We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Absolutely Amazing - Wouldn't Look Anywhere Else” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Locanda del Sole Luxury Suite Rome

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Locanda del Sole Luxury Suite Rome
Ranked #142 of 3,672 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing - Wouldn't Look Anywhere Else”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights in June and we were very pleasantly surprised when we got here. This place is definitely under advertised and is more like a luxury boutique hotel at B&B price! The desk is manned from 8am to 8pm for anything we might have needed, and there is a daily full service of the rooms.

The service was exceptional, they provided us with their mobile numbers on arrival and whenever we felt like booking something (museum, train, tour, dinner) it was simply a text message. The full service was great, free coffees made whenever we liked and unlimited free chocolate :) Breakfast was also lovely with home made goodies.

The location was unbeatable, we did all of Rome (see our other reviews for some sights and restaurants less travelled) simply by walking. 10 minutes to most of the sites and 20 minutes to Roma Termini(although I wouldn't walk it with luggage!)

When we come back to Rome, we will definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Icie_lynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandadelSole, Proprietario at Locanda del Sole Luxury Suite Rome, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear customers,
many thanks for your frankness.
It was a pleasure having you in our Locanda.
We look forward to see you in the next stop to Rome.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
161
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

I booked this place for a two night long weekend in Rome with my husband based on all the excellent tripadvisor reviews and I can only do one thing and that is to add another one.
The b&b is not cheap but you get value for money. The location is next to none, around the corner from the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Spanish Steps. The room, we stayed in the Butterfly room, is actually quite big, which I had not expected for the middle of Rome. The bathroom is excellent with plenty of towels, a rain shower and lots of water pressure (yeah).
I tend to choose b&b's over hotels because you're hoping to get that bit of extra service there and to escape the anonymity of a huge hotel and that was definitely the case here.
The owners PierLuigi and and Emiliano have been mentioned in other reviews and I can only agree that they are the best hosts you can imagine. The locanda offers a pickup service from the airport for a fee but I had totally forgotten to book it, so I sent an email the night before we arrived (and we were scheduled to arrive 9am the next day) and no worries, they arranged it.
When we arrived, our room was ready already but we were first treated to cappucino and proper breakfast (the most yummee croissant-type rolls, cake etc.) and Emiliano explained us all about the places to go recommending places to eat as well (trust them on their suggenstions, really).
When I mentioned we wanted to visit Villa Borghese he arranged the reservations for us and everything.
The minibar is complementary. We didn't really use it, but were provided with fresh bottled water every day for our walks through the city.
Emiliano was relieved by PierLuigi in the evenings, and again it's the little things... We had asked them to make a reservation at a restaurant at 8pm, but only got to the B&B at 7.30ish, so without prompting we were asked whether we would like them to call to have the reservation changed to 9 or so. Yes please!
Enough said. If you're thinking about staying here, I can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kajsa v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Locanda del Sole was a wonderful, safe and secure place to stay. The rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet. Emiliano and Pierluigi were very helpful and accommodating in so many ways, from arranging museum and dinner reservations, airport transfers, as well as the best cappuccino. We felt at home from the moment we arrived. The location was superb-easy walking distance to the Pantheon, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountains,Vatican City, and the Colosseum.
Many thanks for a wonderful taste of Rome.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhondarich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We had 3 lovely nights here in May. From the start, Marco was super helpful. Even before we arrived we had excellent service. They arranged an airport transfer for us, made several museum reservations for us, and provided helpful information on where to get a massage after a long flight. Even after two of our flights were delayed, getting us there hours later, they still managed to arrange our airport pick up. The location of the B&B is perfect. As others have stated it’s within walking distance to the Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, Tiber River, Spanish Steps and Via Del Corso. Marco recommended some restaurants to us and we had a chance to eat at Alfredo’s across the street. Divine food! We were so glad he told us about it and were thankful it was right across the street on our one rainy day in Rome.

Our room was just lovely. We stayed in the Ghirigori room, smaller than the others, but my no means lacking. The room was beautifully decorated and had 5 star hotel amenities. A welcome bottle of wine, daily basket of fruit and a mini bar refreshed daily and provided for at no additional charge- what a treat! The bed was very comfortable, the rain shower was delightful, and the rooms were spotlessly clean thanks to Rossanna. Even though it is the smallest room, we felt we had plenty of space and didn’t consider it a “small” room. All the rooms have been recently renovated and everything feels so nice and new.

Breakfast was prepared meticulously by Emiliano. He was such a sweetheart and took such great care of us. According to my husband, Emiliano made the best cappuccino he tasted in our 12 day trip to Italy. The breakfast room is adorable and Emiliano goes to great care to make sure he sets everything up in a visually appealing way and in the quietest way possible when he knows some of his guests are still sleeping. He also arranged for our laundry to be sent out and returned the same day, a welcome relief. I can’t think of anything I would change about Locanda del Sole. We didn’t have a chance to meet Pierluigi, but Marco, Emiliano, and Rossanna took such great care of us and I know they will for you too. Don’t miss out on this fantastic place to stay. We will absolutely return and will make sure to tell everyone we know about Locanda del Sole. Thanks Sole brothers for such a great introduction to Italy. We can’t wait to be back!

Jessica & Troy

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tocknhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We chose Locanda del Sole because of its location, near old haunts but also new sites we wanted to explore on this trip. It couldn't be better located - one street from the Tiber, a couple of streets from Piazza Navona, and a few more to the Spanish Steps, where one of us worked in the '70s. We hadn't expected the visual delight provided by the design of our room (a daring 21st century take on Italian Baroque, extremely well done). Every comfort is present, from sound-proof windows to a great bed, fine linens, a stocked mini bar included in the price of the room, maps and a guidebook. The tender loving care was provided by Pierluigi and Emiliano (sorry we didn't get to meet Marco, the third of this dedicated trio of innkeepers), who will make as many cups of coffee as you would like and provide excellent information about historic sites. Having stayed at a number of small hotels in Rome, we can't imagine not returning to the Locanda del Sole! It is perfection.

Room Tip: "Berger" is done in gray, black and white and is restfully dramatic. It's at the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KateMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandadelSole, Proprietario at Locanda del Sole Luxury Suite Rome, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear,
is a pleasure to see that our guests like the ambiance of Locanda del Sole, especially cause we chosen the decoration and the baroque style.
Our coffee break is getting famous all over the world, with the help of our customers and their reviews.
We still didn't find the perfection you talked about, but we are working on it!!!
We hope that you will return to Rome soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Domus Trevi
Domus Trevi
#247 of 3,672 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Casa de'Coronari - Design Rooms Library
Trevi
Palazzo Scanderbeg
Palazzo Scanderbeg
#10 of 1,032 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Assunta Domus
Assunta Domus
#56 of 3,672 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Trevi
Domus Libera
Domus Libera
#104 of 3,672 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Gallery & Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda del Sole Luxury Suite Rome? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda del Sole Luxury Suite Rome

Property: Locanda del Sole Luxury Suite Rome
Address: Via della Scrofa 10, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 3,672 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,553 - ₹ 20,843
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Locanda del Sole" is an inviting luxury B&B in Rome's historic centre boasting an idyllic setting in the famous Rione Campo Marzio district. Guests on a romantic break in Rome will receive a warm welcome, where lived Jose Carlos Mariategui, a famous Peruvian thinker and essayist, in a characteristic 19th century building on Via della Scrofa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Locanda del Sole Luxury Suite Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Del Sole Luxury Hotel Rome
Locanda Del Sole Luxury Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing