We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconvenient & soulless”
Review of Hotel Artis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Artis
Ranked #391 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Manchester
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Inconvenient & soulless”
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Inconvenient location for a city break, the back of beyond.
Stayed 3 nights, woken by comings and goings of travellers on 2 of them.
No snack/food facilities apart from breakfast. Supermarket next door. One local eatery.
Bar was closed 2 visits out of 3. Room clean but top bed cover stained.
I think 3 star would be more appropriate. Disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ManchesterMary01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    290
    144
    38
    22
See reviews for
79
292
18
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Typical 00's design airport hotel on the cheap, located in the middle of a Rome suburb, but still close to Ciampino airport. Only staying here because of meeting located nearby, but otherwise would be suspicious of any operator claiming this to be a Rome hotel, if you're looking to access Rome as a city.

Rooms are spotless, beds, thin mattress but comfortable, my bathroom looked like it had been built in one of those 60 minute make-over shows- fittings not secure, not aligned, but again spotlessly clean.. Check in staff were very friendly and courteous.. WIfi is 4 euro, a bargain!

Seems to be mainly used as a close to Ciampino airport stop-over,fortunate to be built in the building boom with lots of borrowed cash..doubt it would find investment in todays tough environment..

Taxi waiting time is minimum 10 mins, and persuading a taxi driver at FCO to take us here was a task- 40km and on the other side of Rome.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthonyruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We have stayed there this summer for 4 nights with my mum. We loved the room. Stylish and cool.
Breakfast is ok for Italy.
A bit far from the center, but for the price paid in the middle of season - its cool.
Nice staff and great design. Would recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Worldtoddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
762 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 504 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Hotel is located away from the main city of Rome. The surroundings are local residences and only a supermarket beside the hotel. Lobby is small and though it's stated a 4 star hotel, don't really feel that as the tv is very small. Rooms are clean and neat though. The supermarket closed at8pm so gotta go before it closed.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alanyeo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed here for three nights in October 2011, and despite being told by the travel agent that we would be fine on public transport (as the hotel is outside the centre), this was not the case. On arrival at Termini station, we found that people just did not know where the hotel was. We were told conflicting advice by two tourist information boards and bus drivers. As advised we took the number 5 tram, which we were told would take us 800 meters from the hotel. When we got off the tram we found we were hopelessly lost, nobody had heard off the hotel let alone the road. One kind Italian man walked around with us for over an hour asking people directions on our behalf. In the end a stall holder called a taxi for us. 4 exhausting hours later after landing we arrived at the hotel.

The next day we took a taxi to the centre and found that we had the same problem returning back to the hotel in the afternoon. Many taxi drivers either didn’t know where the hotel was or didn’t want to travel the long distance to the hotel and it was like déjà vu.

The hotel itself was okay, but because we booked through a tour operator paid more than the prices on the hotel website. Breakfast was okay if you like continental breakfasts, but the room was clean with daily housekeeping. Rooms are not sound proof. The reception staff were not very friendly and did not seem concerned with practicalities of having to travel on public transport. Evening meals are non-existent and there is no -where to have a proper meal. Hotel should be 3 stars not 4.

Also when buying train tickets remember to validate any tickets you buy at the yellow machines prior to getting on train or you will be fined 25 euros per person.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Domidea Hotel
#211 of 1,257 in Rome
623 reviews
Hotel Pineta Palace
#462 of 1,257 in Rome
982 reviews
Hotel Area Roma
#477 of 1,257 in Rome
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cervara Park Hotel
#725 of 1,257 in Rome
145 reviews
Ostiense
Saint Paul Hotel
Saint Paul Hotel
#509 of 1,257 in Rome
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artis? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artis

Property: Hotel Artis
Address: Via Roberto Fancelli 3, 00169 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #391 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,295 - ₹ 6,008
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Artis 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Artis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing