We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel - Comfort, Location, Helpful Staff”
Review of Hotel Lancelot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Lancelot
Ranked #36 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Tx
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel - Comfort, Location, Helpful Staff”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We were so pleased with Hotel Lancelot. My husband and I traveled with two teenagers, so we had two rooms. Both rooms were quite attractive and functional. We found the rooms small, but the beds were really comfortable, and the air-conditioning felt wonderful. As a diabetic, I need to be careful food-wise. The breakfast provided by the hotel each morning was just fabulous. There is fresh fruit, milk, cereal, boiled eggs, cold cuts, all kinds of breads, juices and coffee. Definitely something for everyone. The staff at the front desk was extremely helpful with suggestions for restaurants, making tour reservations for us, directing us to shops, etc. They just couldn't have been more helpful. Another plus about the Hotel Lancelot is its location so close to the Colosseum and Ancient Rome. I was surprised how many sites are actually within walking distance if you like to walk (Trevi Fountain, for example). We stayed 7 nights and hated to leave. We would definitely stay at Lancelot again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephine1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,241
    443
    81
    12
    5
See reviews for
505
667
78
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston Tx
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We arrived in Rome rather early and had a horrific cab ride to our hotel. I was ready to kiss the ground when we arrived. Anyway, upon arrival around 9:00 a.m., they let us know that our room would be available shortly but we could enjoy their breakfast while we waited. The breakfast was good and included cereals, bagels and smoked salmon, meats and cheeses as well as bread, fruit and yogurt as well as several different fresh juices, coffee and teas. What a nice surprise to get to sit down and relax after that ride. Note that the cab ride from the airport to this hotel should be about 45 Euros. Unfortunately we hadn't read the Rick Steve's notes on cab rides at this point. They WILL rip you off if you are not saavy to their games. Count the money out in their hands that way there will be no questions as to how much you gave him/her. Anyway, while our bed was quite hard, the room was clean and nice. The front desk folks were always very helpful. They also arranged for our transportation to the cruise terminal since we were leaving on a cruise the next morning. The ride to the cruise terminal was perfect. This hotel is close to the Colusseum so we were able to get out and about near by to stretch our legs and see some sights. The hotel is located on a side street so it is quiet and relaxing. They also have a little bar where we enjoyed evening drinks before heading to dinner. They have a nightly dinner that sounded fantastic but since we were in Rome, we had to get out and have food elsewhere. I highly recommend this hotel based on friendly helpful staff, location, clean rooms, bar and breakfast service. Oh they also have free wifi.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

My husband and I visited Rome in May 2012. We chose the Lancelot as our hotel and we were very glad we did. Our room was small but had a very nice bathroom clean and tiled. The bed was comfortable though the bedspread was worn. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and we used their car service to get to the airport for 40 euro. The breakfast was awesome with many choices of cereal, breads, cheeses, yogurts, and fruits and other items too numerous to mention. There are two good restaurants close by and the bus service is also close. I felt very safe walking all around the entire area.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor at the front of the building and we heard no noise during the night. Nothin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smw48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed at the Lancelot for four nights beginning June 30 and for one night on July 8 (we traveled to and stayed in Sorrento in between our stays here). The hotel is a short walk to the Colosseum, Roman Forum, some great restaurants, bus stops and metro. It is in a quiet neighborhood.

Upon check-in there was some confusion over the two rooms we booked. We had requested that one room be a triple (which we received) and the other room have two beds - which we didn't receive at first so we had to go back to the front desk to get a different room which we had to wait several hours for as it was being cleaned. Thus, we got to see several different rooms in the hotel. The rooms vary in size as do the bathrooms. Our triple room was very small and cramped as was its bathroom, which had only a shower. The room with the two beds, however, was roomy and the bathroom was bigger with a bathtub. The rooms we had during our last night there were both sizeable but the bathrooms had only a shower.

Wifi worked most of the time, although it did have its "moments".

Breakfast was average.

Hotel staff were all very nice and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda_A_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Hotel Lancelot is a real step back in time - great service, attentive staff, old world courtesies. Great location - away from the madness but just close enough that you are not wasting time commuting to the sights. Get a room with a view of he Colisseum!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puravida2011NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#149 of 1,256 in Rome
974 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#15 of 1,256 in Rome
582 reviews
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#69 of 1,256 in Rome
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#82 of 1,256 in Rome
2,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lancelot? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lancelot

Property: Hotel Lancelot
Address: Via Capo d'Africa 47 | Colosseum - Celio, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Rome
#39 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#44 Business Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,073 - ₹ 16,634
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lancelot 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lancelot is a peaceful haven at a short stroll from the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. The friendly english speaking staff are always willing to help you with suggestions and tips on discovering Rome's treasure's. A distinctive feature of the Hotel are the " round tables" at which people from every corner of the earth meet and converse over breakfast or the generous evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lancelot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancelot Hotel Rome
Hotel Lancelot Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing