We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“5 Star Hotel in a great section of Rome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Excelsior, Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Ranked #201 of 1,293 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Level Contributor
147 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“5 Star Hotel in a great section of Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed this hotel. This was located in an area just minutes away from the Spanish steps, so we were able to walk everywhere. In addition, the staff was very friendly and even upgraded our room for us. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback.
It is great to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our property and its strategic location.
We were glad to provide you with the best possible accommodation and to make your stay even more memorable and pleasurable.
We look forward to welcome you back at Westin Excelsior Rome on you next trip to the Eternal City!
Sincerely,
The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    909
    629
    345
    129
    63
See reviews for
526
797
59
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Hats off to the Manager on Duty , Pablo Uberti Sanz !
We arrived in our wonderful suite Friday afternoon( yesterday) only to find out that Saturday was a holiday and that all of the drycleaning I needed wouldn't be available until Monday night and we are to leave early Tuesday. We had been to Paris and had waited and expected to have the dry cleaning done on arrival in Rome.
After some misinformation about a local drycleaner i wandered around Rome looking for it no avail, the Manager, Pablo, heard about it and came up personally to send my clothes to a sister hotel who had on site dry cleaning and made sure it was delivered back to the Excelsio late last night.
Today it arrived in my room from a friendly and smiling concierge , folded in beautiful bags looking better than new.
On top of that he sent us Champagne and strawberries as well.
Pablo is a tribute to Hotel Management and Excelsior is very lucky to have him as we were.
Thanks Pablo for turning the negative into a positive.

It's a beautiful day here in Rome and we are off after we finish our room service coffee ( ten minutes!)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elliotandlindyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to communicate your experience during your last stay with us.
The Westin Excelsior Rome continuously strives in providing impeccable customer service to its guests. It is always wonderful to know that we are shining examples of great service.
Thank you once again for your words of praise and we look forward to welcome you back!.
Sincerely,
The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City
Level Contributor
409 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 547 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Westin Excelsior is a grand dame of a hotel in a great location. In five minutes we are at the Spanish Steps and history is a walk from there. We stayed at the Intercontinental Hotel del Ville the last time and are just as pleased. Rooom is comfortable and clean. Staff are courteous and knowledgable. Breakfast is very good, better than expected.

I did not like that on check in, the desk clerk informed me that my secretary/travel agent reserved a deluxe king bedded single room for me and as we were two, the rate for the room was 70 Euros higher. I said fine and then was disappointed to get to room 670 and see it is one queen bed, not king. Fine, we are happy in a queen too, but why the jump in rate for a smaller room than reserved?

Room in good shape but no service until ater 4 pm even though we are out for breakfast and tours by 8 am.

Odd is the chandelier, a luxury in the room, one burnt out bulb (it is now day 3 of our 6 days here) since we arrived and others at angles. They need a taller ladder or taller light bulb changer. See photo.

Regardless, would stay here again in Rome. Nice location and very comfortable. Disappointed to have my bathing suit ready and to find out when I show up at the book that it is closed this entire week for renovations.

Room Tip: There is another elevator across the reading room that was closer to my room than the main elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience.
It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed our historical property and its strategic location.
Thank you for the appreciation of our staff that works really hard to make every guest stay a memorable experience. Also we are glad to know that we were able to exceed your expectations with our large breakfast buffet.
However we are really sorry that you could not experience our swimming pool due to a complete unexpected maintenance works. A small piece of mosaic detached and in order to avoid any possible injuries, the area was restricted for two days. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience.
We look forward to welcome you back soon in order to extend our best care and attention.
Sincerely,
The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I have read a lot of reviews of the Westin before I stayed there and found a pattern that most if not all negative reviews are from visitors in the US or Canada. Therefore I decided to write a review from a Europeans perspective. The hotel is old but grand and has existed much longer than probably 99% of hotels in North America. Therefore the structure has certain things which cannot be changed. However I think the Westin has really done a good job by creating a modern hotel in a traditional building. We had a corner suite (room 328) and it was lovely. No chipped paint or dust collection in the room and everything worked as it should (i.e. shower, toilet, sink, internet etc.). The suite was very large and had a comfortable bed. As others have noted the kind size bed are two single beds put together. Room service was prompt and there was no mix up in our orders and we ordered room service three times during our stay. Staff was polite in general but being typical Italian so do not expect the overly friendly and chatty American guy. This is Italy after all and people just behave differently and I found there English perfectly understandable and they understood me. Breakfast was good and had a nice and big selection which catered to everyone. The lifts were all very quick and one of them was brand new so I do not understand the comment by one reviewer who said they were from the seventies. I wonder which lift the reviewer used. Location is perfect and we did our sightseeing on foot and the Spanish steps are just five minutes away and everything else is absolutely doable on foot. Rome really is a lovely city.
I would certainly return to this hotel again and I was unnecessarily worried by all these negative reviews which did not reflect my stay at this great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetsetlife888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the positive review of our property! Your comments are truly appreciated and give us a great sense of accomplishment!
We hope to have again the pleasure of your visit very soon!
Sincerely,
The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKHAM
Level Contributor
606 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 536 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

A bit out of the way, but well worth it. In a residential area with local restaurants and services.
Lobby fantastic. Rooms large and comfortable. Everything works well.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeFMarkhamON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your feedback.
We are glad that we were able to meet your expectations and you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for appreciation and we look forward to welcome you back again at our property.
Sincerely,
The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#85 of 1,293 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#113 of 1,293 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#213 of 1,293 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#102 of 1,293 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Excelsior, Rome? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior, Rome

Property: The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Address: 125, Via Vittorio Veneto, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Rome
#114 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#131 Business Hotel in Rome
#181 Family Hotel in Rome
#212 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,181 - ₹ 36,425
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior, Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restful and invigorating stay awaits you in one of our 281 rooms and 35 suites, few steps from Rome center and facing Via Veneto, hearth of DolceVita.Our rooms will welcome you with maximum comfort and technology and are equipped with the revitalizing Westin Heavenly Bed ®, high-speed Internet connection (surcharge), LCD flat screen televisions, pay-per-view movies and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Agoda, Prestigia and Expedia so you can book your The Westin Excelsior, Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior, Rome Hotel Rome
Westin Rome
Westin Excelsior Hotel
Rome Westin
Excelsior Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing