away for 1.5 Euro each way. Very simple and much lower cost than taxis. We walked to Trevi Fountain, Pantheon and Spanish Steps which were about a 20 minute walk. We prefer to eat outside when in Rome and ate near Trevi Fountain. The hotel is expensive but ideally suited and like a museum.

Room Tip: Two room deluxe or imperial rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank illiniwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for selecting the St. Regis Hotel and for detailing the experiences of your stay. We are happy to hear that you found rest and relaxation in our iconic landmark and it is a pleasure reading your appreciation for the artworks. Each room’s décor and artistic creations are different and represent the individual charm and soul of our accommodations. Together with the room number, each Apartment has its specific name in line with the fine art painting above the bed.
Thank you as well for mentioning the bathroom and separate rainfall shower, which we provide in all accommodations as a standard of true luxury. Your precious advices on transportation-means will surely help future Guests thinking about staying at our property, being within a short distance from the historical sites of the city and with easy access to public transportation.
We hope your future traveling will include another stay at the St. Regis Rome!
Kind Regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

We arrived at St Regis and was warmly greeted by all personnel. We arrived about an hour before check in and were graciously offered coffee and cookies as we waited for our room to be prepared. Once it was ready, we were personally escorted through the hotel to our room, being advised of various areas in the hotel as we went. Once in the room, we were shown the various amenities, room controls, etc.
The gourmet breakfast buffet each morning was well prepared and delicious.
The hotel is centrally located about 5 minutes walk from Termini train station.

Room Tip: all rooms are unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eloise1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we are very grateful for your positive feedback about our bespoke service, reflected by the entire St. Regis Team. We will share your rewarding comments with our Executive Chef, who surely appreciates your compliments for the accurate selection and preparation of our breakfast Buffet. Thank you as well for highlighting our location as a convenient position for your travel arrangements within Rome.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the discreet hospitality of the St. Regis for another exceptional experience.
Sincerely,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed in Rome during one of the legs of the honeymoon. Stayed for 2 nights and overall the impression was not good for a 5 star hotel. The hotel and the rooms were old, the food was below average (the waiter forgot one of our orders and the food wasn't even good), the service is average only (I've got better service from 4 star hotels with no brand name management).

The hotel itself was ok, just a little old, but I must say that the service needs some improvement to make it top notch. It's definitely a "safe" choice, but don't expect to be wowed by it. If you want to be wowed, go to the St Regis in Florence, Italy.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shaun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at the St. Regis Hotel during your recent visit to Rome. We are grateful for your feedback, allowing us to improve and follow up where your expectations were not met to a full extent. We are sorry for any inconveniences that may have occurred during your interactions with one of our waiters. We regularly train all our staff to a genuine and caring attitude; anticipating our valued Guests’ needs, so please be assured that we will follow up at an operational level to prevent that such a situation may repeat in the future.
The St. Regis Rome, being the first luxury Hotel in the city, was built in 1894 under the guidance of the grand hotelier Cesar Ritz. While we follow modern changes offering our Guests the latest technology, we try at the same time to preserve the unique historical atmosphere of our iconic landmark. We are aware that your good faith has now been affected and can only hope that, reading the very positive feedbacks we receive, you may reconsider your decision and choose to stay with us again, so that we may show you the result of our continuous efforts and improvements.
Kind Regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#31 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#6 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#58 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Rome? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Rome

Property: The St. Regis Rome
Address: 3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rome
#9 Spa Hotel in Rome
#43 Family Hotel in Rome
#49 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#57 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 23,348 - ₹ 57,427
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caesar Ritz proudly opened "The Grand" in 1894 as Rome's first luxury hotel and today it still maintains the prestigious status to be one of the world's finest hotels. Each guest room or suite features a unique identity and is exquisitely appointed in a combination of Empire, Regency and Louis XV styles. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the hotel lobby, at Le Grand Bar and at Vivendo Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The St. Regis Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Rome Hotel Rome
St Regis Rome
Rome St Regis Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing