We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High marks for Hotel Lancelot!”
Review of Hotel Lancelot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Lancelot
Ranked #37 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
DC Metro area
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“High marks for Hotel Lancelot!”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

If you want to be near the Roman Forum and the Coliseum, then this is it. I would recommend the Hotel Lancelot to anyone I know going to Rome. The staff were so helpful, the rooms, while basic, we're very clean and comfortable. And the breakfast was amazing. My husband is not a breakfast person, but he looked forward to this one each morning. It's ideal if you are looking to spend a good chunk of time at the ancient sites, and while it's a long walk to the Vatican, it is easily doable. It is also located in a very quiet neighborhood which was great for us since we were so tired after spending the entire day exploring Rome. All in all, this was a perfect start to our week in Italy!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMPinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,242
    443
    81
    12
    5
See reviews for
505
667
78
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Quiet area near the Coloseum. Staff couldn't be nicer. Luckily enjoyed dinner with the charming owner, the matriarch of the family, who is kind, informative, accommodating and made our stay even more enjoyable.
We were lucky enough to be there when a Scottish group were in Rome for their patron saint being canonized. This enthusiastic group performed music and sang in the evening after dinner. This small hotel is perfect for family groups with its comfortable sitting areas, lovely patio and balconied rooms.

There is an elevator, charming balcony with beautiful mosaic walled decor and table. Lovely landscaping. Excellent bar and extremely knowledgeable staff.

Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forevermemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beacon Falls, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed in a a triple with a balcony. The room was immaculate. Staff was informative and very pleasant. Location was great. Area was quiet and only a short walk to the Coloseum, Forum, Palantine Hill and Metro. Metro tickets were purchased in the hotel-such a great convenience if traveling throughout Italy,as we were for 3 weeks. We would definately recommend staying there. Breakfast was included and very good. They also served dinner but we chose to go out. We did enjoy the bar area for coffee, alcohol and soft drinks. The very minor things we didn't like: there is no clock in the room, the bathroom didn't have space to put your toiletries, the towels are thin and not fluffy. The room has no fridge and we couldn't find ice.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMB-9-46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Hotel full of rustic charm. The owners are lovely and accommodating. Stay here if you want to feel part of rome, rather than some of the bigger grander hotels.. Trust me you will enjoy it more

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luigimancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I have been staying at the Lancelot for years on my frequent business trips to Rome, and I have always appreciated that it feels like a "home away from home." Many rooms look in to the central courtyard of the block, so your mornings are filled with the sounds of nearby families waking up and starting their day--a lovely, homey thing compared to the touristy isolation of many hotels. The staff are always welcoming and helpful, and it's nice to be remembered when you check in! The rooms are simple but comfortable; I only wish the beds were a bit better. I have always found the pillows a little flat and the mattresses a little harder than I like, and the whole set-up is starting to feel in need of a refresh after these years. But each room has its charming touches. The bathrooms are small and spare but always very clean; the interior-facing rooms with small balconies are my favorites.

The neighborhood is wonderful too -- a small residential area tucked behind the Coliseum that is close to the Forum, Circus Maximus, Baths of Caracalla, San Giovanni in Laterano, FAO Headquarters and bus and metro lines, but is quiet and insulated from all of the bustle. A favorite spot is the Basilica di San Clemente two blocks away, or more precisely the amazing catacombs underneath. Lots of great places to eat and drink in the neighborhood; favorites include Treefolk up the street for an excellent beer selection, Il Pentagrappolo for wine, good food, and live music, and Luzzi's pizzeria.

Bottom line--when I'm in the mood for a little more pampering (and willing to spend a chunk more change), I head to the Hotel Capo d'Africa across the street, but the Lancelot is my go-to place in Rome.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#150 of 1,256 in Rome
974 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#15 of 1,256 in Rome
583 reviews
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#68 of 1,256 in Rome
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#82 of 1,256 in Rome
2,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lancelot? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lancelot

Property: Hotel Lancelot
Address: Via Capo d'Africa 47 | Colosseum - Celio, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Rome
#39 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#44 Business Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,949 - ₹ 16,598
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lancelot 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lancelot is a peaceful haven at a short stroll from the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. The friendly english speaking staff are always willing to help you with suggestions and tips on discovering Rome's treasure's. A distinctive feature of the Hotel are the " round tables" at which people from every corner of the earth meet and converse over breakfast or the generous evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lancelot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancelot Hotel Rome
Hotel Lancelot Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing