We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend in Rome”
Review of Hotel Lancelot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Lancelot
Ranked #36 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend in Rome”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed at the Lancelot for 4 nights and it lived up to its reputation. We had asked online for a car to collect us at the airport and to recommend a place for Sunday luinch. All our enquiries were answered promptly and efficiently by the hotel and the arrangements worked perfectly. 50 euros for a chauffered car for two compared favourably with other alternatives (train + taxi or taxi alone). The staff and the owner Mrs Khan cannot have been more helpful during our stay,not only answering all our questions but asking after our welfare. The round tables for breakfast worked wonderfully and we met with a wide variety of people. We ate in the hotel on one evening and it was freshly cooked with good ingredients and wine supplied.
Overall this conveniently placed hotel,not 600 m from the Colosseo,helped make our stay in Rome. I would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,256
    448
    81
    12
    5
See reviews for
514
672
79
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
coppell texas usa
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed at the Lancelot for 3 nights. The staff was more than helpful in helping us to get around and find restuarants. I cannot say enough nice things about this hotel!!! One of the best I have ever encountered.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbaradtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

My brother and I took our mother (in her 70s) to Rome for a long weekend and were after a clean, practical hotel - friendly reasonable price; and well located for the sights without being on top of them and in a crowded area. Have a look at the many positive reviews for Lancelot and you get most of what you need. We had a single (for my mother) and a double (for my brother and I) next door (on the 4th floor; courtyard side).

Lancelot was all the things we were looking for. Far enough from the colosseum so that you are out of the immediate traffic. Rooms that give you what you need (including peace and quiet: we had no noise whatsoever) and a fair price. Some nice coffee shops, restaurants and wine bars just round the corner. The staff are really great: they know what they're talking about; always a smile on their faces. Ferris (the ? owner/general manager) is what you want in that job: attentive to his guests without crowding them; constantly looking for ways to make guests' experience better - a real pro.

My advice would be to have supper in the hotel on your first night. There is an easy-going table share scheme so you will sit with others and get a chance to chat, if you want it. That is not to imply that you are in any way pushed to converse with others: you can be as private as you want, but if you fancy getting ideas from others about Rome then here's an easy chance.

So, in short, for us just perfect. Five stars, without reservations, for what it is: a great hotel for the more serious visitor to Rome (although just fine for kids too as long as you're not looking for entertainment for them in the hotel).

Room Tip: The road the hotel is on is pretty quiet, but you could ask for a higher floor and/or not he courtya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

As many others have stated.... Nicest, friendliest and most helpful staff we've ever run into. Ever. Took care of everything we needed and had great recommendations for things to do, shopping and restaurants.

Additionally, the neighborhood is really nice and quiet. Full of small restaurants and bars.. quiet-ish and much less over run by people than other parts of town and just a few blocks from the Colosseum.

The hotel rooms are on the basic side but very clean, some have nice little balconies or terraces. No fitness room or anything like that but since we were walking 5 miles a day, who cared.. Breakfast was great.

During this trip I also stayed at the Waldorf for a conference. It was beautiful but way out of the way, very expensive and frankly I enjoyed my time at the Lancelot much more. We would absolutely come back again.

Putting together the staff, neighborhood and price for the room, it was a steal. Again, not fancy but great.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ledtau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in fancier hotels, with more amenities and higher price tags... But rarely will you ever find more friendly, helpful staff and ownership than at Lancelot Hotel in Rome. The hotel is simple, clean, and inviting. The food is good. The customer service sets this place apart from all the rest. The owners are passionate about making sure their guests have a good time in Rome and anything they can do to help, they will do. I am very impressed and wouldn't hessitate to send friends or family here or return myself.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gauchito75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#144 of 1,258 in Rome
986 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#15 of 1,258 in Rome
595 reviews
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#70 of 1,258 in Rome
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Princeps Boutique Hotel
Princeps Boutique Hotel
#22 of 1,258 in Rome
373 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#77 of 1,258 in Rome
2,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lancelot? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lancelot

Property: Hotel Lancelot
Address: Via Capo d'Africa 47 | Colosseum - Celio, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Rome
#39 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#44 Business Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,955 - ₹ 16,586
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lancelot 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lancelot is a peaceful haven at a short stroll from the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. The friendly english speaking staff are always willing to help you with suggestions and tips on discovering Rome's treasure's. A distinctive feature of the Hotel are the " round tables" at which people from every corner of the earth meet and converse over breakfast or the generous evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lancelot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancelot Hotel Rome
Hotel Lancelot Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing