We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Ranked #118 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor Locks, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The staff was professional and service impeccable --- Hotel is centrally located, within walking distance to most major sites ---
also, recommend the little restaurant directly across from the entrance --- food was great and the pasta e figiol soup was the best I've had

Room Tip: upgrade from Standard - rooms can be small (which is not unusual for Italy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto V, Direttore at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Mr-Mrs,
We thank you so much for you very kind comment on your very last stay with us.
We are pleased to know that you have appreciated the location of the hotel and the most attractive places around the area.

We really hope to have soon the chance to welcome you again and offer you something special to drink on our Terrace or in the inside lobby bar.

At your disposal for everything

Best Regards

Roberto E. Vannoni and the Hotel Raphael Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    850
    317
    118
    46
    36
See reviews for
232
818
46
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
montclair nj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Beautifully clean well appointed rooms,staff well trained and eager to help.location excellent.As soon as we arrived we new we chose the right hotel.The first person you may meet could be Desire,that's right Desire.She will jump at chance to help you.
The rooftop terrace could be the best view in town,again excellent service .Steven,the Italian speaking Englishman ,will keep you entertained .next time in Rome Raphael.
The Vails 408 5 May 2012

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmvMontclairNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights in mid-May 2012 during our 3 week vacation in Italy. It was our first trip to Rome and the hotel choices were mind boggling. We've had great luck with Relais & Chateaux properties in the past, so that was my resource for finding the hotel. We arrived around 9:00 AM and our room wasn't ready. While they were checking on the status they brought us drinks and a tray of pastries. The location off the Piazza Navona was ideal, we were within 10-20 minutes walking of most major attractions. We were in the Richard Meier Junior Suite - the room was nice and large, very modern, not decorated like the rest of the hotel. The bathroom was gigantic w/ a wonderfully deep tub and equally wonderful shower. The staff was very friendly and accommodating - the buffet breakfast was fantastic - wide variety of food, eggs, meats, fresh breads, fresh fruits and juices and champagne. The restaurant served one of our best meals in Italy - not only in Rome, but our entire trip - and we ate at all of the top rated Tripadvisor restaurants. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. We walked our way through Rome and there wasn't a single area that we thought topped this location.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KVM0716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto V, Direttore at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Mr and Mrs,
We thank you so much for your wonderful comment on Tripadvisor.
You ahve been so kind to describe the service at the hotel with so much beautiful words. We are glad that you have appraciated the welcome drink , your room and all the staff.

We really hope to have soon the chance to welcome you again and offer you something special to drink on our Terrace or in the inside lobby bar.

At your disposal for everything

Best Regards

Roberto E. Vannoni and the Hotel Raphael Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We were to be in Rome for a week and decided to splurge and stay at a nice hotel. We made a mistake with Hotel Raphael. This is a very expensive place and is supposed to be decorated with antiques and beautiful throughout. The pros: The location is excellent and the hotel outside is pretty, and there are pretty antiques in the lobby area. The view from our large room was nice. The cons: the room was not as expected. The furniture was completely square, laminated particle board and beat up - like old IKEA furniture. The small sofa and bench were covered with dull brown, ugly fabric. The very heavy orange drapes had mold on the back side in some places. The tub didn't drain and the hair dryer left out by the hotel did not work in the bathroom wall socket. The bathroom had almost no horizontal space - only a few square inches around the sink and I ended up putting my things on the closed toilet seat while getting ready. The terrace restaurant is pretty but the much touted food only average. The staff at the desk was sometimes helpful and other times terse and even rude depending on who we talked to about arranging tours of sites, and our lost camera.

Overall, this hotel is only average or below average(the furniture in our room) and not worth the $400 a night we paid!

Room Tip: We were in room 512 - perhaps other rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lynnkwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto V, Direttore at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear Mrs. and Mr. White,
we thank you to have posted this comment on Tripadvisor regarding your last stay at the hotel.
We are really sprry that you had some inconvenient in your room. We will check all problems you talked about and we are pleased to let you know that in any case we have provided you a free upgrade in an higher room category than the one originally reserved.

We really hope that you next stay will be more pleasant and will do our best to assist you in any sistuation.Furthermore, we will be to offer you something special to drinkl on our Terrace or in the inside lobby bar.

We remain at your entire disposal for any further information

Best Regards

Roberto E. Vannoni and the Raphael Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Hotel Raphael has a lot going for it. Location can't be beat. . We stayed in one of The Richard Meier Junior Suites and it was very nice. Staff is courteous and professional. Breakfast is impressive and the little deserts left in the room are a nice touch. As was the bottle of wine. So why did't I rate this higher.? The hotel is located in a very lively area. The windows when closed do a good job of keeping the noise to a minimum. However, the conditioning had not been turned on and the room could get warm and stuffy. When we opened the windows, the noise was loud enough we needed ear plugs at night. I would encourage management to rethink their policy on when to turn on the air. I really enjoyed the hotel but that one drawback would have me thinking seriously about not returning.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeenaroundRj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto V, Direttore at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Dear Mr.-Mrs.
we thank you so mcuh to have had the time to write about your recent stay at the Raphael Hotel.
We are pleased for all your kind words about the room and the breakfast, and it is a pleasure to know that you have appraciated our services.
To the other hand, concerning the problem with air conditionning, we would liek to inform you that we are working about it and from November of this year, in all rooms will be provided the authomatic air controler, in order to have cold or hot air as guests prefer.

We really hope to have soon the chance to welcome you again and to offer you something special to drink you on our Terrace or in the lobby bar.

At your disposal for any kind of information

Best Regards

Roberto E. Vannoni and the Hotel Raphael Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,258 in Rome
409 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#110 of 1,258 in Rome
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#115 of 1,258 in Rome
851 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#82 of 1,258 in Rome
1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux

Property: Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Address: Piazza Navona Largo Febo 2 | Piazza Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#78 Family Hotel in Rome
#84 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#108 Business Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,072 - ₹ 41,288
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raphael Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing