We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern and the perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Residenza dell'Angelo
Ranked #1,025 of 3,643 Rome B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Clean, modern and the perfect location”
Reviewed 20 July 2011

The room we had was updated and tastefully furnished and had all the mod-cons to make for a comfortable 3 night stay in Rome,although our room was very small, the bed was comfortable. I believe there are three rooms.

The location is brilliant and you can walk to most of the main attractions. The area felt safe at night. The only let down we thought was the breakfast. Because this place is just a few rooms in an apartment building, there is no reception or breakfast service here (just someone to greet you at a pre-arranged time to show you your room and they leave you with a phone number to call if you need anything) - they did give out breakfast vouchers for the cafe down the street, although the options were a bit light on!

We may have gotten the smallest room, and the window was covered over, as it opened into an internal courtyard (from the 1st floor) which was the back of a cafe, so it was a bit noisy during mealtimes with kitchen noises but didn't bother us too much.

Overall a nice stay, and while it was expensive (for us) at 130 euros a night, it was good value for such a nice room in this location in Rome.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PumpernickelPickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    36
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
26
53
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at this gem of a place for only two nights in May (I say only two nights because we would have loved to stay longer!). Let me start by saying that we arrived in Rome fairly early in the day at the Stazione Termini. Once finding a taxi (that is a whole other story that would not receive a good review), we made our way to the residence. The location of La Residenza dell'Angelo could not be better. It is fantastically located to everything you could possibly want to do while in Rome. When the taxi dropped us off, we could see the top of St. Peter’s Basilica and could clearly see Castel St. Angelo as we were right across from it. The residence itself was difficult to find as there are no signs whatsoever, so when you are looking for it, it is halfway down the block (Via Paola) on the east side of the block (away from St. Peter’s Basilica). After asking around (a very nice local actually pulled out his smart phone and let us search on the internet), we found the door, rang the bell and Allessandro was downstairs in an instant to see if we needed help with our bags. He escorted us to the second level of the building to welcome us to our room. It was in the process of being cleaned but they were more than accommodating in cleaning it quickly and letting us check in early (I believe it was about 10AM by this point). The room itself was a good size (compared to the very small European average room), was very stylish , and had a bathroom that my husband and I could actually fit in at the same time (again, being in Europe, very difficult to find). We could not have been happier with the accommodations. Allessandro quickly got out a map and showed us where we were, made some suggestions of places to eat, and showed us some “spots” that we may want to see, such as Piazza Navona or the Trevi Fountain during our very short stay there. There are so many restaurants, cafes, etc nearby - great location! I knew we were close to many places, but I guess I didn’t realize how close until my husband and I walked to Piazza Navona for dinner that evening and had supper at the Piazza (a once-in-a-lifetime experience). It’s a beautiful 7 minute walk east along the Tiber. If we were to cross the river at Castel St. Angelo and walk west, we would walk straight into St. Peter’s Basilica (talk about a view!!!!). To get to “old Rome” we definitely could have walked, but we chose to take a hop-on-hop-off bus, which also took us to the Colosseum. This residence is conveniently located to so many places … well, we will definitely be staying there next time we go to Rome, and we would definitely say to you that you just have to stay there too!

On a note of location, there is a superb little street that goes eastwards behind the residence that I wish we had spent more time on (from the residence, follow Via Paola south and take your first left – not on the major road - onto this small side-street. This street is full of little shops, cafes, pubs, restaurants ... I think it's called Via Governo); and there is a white church just south of the residence that holds Bernini’s remains – those are two things/places that I would suggest going to if you have time.

As for the service provided by Carlo Mario, Allessandro and Carlo – well, it was beyond any service we received while in Europe! We had asked to have concert tickets mailed to the residence prior to our arrival so that they would be there for us to pick up, but due to the mail system, they did not arrive in time. Carlo Mario and Allessandro did everything they could to make us feel comfortable that they would get the tickets to us – and they did! The tickets arrived in Rome the day we left, and the guys had them couriered to our hotel in London. Not many places would do that. They could not have been more accommodating, helpful and friendly. Exactly the type of people I would want to stay with!

Room Tip: For Rome - book early!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sassychik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

The Residenza dell'Angelo is an amazing little gem in the heart of Rome. Even before arriving Giorgio made sure we travelled worry-free and while there looked after us, too. The rooms are spotless and the interior tasteful. The location is superb, all in all the perfect place to stay when in Rome!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preisboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We loved this place. It is perfectly situated for all the sites. We stayed three nights, but only had 2 days for sightseeing. It was perfectly located for walking to Colosseum, and all the sites towards that direction. Then the next day, we walked over to the Vatican and did everything on that side of town. We've stayed in 5* hotels all over the world, and this B&B ranks up there with them.

The room was very well appointed. Although the bathroom was a bit small, and there wasn't a lot of space to hang clothes.

Also, beware, Rome is very noisy. It would be very difficult to find any room that is quiet in Rome, and our room was no exception. We are so thankful that we brought ear plugs with us.

The breakfast was in a coffee shop just up the street.

Carlo was very helpful and helped me get my Italy sim-card up and working. Also, there is a pizza place around the corner called Pizzarello or something like that. Try it out. Carlo can tell you how to find it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gt4877c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2010

The guys who own this place are super nice and so helpful, they take care of your stay from every aspect: the room was comfortable and always clean and tidy and they are also willing to help you with every information you need about Rome. They were so sweet and really made me feel home.
The place itself it's lovely, well furnished and right in front of Castel Sant'Angelo, so close to Piazza Navona, Pantheon, the heart of Rome.
I truly enjoyed my stay, I would definitely recommend La residenza dell'angelo if you want to spend your vacation in a comfycozy atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Relais Palazzo Taverna
Relais Palazzo Taverna
#446 of 1,256 in Rome
255 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Ave Hotel
Residenza Ave Hotel
#265 of 3,643 in Rome
372 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Ponte Sant'Angelo
Residenza Ponte Sant'Angelo
#592 of 3,643 in Rome
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Casa De' Fiori
Casa De' Fiori
#287 of 1,093 in Rome
17 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Affreschi su Roma Luxury B&B
Ponte
Domizia Sancti Angeli
Domizia Sancti Angeli
#2,417 of 3,643 in Rome
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residenza dell'Angelo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residenza dell'Angelo

Property: La Residenza dell'Angelo
Address: Via Paola N. 46, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,025 of 3,643 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,290 - ₹ 12,363
Hotel Class:3 star — La Residenza dell'Angelo 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Residenza dell'Angelo" is a charming and elegant Bed & Breakfast opened in October 2010.Located in the heart of Rome, in the historic and quiet Via Paola, is on the first floor of a prestigious XIXth century building. The property is located 190 meters from the Castel Sant'Angelo, 400 meters from St. Peter and 500 mt from the most beautiful City's squares: Piazza Navona, Piazza del Pantheon, and Piazza Campo de Fiori. Is also 900 meters from the world most famous shopping streets: Via del Corso and Via Condotti, which will lead you to the magnificent Piazza di Spagna.Wooden floors and high ceilings provide the right at ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your La Residenza dell'Angelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing