We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Location, location, location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Residenza dell'Angelo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Residenza dell'Angelo
Ranked #1,244 of 3,673 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location, location, location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

This B&B was located directly across the river from the Castel St Angelo and was within easy walking distance of every major site you would want to see in Rome. Carlo and Alessandro were very helpful, even to the point of printing and delivering our online tickets to the Vatican from their off-site office. Alessandro even helped us carry our bags to the bus (only a block away) to catch our train to Venice. The room was large, light-filled, clean and comfortable. An excellent choice in Rome!

The only two very minor downsides: internet service in the room was sporadic, although we could always connect in the small lobby outside our door. The breakfast is not onsite, but in a very close restaurant around the corner. It was just coffee, juice and sweet pastries, but good to start the day.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KWSmith59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    33
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
53
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

The proprietor, Carlo, was super friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious, comfy, and well decorated - it felt like we were staying at an old friend's apartment. The location is really convenient for walking to all of Rome's famous landmarks like the Pantheon and the Coliseum. We walked all over and loved every minute of it, stay at this hotel the next time you're in Rome!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

The room we had was updated and tastefully furnished and had all the mod-cons to make for a comfortable 3 night stay in Rome,although our room was very small, the bed was comfortable. I believe there are three rooms.

The location is brilliant and you can walk to most of the main attractions. The area felt safe at night. The only let down we thought was the breakfast. Because this place is just a few rooms in an apartment building, there is no reception or breakfast service here (just someone to greet you at a pre-arranged time to show you your room and they leave you with a phone number to call if you need anything) - they did give out breakfast vouchers for the cafe down the street, although the options were a bit light on!

We may have gotten the smallest room, and the window was covered over, as it opened into an internal courtyard (from the 1st floor) which was the back of a cafe, so it was a bit noisy during mealtimes with kitchen noises but didn't bother us too much.

Overall a nice stay, and while it was expensive (for us) at 130 euros a night, it was good value for such a nice room in this location in Rome.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PumpernickelPickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at this gem of a place for only two nights in May (I say only two nights because we would have loved to stay longer!). Let me start by saying that we arrived in Rome fairly early in the day at the Stazione Termini. Once finding a taxi (that is a whole other story that would not receive a good review), we made our way to the residence. The location of La Residenza dell'Angelo could not be better. It is fantastically located to everything you could possibly want to do while in Rome. When the taxi dropped us off, we could see the top of St. Peter’s Basilica and could clearly see Castel St. Angelo as we were right across from it. The residence itself was difficult to find as there are no signs whatsoever, so when you are looking for it, it is halfway down the block (Via Paola) on the east side of the block (away from St. Peter’s Basilica). After asking around (a very nice local actually pulled out his smart phone and let us search on the internet), we found the door, rang the bell and Allessandro was downstairs in an instant to see if we needed help with our bags. He escorted us to the second level of the building to welcome us to our room. It was in the process of being cleaned but they were more than accommodating in cleaning it quickly and letting us check in early (I believe it was about 10AM by this point). The room itself was a good size (compared to the very small European average room), was very stylish , and had a bathroom that my husband and I could actually fit in at the same time (again, being in Europe, very difficult to find). We could not have been happier with the accommodations. Allessandro quickly got out a map and showed us where we were, made some suggestions of places to eat, and showed us some “spots” that we may want to see, such as Piazza Navona or the Trevi Fountain during our very short stay there. There are so many restaurants, cafes, etc nearby - great location! I knew we were close to many places, but I guess I didn’t realize how close until my husband and I walked to Piazza Navona for dinner that evening and had supper at the Piazza (a once-in-a-lifetime experience). It’s a beautiful 7 minute walk east along the Tiber. If we were to cross the river at Castel St. Angelo and walk west, we would walk straight into St. Peter’s Basilica (talk about a view!!!!). To get to “old Rome” we definitely could have walked, but we chose to take a hop-on-hop-off bus, which also took us to the Colosseum. This residence is conveniently located to so many places … well, we will definitely be staying there next time we go to Rome, and we would definitely say to you that you just have to stay there too!

On a note of location, there is a superb little street that goes eastwards behind the residence that I wish we had spent more time on (from the residence, follow Via Paola south and take your first left – not on the major road - onto this small side-street. This street is full of little shops, cafes, pubs, restaurants ... I think it's called Via Governo); and there is a white church just south of the residence that holds Bernini’s remains – those are two things/places that I would suggest going to if you have time.

As for the service provided by Carlo Mario, Allessandro and Carlo – well, it was beyond any service we received while in Europe! We had asked to have concert tickets mailed to the residence prior to our arrival so that they would be there for us to pick up, but due to the mail system, they did not arrive in time. Carlo Mario and Allessandro did everything they could to make us feel comfortable that they would get the tickets to us – and they did! The tickets arrived in Rome the day we left, and the guys had them couriered to our hotel in London. Not many places would do that. They could not have been more accommodating, helpful and friendly. Exactly the type of people I would want to stay with!

Room Tip: For Rome - book early!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sassychik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

The Residenza dell'Angelo is an amazing little gem in the heart of Rome. Even before arriving Giorgio made sure we travelled worry-free and while there looked after us, too. The rooms are spotless and the interior tasteful. The location is superb, all in all the perfect place to stay when in Rome!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Preisboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
TheWesley Rome
TheWesley Rome
#890 of 3,673 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
The Bridge Suites
The Bridge Suites
#184 of 1,032 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Domizia Sancti Angeli
#2,433 of 3,673 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Coronari Courtyard
Coronari Courtyard
#230 of 3,673 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Navona First
Residenza Navona First
#996 of 3,673 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Relais Giulia
Relais Giulia
#151 of 3,673 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residenza dell'Angelo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residenza dell'Angelo

Property: La Residenza dell'Angelo
Address: Via Paola N. 46, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,244 of 3,673 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,269 - ₹ 11,506
Hotel Class:3 star — La Residenza dell'Angelo 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Residenza dell'Angelo" is a charming and elegant Bed & Breakfast opened in October 2010.Located in the heart of Rome, in the historic and quiet Via Paola, is on the first floor of a prestigious XIXth century building. The property is located 190 meters from the Castel Sant'Angelo, 400 meters from St. Peter and 500 mt from the most beautiful City's squares: Piazza Navona, Piazza del Pantheon, and Piazza Campo de Fiori. Is also 900 meters from the world most famous shopping streets: Via del Corso and Via Condotti, which will lead you to the magnificent Piazza di Spagna.Wooden floors and high ceilings provide the right at ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your La Residenza dell'Angelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing