We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All-around Lovely!”
Review of Hotel Lancelot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Lancelot
Ranked #37 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Lancelot with a group of graduate students studying in Rome for two weeks. We loved this hotel! Every single person who works for this hotel went out of their way to be helpful, cheerful, and sincere. When our studies took us to Florence and a very over-styled hotel, we were all longing to come back to the Hotel Lancelot. You will feel like family here! Everyday was started with breakfast in the dining room and then it was just a short walk to the Coliseum and buses or Metro. When we came back in the evenings, the staff would ask us about our day, and make sure we were set for dinner plans--dinner at the hotel is a great price, includes wine, and is delicious. This is just an all-around great place!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jannrasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,886)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,119 - 1,123 of 1,886 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2012

We came to the hotel on a recommendation and will be sending on the recommendation to others! We arrived at around 9pm and were greeted warmly and asked had we eaten. We took up the offer of some dinner in the hotel once we had left our bags to our room. The rooms are small (what you come to expect in Europe) but they feel spacious and airy, there is plenty of room for 2! The beds are comfortable and clean and the bathroom adequate. Staying in Rome you don’t exactly what to be hanging out in your room! The food at the hotel is lovely, the dinner provided after our late arrival was very welcome and delicious, we received 4 courses and two bottles of wine, I can’t remember the price but know it was very reasonable for what we received. Breakfast is buffet style, local meats and cheeses, cereal, fruit, yogurts, pastries and juices are provided. Location wise you are right next to the Colosseum, the Roman Forum and gardens, while you might think this is a little out of the way of central Rome, you have the metro/train station, and all the tour busses call at the Colosseum, or do as we did and get walking in this beautiful city!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vix7817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Wife and I stayed here for three days preceding a Trafalgar tour. In all aspects - location, rooms, friendly environment, it was first rate. Mrs Khan has assembled a staff that works together with a genuinely helpful and caring attitude to make one's stay a delight. So very helpful! We are retired and knew that after a day in the city we would be tired, so we took the offer for a half-board rate with dinner in the hotel. Good food (cooked by son of the owner); we met other travelers and thoroughly enjoyed the home-like experience. After experiencing the hotels on the following tour, our rating of Lancelot went to six stars! We'd stay there again should we return to Rome. The location is great for visiting the city; many sights are withing easy walking distance. The bus stops are close by and we took them to places like Villa Borghese and the Vatican with ease; the hotel has the bus/Metro tickets. Very highly recommended!

Room Tip: Sixth floor has direct access to the terrace which has flowers and a great view of the Colosseo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I was in Rome from the 14th to the 18th of May and stayed at the Hotel Lancelot. The personal was friendly and attentive, the roundtable dinner with interesting. However the rooms I stayed in was very small and the hotel is on the outskirts of the center of the city.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MSacauskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

I spent 4 nights at the Hotel Lancelot. I had a wonderful experience there. The beds were firm but also soft. The matress was comfortable, but firm enough to not know that there was someone on the other side of the bed turning over.

The staff was so helpful with questions and advice. I have a gluten allergy and the staff was very accomodating with my meals. a basket was placed out at breakfast with gluten free goodies. I loved their "Round Table" dinners. For 30 euro you had a 3 course meal and unlimited wine. You are seated with other guests and get to have lively discussions while meeting new people. Again, they accomodated my gluten allergy by making me a special dessert of fruit and sorbet.

The bar is very cute and cozy. They have a bookshelf where you can leave books. A trove of Italy books have been left for you to peruse. I donated 3 myself when I left Italy.

The location is fantastic. it is so close to the Coliseum, but down a very quiet street. City traffic is usually an issue at hotels, but this place was wonderfully quiet.

They also accomodated my friend and I by allowing me to pay for 2 nights with my credit card, and her paying for 2 nights with her card.

I would absolutely stay here again. It was truly a bargain and an incredible find of a hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank citygirl00110024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#137 of 1,272 in Rome
1,052 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#21 of 1,272 in Rome
1,227 reviews
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#67 of 1,272 in Rome
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Relais 6
#39 of 1,272 in Rome
1,932 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#11 of 1,272 in Rome
3,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lancelot? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lancelot

Address: Via Capo d'Africa 47 | Colosseum - Celio, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Rome
#39 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#44 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: ₹ 7,841 - ₹ 16,163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lancelot 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lancelot is a peaceful haven at a short stroll from the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. The friendly english speaking staff are always willing to help you with suggestions and tips on discovering Rome's treasure's. A distinctive feature of the Hotel are the " round tables" at which people from every corner of the earth meet and converse over breakfast or the generous evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lancelot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancelot Hotel Rome
Hotel Lancelot Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing