We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,617)
Filter reviews
2,617 results
Traveller rating
1,157
769
431
163
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,157
769
431
163
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviews via veneto heavenly bed starwood points spanish steps american embassy beautiful hotel concierge desk classic hotel steam room villa borghese upgraded to a suite trevi fountain marble bathroom an upgrade five star hotel hotel restaurant room was large
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 2,617 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2018

We were treated with care and respect from the time that we walked through the door. Our room was not ready yet, as we were checking in two hours early, so we got upgraded to a better room. We were so tired and we had just walked from the train station. We love how Gold Members get treated so special. We appreciate all of your care and concern for our comfortable stay at the Rome Westin Excelsior. A wonderful place to stay and very helpful in getting a taxi to the airport as well. Thanks for all !! All of them were perfect, from check in to check out. The man who checked us in even kept our bags behind the desk until our room was ready and then sent them up to our room. It was all perfect. Thank you. The size, the comfort, the beauty of the rooms, the wonderful and perfect bed. The great bathroom facilities. All great. Bottled water in room.

Room Tip: Corner rooms appear to be multi-room suites.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Van P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcL2018, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Dear VanP
Thank you for giving us the maximum score of 5/5 and for saying your had a great stay
Your nice comments about our associates really motivates us.
Arrivederci !
Marc Lannoy
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

While we stayed here as part of our post-cruise package, the hotel provided us with a very good breakfast buffet, a comfortable bed, and a good level of internet access. The check-in staff did not overly impress us with their hospitality/customer service skills.

The mini-frig is set up to trigger charges to the occupant if the lower shelves and the food/drink stocked items are disturbed. The upper shelf is for guest use, however.

The room was quite big by hotel standards and it was maintained farily well. It must be difficult to keep carpeting clean; we noticed that this room (122) could use a cleaning.

The decor reminded us of something we would find in Venice; there was such a nice old mansion feeling to this hotel in general and to our room in particular. The walls are covered in fabric that evokes the character of those Venetian mansions on the canals. Crystal chandeliers hung from the 14' tall ceilings (maybe even taller than that) in the bedroom room and the bathroom. Nice touch of elegance!

During our too-brief stay, the President of Mozambique (and his entourage) were hotel guests. The hotel had the Carbinieri forces on security assignment detail and it seemed that this visit was surrounded by all the trappings of diplomatic importance.

We spent a day walking to the big tourist hot-spots, filled with throngs of tour group congestion. it was a delight to leave it all and make our way back to the Excelsior.

In the surrounding area, there are many dining options for budget-minded folks and also for those who want a nice evening out. All one has to do is walk in about a 2-3 block area around the hotel and stop in to check out the various offerings.

In retrospect, the hotel was nicer than we expected but it is a bit removed by distance from things we wanted to see and do.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank on_the_go_98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcL2018, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Dear on_the_go_98765
Thank you for your extensive review and happy to read you liked our “imperial” style rooms
Looking forward to welcome you back for a longer stay
Sincerely
Marc Lannoy
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

We just returned from two weeks in Italy, ending with six days in Rome, staying at the fabulous Westin Excelsior. This luxurious hotel offers THE BEST service from all staff: housekeeping, maintenance, the front desk, the bartender (Kanye), the concierge, and the bellmen. Twice I stopped at the front desk to make sure that the hotel manager knew how well we were being taken care of. We enjoyed an upgrade to what will probably be the most beautiful room I will ever stay in for the rest of my life! We were celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary with this trip, and the hotel staff made us feel like a king and queen. Thank you all for what you do every day for your customers. We were so fortunate to be able to enjoy it.
Tip: Load the MyTaxi app on your phone if you plan to use taxis, although Uber Black works in Rome as well. Taxis begin charging as soon as you call for them, and the MyTaxi app calls for the closest taxi to your location. Also make sure that you verify with the taxi driver that the SET rate to the airport is 48 euros. No more.
Citymapper app works in Rome as well.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fromAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcL2018, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Dear Atl
Thank you for saying that the hotel is fabulous and that the service was at it’s best
You made our day !
Sincerely,
Marc Lannoy
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

This must have been a five star hotel back when they first bought the dirty rug 50 years ago. But now it’s tired and old. Chips on all the furniture. Dingy banged up walls. I saw a room service tray sitting out in the hall for two days. The people who work there are very nice. They spend a lot of time apologizing to disappointed guests. They do it well. I wouldn’t stay there again unless it gets a complete overhaul. On a positive note.... great location.

Stayed: September 2018
2  Thank Janine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcL2018, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Dear Janine M
Thank you for saying that our associates are very nice and that we have a great location
I have well noted all your points for improvements and regret we did not meet your expectations
Sincerely
Marc Lannoy
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

Great service, staff, rooms are large, everything is clean, good spa, gym, great location, this is truly a solid property. However, it is a bit dated and in need of a renovation, hopefully that will come in the near future.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank travelalot603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcL2018, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Dear travelalot603
Thank you for saying that the service was great and that we are a good hotel
We are indeed planning a full renovation of the hotel and look forward to welcome you again
Arrivederci !
Marc Lannoy
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews