We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff and Service!”
Review of Hotel Lancelot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Lancelot
Ranked #29 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I recently (April 2012) stayed at the Hotel Lancelot and it was absolutely wonderful. The staff and service level were excellent. Everyone from the front desk to the bartender were offering suggestions that were off of the beaten path. Ferris was exceptionally wonderful giving us ideas of landmarks that were not in any of the guidebooks, but were nearby and beautiful!

We attended one of the round table dinners and it was quite an experience. The food was excellent, but was better was the company around the table. We met people from Scotland, Australia and others from the US and we were all able to give advice and suggestions on what to do for the next day.

The hotel went above an beyond when at the dinner they mentioned that there was a public transportation strike the next day (our departure day) - and they knew we were leaving and they offered for us to use their private car to make sure we got to the airport on time.

The rooms are clean and a typical European room (smaller than typical American hotels). Great location to public transportation and the Colosseum/Palatine Hill.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,834)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lancelot
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,099 - 1,103 of 1,834 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2012

I am a friendly type of person. The kind that likes to say hello to my neighbours and greet other hotel guests in the corridor. That is why the round table seating at Hotel Lancelot appealed to me so much.

My husband and I visited in September 2008 (I had to click Sept 2011 due to TA choices) as part of our Italian honeymoon tour. You might think it ood that newlyweds would be drawn to this shared table experience but why wouldn't we; we still love talking to and meeting new people no matter what. And we met some fantastic people night after night and laughed and drank the inclusive wine; such fun.

I wasn't over the moon with the first room* so feeling a little deflated on honeymoon, my husband enquired about being moved. This was done quickly and without question. The second room was far more fitting and decorated in a Wedgewood shade of blue.

The staff are attentive; the food is beautiful and well worth the half board option (or opt in each night as we did). The location isn't in the centre of everything but is very close to the Colosseum, easy for access to buses and I've no problem walking in a city this wonderful.

*Looking back, there wasn't a problem with the first room, I think I was just a little spoilt from the huge suite we had just shared in Positano.

Room Tip: Rooms on the highest floor (6th?) have access to shared terrace and a great view of the Colosseum.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OxfordQueenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I cannot say enough good things about the Hotel Lancelot and their staff. Amazingly friendly and helpful. Great location. Rooms were a decent size and well kept. The Roundtable dinner and breakfasts were great ways to meet other travelers. When I had an issue with a B&B I was supposed to move to on the last night after my friends left, they were so good to try and help me contact the other hotel - who's phone, etc. was not weekend. Again, thanks to everyone at the Hotel Lancelot for a great stay in Rome.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PiscesV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Hotel Lancelot was the highlight of our trip to Italy. Our granddaughter and her college roommate joined us for the Easter weekend. We had heard how charming it is, but you have to experience it to know it.

Our rooms were quiet, comfortable, convenient and clean. The lobby and sitting area are lovely.

The food was outstanding -- from the breakfast buffet which is included to the dinner. From appetizer to dessert it was presented beautifully. Red wine and white wine were at every dinner. The tables are set up so that you get to know the other diners, and we met the most delightful people from all over the world.

We would highly recommend the Ferris Magic Night Tour of Rome after dinner. He takes you places you have heard of, but he gives you information you don't get out of textbooks and travel books. He will tell you how the Via Capo d'Africa got its name.

The owners were very congenial as were their staff. They can help you with things like "what to see" and "how to get there."

Thank you, Hotel Lancelot, for making our first trip to Rome so memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I don’t always review the hotels we visit, but the Lancelot deserves special mention.


The same family have run the business since 1971 and it shows in the way that they care for the hotel and their customers. The secret of their success is that they have mastered the mostly forgotten art of keeping things simple and doing them well. The whole place is run with quiet efficiency; the staff stay in the background but are there and very helpful whenever you need them. You are genuinely made to feel like a welcome guest.


The hotel’s website has plenty of useful information and we got the best deal by booking directly with them. Their response to enquiries was prompt and helpful.


We booked a standard room and this was quite spacious, simply furnished but with a large comfortable bed. It faced on to the street but there was very little noise from the quiet road, except for the daily refuse truck which appeared noisily every morning between 8 and 8.30. It’s true that the bathroom was small (one at a time only) but like the rest of the hotel it worked well and was spotlessly clean. There is free wi-fi but if you don’t want to bring your own stuff there is also a free internet room.


For us the best feature was the evening meals, and the hotel policy of encouraging guests to gather at the round tables. If there was a spare seat a member of the family might join also. The meals themselves were of very good quality and included wine, coffee and a liqueur if you wished. This was a very pleasant way to round off the day, sharing conversation and tips about visiting the sights with fellow guests. The staff always managed this in such a way that language was no problem (If you book dinner for three nights or more, there is a worthwhile discount.)


The location is close to the Colosseum and the Forum, but a little further from the other main attractions. If you want to wander Rome’s lively streets after dark you might not want to set out again after dinner, so it’s best to have one or more days as B&B and eat in the town. For character and authentic Roman food at a reasonable price we liked L’Antica Birreria Peroni (it’s in the Trip Advisor restaurant reviews). Although close to the Trevi Fountain it seems to cater much more for locals than tourists, and is well worth checking out.


Two things we found out as first timers in Rome:- There are lots of uneven and cobbled surfaces - take your most comfortable walking shoes. Also, take great care when stepping off the pavement - the traffic treats every set of lights like a Formula 1 starting grid and can come at you from unexpected directions. It’s fine if you stick to the proper crossing places, but jaywalking is not recommended.


We would definitely stay at the Lancelot on any future visit to Rome and can recommend it highly to everyone else for its welcoming atmosphere, good food and company, and its quiet but handy location.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep past 8.00, a room at the back might be best.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fickle-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#139 of 1,267 in Rome
1,004 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#14 of 1,267 in Rome
618 reviews
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#71 of 1,267 in Rome
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Residenza Maritti
Residenza Maritti
#13 of 1,267 in Rome
380 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Monti
Princeps Boutique Hotel
Princeps Boutique Hotel
#20 of 1,267 in Rome
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lancelot? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lancelot

Address: Via Capo d'Africa 47 | Colosseum - Celio, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Rome
#39 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#44 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: ₹ 8,135 - ₹ 17,805 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lancelot 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lancelot is a peaceful haven at a short stroll from the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. The friendly english speaking staff are always willing to help you with suggestions and tips on discovering Rome's treasure's. A distinctive feature of the Hotel are the " round tables" at which people from every corner of the earth meet and converse over breakfast or the generous evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lancelot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancelot Hotel Rome
Hotel Lancelot Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing